Startlist: Olveston GP Road Race

Replacing the early season classic, the Severn Bridge RR, the Olveston GP is a National B road race on the Olveston circuit on Sunday (May 28)

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Startlist: Olveston GP Road Race

PLEASE HELP VELOUK SERVE THE SPORT OF CYCLING – THANK YOU (thanks to Sheldon, Anthony, Linda, Matthew, Nicola, Emma, John, Sue, Paul, Christopher, Stephen, Mick, Linda (again!) , Sue, Lee and Gregory for their donations. It all helps keep me on the road).  

The inaugural Olveston GP Road Race is taking place on Sunday 28th May 2023. This first edition of the Olveston GP replaces the renowned early season Severn Bridge Road Race, which ran for 50 years and always attracted a very high quality field to this competitive and challenging circuit. It is always a hard race on a hard circuit and this year is no exception on the popular Olveston circuit in South Gloucester, with the Old Severn Bridge as a backdrop.

Bristol Road Club are very excited to be able to promote this prestigious and challenging event. The race HQ will, once again, be at Marlwood School, Vattingstone Lane, Alveston, Bristol BS35 3LA.

Course Description
Depart race HQ at Marlwood School, turn RT onto circuit, Vattingstone Lane B4461, neutralised for 0.5km.

Race starts. Continue on B4461 through Elberton Village. After 2.5km turn LT off Redhill Lane onto Aust Rd (unclassified) to Olveston, road narrows, and Tockington at 6.5km, turn LT on to Old Down Hill, then turn RT at summit and cross roads at 7.5km. On to finish line after a further 1km, The Crescent, Village Green beside bus shelter. Continue on circuit, after 2km turn LT at Cross Roads (former Cross Hands Inn, Alveston, onto Vattingstone Lane B4461 to pass HQ.

Race finishes after crossing the FINISH line on the 11th occasion. Lap distance 11km, race distance 120km.

1 Sam Shepherd 2 05/03
2 Joshua Jones 1 All In Racing
3 Cammie Adams 3 Army Cycling Union
4 Will Duffy 2 L Bath Cycling Club
5 Jacob Gilkes 2 BCC Race Team
6 Jason Macrae 2 Beds Road Race Team
7 Samuel Nisbet 3 Big Maggys
8 James Satoor 2 Bridgnorth Cycling Club
9 Rhys (Iorwerth) Evans 2 Caffi Gruff
10 Isaac Henley 2 Caffi Gruff
11 Jack Ramsbottom 2 Caffi Gruff
12 Dafydd Wright 2 Caffi Gruff
13 Alex Franks 1 J Cannibal B Victorious
14 Alexander Bosley 1 CC Plancoët
15 William Haynes 2 Cheltenham & County CC
16 Matthew Houlberg 1 Embark Spirit BSS
17 Finlay Webb 2 Exeter Wheelers
18 Charles Bailey 2 Foran CCC
19 William Abbott 1 Inflite
20 Sean Dawson 2 Inflite
21 Thomas Doig 3 Inflite
22 Lucas Byam 2 L Kalas Motip Race Team
23 Oliver Hucks 1 Kalas Motip Race Team
24 Harvey Lawson 2 Kalas Motip Race Team
25 Marinus Petersen 2 Kalas Motip Race Team
26 David Roper 2 Kalas Motip Race Team
27 Matt Witts 1 L Kalas Motip Race Team
28 Nathan Harrison 2 Kingston Wheelers CC
29 Max Fleming 2 Laka Pedal Mafia RT
30 Gavin Arber 3 Le Col Race Team
31 Jonathan Smith 3 Le Col Race Team
32 Michael Weavers 2 Lewes Wanderers CC
33 Rowan Baker 1 London Dynamo
34 David Streule 3 London Dynamo
35 Archie Waller 3 London Dynamo
36 William White 3 London Dynamo
37 Henry Howells 2 J Mid Devon CC
38 James Pearcy 2 Mid Devon CC
39 Felix Whetter 2 Mid Devon CC
40 Ben Millar 1 L TeamJobs
41 George Smith 1 L TeamJobs
42 Joe Staunton 1 TeamJobs
43 Oliver Winwood Bratchell 1 TeamJobs
44 Thomas King 2 Ribble rechrg Race Team
45 Joshua Avery 2 Ride Revolution Coaching
46 Jacob Avery 2 Ride Revolution Coaching
47 Matt Bailey 2 Ride Revolution Coaching
48 Angus Hawkins 1 Ride Revolution Coaching
49 Bob McGlue 2 Ride Revolution Coaching
50 Matthew Wilson 2 Ride Revolution Coaching
51 Scott Redding 2 ROKiT-SRCT
52 Joe Griffiths 2 L Saddleback Racing
53 Adam Lewis 1 Saint Piran
54 William Roberts 1 Saint Piran
55 Freddie Grover 2 L Sn Vitae Bim Bam Coaching RT
56 Harvey Thomas 3 J L Steele Davis Via Roma
57 Charles McFall E Team Mad Macs
58 Thomas Charles 2 Team PB Performance
59 Tom Palfrey 1 Team PB Performance
60 Sam Holwill 2 trainSharp Development Team
61 James Mackman 2 trainSharp Development Team
62 James Bevan 1 trainSharp Elite
63 George Gray 2 University of Bath Cycling Club
64 Ashley Hutchison 2 VC St Raphael
65 Archie Cross 1 L Velo Schils – Interbike RT
66 Alexander Cross 2 Velo Schils – Interbike RT
67 Griff Lewis 1 Wales Racing Academy
68 Chris Bowie-Hill 3 L WestSide Coaching 73 Degrees
69 Carl Jolly 1 WestSide Coaching 73 Degrees
70 Andrew Kirby 2 L WestSide Coaching 73 Degrees
71 Charlie Mactear 2 WestSide Coaching 73 Degrees
72 Benjamin Hellebo 1 Wheelsuckers
73 Freddy Pett 1 Wold Top The Edge Pactimo
74 Lucas Jowett 2 Saint Piran
75 Andrew Kerr 1 Inflite Type One

There are no reserves. The organiser will accept extra entries up to 80 riders, but contact the organiser first.

1982 Martin Eadon Archer Road Club
1983 Dave Smith Team Zoyland
1984 Ben Luckwell Team Zoyland
1985 Ben Luckwell Team Zoyland
1986 Mike Parker Mid Devon CC
1987 Andrew Shaw Plymouth Corinthians
1988 C White Solihull CC
1989 N Salmon Anglia Sport
1990 Toby Pinn Anglia Sport
1991 Chris King Bath University CC
1992 Jeremy Hunt Mid Devon CC
1993 Richard Wooles CC Abergavenny
1994 Richard Prebble Wembley Road Club
1995 Lee Davis Team Energy
1996 Simon Bray Team Energy
1997 Rob Lyne Team Energy
1998 Simon Bray Welsh Cycling Union
1999 Matthew Beckett Teams Mens Health
2000 Ian Jeremiah Cardiff JIF
2002 Rob Hurd Team Peloton
2003 Matt Bottrill Race Scene
2004 Julian Winn Pinarello Racing Team
2005 Benoit Lagorce (FRA) Cycle Europe
2006 Grant Bayton Team GWR Radio
2007 Gordon Macauley (NZ) Plownam-Craven-Evans
2008 Matt Rowe Rapha-Condor
2009 Marcin Bialoblocki (POL) Sports Beans Wilier
2010 Phill Sykes Sigma Sport Specialized
2011 Zak Dempster (AUS) Rapha Condor Sharp
2012 Marcin Bialoblocki (POL) NODE4 Giordana Racing
2014 Alex Blain Team Raleigh
2015 George Harper One Pro Cycling
2016 Dale Appleby NFTO
2017 Edward Clemens Spirit Tifosi RT
2018 Rupert Graham Spirit Tifosi RT
2019 Alex Richardson Canyon dhb P/B Bloor Homes
2020 George Mills-Keeling Ribble Weldtite Pro Cycling
2022 Gruffudd Lewis WiV Sungod




Cycle Division’s Shop

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK