British Circuit Race Championships 2024 (Darlington)

Emma Jeffers and Lewis Askey sealed their first elite national titles at the 2024 Lloyds Bank National Circuit Championships, with commanding performances in front of a bumper crowd in Darlington.

British Circuit Race Championships 2024 (Darlington)

Emma Jeffers and Lewis Askey sealed their first elite national titles at the 2024 Lloyds Bank National Circuit Championships, with commanding performances in front of a bumper crowd in Darlington.

Riders battled it out over a race of 55 minutes plus five laps on the tight and technical town centre circuit, with the coveted national champion’s jersey up for grabs for the winners.

Women’s Championship
The tight Darlington circuit saw riders jostling for position from the off, and within the first 10 minutes the formidable duo of Sophie Lewis (DAS-Hutchinson-Brother UK) and Emma Jeffers (Liv AlUla Jayco) establish the first break of the race.

The pair were soon brought back, before Jenny Holl (Loughborough Lightning) then struck out on her own, but was reeled back too. Quick to sense an opportunity, Sophie Lewis then made the first meaningful move of the race, building up an eight-second lead on the hesitant bunch behind. With Lewis eventually caught, a cagey race ensued, with no rider able to escape.

With the 45-minute mark approaching, Monica Greenwood (Team Coop-Hitec Products) spearheaded a group of three riders to get away, including Esther Wong (Shibden Apex RT) and Lloyds Bank Tour of Britain Women breakthrough star Lucy Lee (DAS-Hutchinson-Brother UK).

With 50 minutes up, the bunch was all back together as the riders approached the line, and with five laps to go Maddie Leech (Lifeplus Wahoo) and Amy Gornall (Pro-Noctis – 200º Coffee – Hargreaves Contracting Ltd) looked to seize the initiative.

Despite their best efforts, the riders entered the final lap of the race all together, with many of the favourites well placed. With the finish line in sight, Eilidh Shaw (Alba Development Road Team) found herself with a gap, but 19-year-old Jeffers was winding up for a huge final burst behind her, and passed Shaw with ease to cross the line with her arms in the air to take her first ever national title.

Isabel Darvill (Doltcini – O’Shea) was the strongest of the trailing bunch to take an impressive third place finish, with Greenwood fourth and junior rider Alice Colling (Shibden Apex RT) fifth.

Speaking afterwards, Jeffers said: “It feels amazing. Honestly it means everything, especially in the crit as that’s what made me fall in love with cycling. It’s really nice. I loved the course and the fans made it even better. I’m lost for words, I can’t believe it!”

A field of 70 then lined up to contest the MENS championship, in a race packed with the country’s best emerging talent, and the Groupama – FDJ trio of Sam Watson, Lewis Askey and Noah Hobbs all made their presence felt towards the front of the race.

Watson quickly established a gap on the bunch with circuit race specialist Rob Scott (TEKKERZ CC), and the pair were soon joined by Watson’s teammate Lewis Askey to establish a dominant position in the race. With the trio’s lead approaching 20 seconds, former champion Matt Bostock (Ribble Rebellion) sought to close the gap, but as the halfway point of the race neared the gap only extended further out to 36 seconds.

Eventually recognising the danger, the bunch stepped up the pace with big efforts from Max Rushby (Ribble Rebellion), Daniel Barnes (Spectra Racing) and Bostock, but their coordination was still lacking as the 50-minute mark approached. After withstanding a first attack from Watson, Scott was powerless to defend a second burst from Askey, with the 2021 bronze medallist looking unstoppable as he powered ahead into a 13-second lead.

With Watson reluctant to close the gap on his teammate, he and Scott were soon back in the sights of the chasing bunch as the race entered its final five laps. Despite enjoying a commanding lead, FDJ’s Askey continued to put the hammer down and eased to victory, and in the bunch sprint for the remaining riders, FDJ riders Matt Walls and Hobbs took second and third to seal a memorable night for Groupama-FDJ in Darlington.

Speaking after his victory, Askey said: “It’s incredible. I really wanted to do well and this weekend and it’s perfect going into the weekend and shows the form is there. I’ve been feeling good the last few weeks and I really wanted to show what I could do today. To bring it home, it’s been a while, so feels great.

“It’s always incredible to win a race and to have a stripey jumper at the end of it makes it so special.”

The championships concludes on Sunday with the road races in Saltburn, with thousands expected to cheer on the riders as they scale the iconic Saltburn Bank climb. For those not able to make it to Tees Valley, all of the action will once again be available through the British Cycling YouTube channel and discovery+.


1. Lewis Askey GROUPAMA – FDJ 59’51
2. Matthew Walls GROUPAMA – FDJ +0:22
3. Noah Hobbs Groupama-FDJ La Conti *
4. Tim Shoreman Wheelbase CabTech Castelli
5. Jim Brown Ribble Rebellion
6. Samuel Watson GROUPAMA – FDJ
7. Alec Briggs TEKKERZ CC
8. Rhys Britton Saint Piran
9. William Truelove THRIVA-SRCT *
10. Ben Chilton Team U Charente-Maritime *
11. Thomas Armstrong Wheelbase CabTech Castelli
12. Huw Buck Jones Saint Piran
13. Daniel Barnes Spectra Racing
14. James Hartley Cycling Sheffield *
15. David Hird Cycling Sheffield *
16. Harry Macfarlane TAAP Kalas
17. Callum Laborde Wheelbase CabTech Castelli *
18. Ben Askey Groupama-FDJ La Conti *
19. William Perrett Spirit TBW Stuart Hall Cycling
20. Harry Tanfield Saint Piran +0:29
21. Lee Rosie Wheelbase CabTech Castelli +0:42
22. Oliver Wood Saint Piran +0:59
23. Matthew Bostock Ribble Rebellion
24. Scott Redding THRIVA-SRCT +1:30
25. Frank Longstaff Schils – Doltcini Racing Team +1:30
26. Josh Housley HUUB BCC Race Team +1:30
27. Aaron King Wheelbase CabTech Castelli * +1:30
28. Hugo Lutz-Atkinson EuroCyclingTrips – Yoeleo * +1:30
29. Zachary Walker RIME DRALI * +1:32
30. Maximilian Stedman BEYKOZ BELEDIYE SPOR TURKIYE +1:34
31. Cai Davies Richardsons Trek DAS +1:35
32. Tyler Hannay Saint Piran *
33. Robert Scott TEKKERZ CC 33
34. Max Rushby Ribble Rebellion
35. Joseph Smith Wheelbase CabTech Castelli *
36. Joe Holt TEKKERZ CC +1:42
37. William Roberts Saint Piran +1:42

1. Emma Jeffers Liv AlUla Jayco * 1h01’04
2. Eilidh Shaw Alba Development Road Team *
3. Isabel Darvill Doltcini – O’Shea
4. Monica Greenwood Team Coop-Repsol
5. Alice Colling Shibden Apex RT *
6. Madelaine Leech Lifeplus Wahoo *
7. Megan Barker TEKKERZ CC
8. Arabella Blackburn Shibden Apex RT *
9. Robyn Clay DAS-Hutchinson-Brother UK *
10. Esther Wong Shibden Apex RT *
11. Anna Kay Proximus Cyclis RT
12. Jenny Holl Loughborough Lightning
13. Megan Anderson Team Boompods
14. Beth Morrow Alba Development Road Team *
15. Sophie Lewis DAS-Hutchinson-Brother UK *
16. Lucy Lee DAS-Hutchinson-Brother UK
17. Corinne Side Unattached
18. Abigail Miller Tofauti Everyone Active *
19. Erin Avill Nouvelles Cycling x Prendas *
20. Samantha Fawcett Spectra Racing
21. Amy Gornall Pro-Noctis – 200º Coffee – Hargreaves Contracting Ltd
22. Amy Perryman TEKKERZ CC
23. Arianne Holland Alba Development Road Team
24. Sophie Thackray DAS-Hutchinson-Brother UK +0:09
25. Matilda McKibben Doltcini – O’Shea * +0:11
26. Isabel Mayes Shibden Apex RT * +1:47
27. Jayati Hine Loughborough Lightning +2:10
28. Charlotte Deykin Peterborough Cycle Hub 2:10
29. Lulu Bartlett Alba Development Road Team


Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK