RR Result: Wightlink-Wight Mountain IOW Road Race

Paul Barnard the winner in the category 2/3/4 Wightlink-Wight Mountain Isle of Wight Road Race on May 21 (Sunday)

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

RR Result: Wightlink-Wight Mountain IOW Road Race

PLEASE HELP VELOUK SERVE THE SPORT OF CYCLING – THANK YOU (thanks to Sheldon, Anthony, Linda, Matthew, Nicola, Emma, John, Sue x 2, Paul, Christopher, Stephen, Mick, Linda (again!) , Sue, Lee and Gregory for their donations. It all helps keep me on the road).  


Report from organisers
A fantastic day on Sunday for the Wightlink-Wight Mountain IOW Regional A inaugural road race. A full field of 80 riders rolled out from the HQ at Chessell Cafe and headed east to start the first lap of the 80km. The Sprint on the Military Road and the KOM at Hunny Hill were highly contested on each of the 3 laps before the riders peeled off at Brook for the last 5 mile loop which finished at the top of Freshwater Bay.

A tough day of racing on a challenging course which saw half the field dropped by the second lap. After an early attack, a small group managed to get away and the strong crosswind on the Military Road made it difficult for the chasing bunch to reel them in. As the leading group hit the final climb at Freshwater Bay, Max Fleming (Laka Pedal Mafia RT) attacked with Paul Barnard (Precise Performance RT) hot on his heels. Barnard proved too strong for the Laka rider and powered home to take the win after over 2 hours of racing which averaged 27mph for the 54 mile course.

George Cottrell (Poole Wheelers CC) held off the chasing bunch to take 3rd place and Charlie Abraham (Lee Valley Youth Cycling Club), who just missed out on a podium, picked up the Best Junior trophy. Barnard also dominated the Sprint competition to pick up another title and local rider Nick Rhodes (Portsmouth North End CC) was a deserving winner of the KOM trophy. Best Isle of Wight rider on the day was James Spencer (NAUT Cycling Club & Race Team) and Elvis Belton was the first Wightlink-Wight Mountain CRT rider across the line.

Jerry & Julie Cooper, race organisers, said after the race: “After a year of planning, we’re so pleased that the event was such a success. These events just wouldn’t happen without all the volunteers and production teams who give up their time to help out. Huge thanks go out our sponsors, especially local business Kreative Studios for the trophies and Wightlink for their support in making this happen. We also raised over £200 for our charity partner, Mountbatten, which will go towards our fundraising target of £2,500. It was an absolutely brilliant day of racing; we couldn’t have wished for better conditions for our first road race and we’re now looking forward to doing it all again next year”

1 Paul Barnard Precise Performance RT
2 Max Fleming LAKA Pedal Mafia RT
3 George Cottrell Poole Wheelers CC
4 Charlie Abraham Lee Valley Youth Cycling Club
5 George Mahon Poole Wheelers CC
6 Nathan Harrison Kingston Wheelers CC
7 Alexander Murphy Velo Club Venta
8 Pedro Hutchinson Velo Club Venta
9 Fletcher Adams LAKA Pedal Mafia RT
10 Sam Llewellyn-Jones London Dynamo
11 Sam Talent Velo Club Venta
12 Ben Huttly Precise Performance RT
13 Galahad Bland Team Tor 2000 Kalas
14 Tom Andrews Team Lifting Gear Products
15 Oscar Hoult Velo Club Venta
16 Phillip Brown New Forest CC
17 James Spencer NAUT Cycling Club & Race Team
18 Tom Austin Racing Club Ravenna
19 James Knighton London Dynamo
20 Tobias Edwards Team Lifting Gear Products
21 Sam Fox GS Mossa
22 Mark Nuttall GS Mossa
23 Stuart Bettis Precise Performance RT
24 Rollo Dixon NAUT Cycling Club & Race Team
25 Elvis Belton Wightlink,Wight Mountain CRT.
26 Christopher Jenkinson Precise Performance RT
27 Tommy Stroud Ignite
28 Dafydd Evans DHC (DistrictsofHamwicCyclespo…
29 Evan Williams Ignite
30 Nicolas Hutchings Wightlink,Wight Mountain CRT.
31 Michael Hoare Reflex Racing
32 Tom Smith Velo Club Venta
33 Charlie Hill
34 Luis Coutinho Racing Club Ravenna
35 Stuart Waite Wightlink,Wight Mountain CRT.
36 James Veal Wightlink,Wight Mountain CRT.
37 Michael Onions
38 Oliver Pickering Velo Club Venta
39 Harry Dorrance-King London Dynamo
40 Matthew Bright Velo Club Venta
41 Christopher Till NAUT Cycling Club & Race Team
42 Jude Rainsborough NLTCBMBC
43 Adam Holleyman Wightlink,Wight Mountain CRT.
44 Christopher Marsh Wightlink,Wight Mountain CRT.
45 Nicholas Rhodes Portsmouth North End CC


Cycle Division’s Shop

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK