RR Result: British Junior RR Championships

Oliver Dawson and Cat Ferguson were the winners at the British Junior Road Race Championships on June 30

RR Result: British Junior RR Championships


In the Junior Men’s race, it was Oliver Dawson (Fensham Howes – MAS Design) who became this year’s junior national champion.
Despite some early breakaway attempts, the race was still all together at the halfway point. With just over four laps to go, Dawson attacked the peloton alongside Nathan Smith (Prologue Racing Team) and Hamish Hunter (Velo Club Venta) to form a three rider breakaway.

The trio worked well together to establish a substantial lead of one minute and 12 seconds ahead of the main bunch. With two laps to go, Hunter was dropped from the breakaway and the peloton began to chase hard, rapidly closing in on the two leading riders. Despite the peloton just about closing the gap, the duo managed to cross the line ahead of the bunch, with Dawson claiming the overall victory, and Smith finishing a close second.

Finlay Tarling (Willebrord Wil Voruit) crossed the line with the same time as Smith, winning the bunch sprint to take third position and complete this year’s podium.


The women’s race was aggressive from the start with Carys Blowers (Liv Cycling Club-Halo Films) and Ella Tandy (Tofauti Everyone Active) attacking early on and working together to establish a 22 second lead over the main bunch after just one lap.

However, by the end of lap three, the leading riders had been caught and a new four rider breakaway had been formed, including last year’s national champion Amelia Cebak (Tofauti Everyone Active) and three riders from Shibden Apex RT. The breakaway riders worked well together to maintain a lead of one minute six seconds over the rest of the field.

It wasn’t until the final ascent 6km from the finish that Cat Ferguson (Shibden Apex RT) launched an attack, which only Imogen Wolff (Shibden Apex RT) could follow. Ferguson sprinted to victory ahead of Wolff, with Isabel Mayes crossing the line 48 seconds afterwards, to take the bronze medal, making it a clean sweep for Shibden Apex RT. Cebak narrowly missed out on the podium, finishing in fourth position, with Evie Smith (Shibden Apex RT) leading in the chasing group, one minute and nine seconds behind Ferguson.

Junior Women’s National Road Race Championship
1. Cat Ferguson Shibden Apex RT
2. Imogen Wolff Shibden Apex RT
3. Isabel Mayes Shibden Apex RT
4. Amelia Cebak Tofauti Everyone Active
5. Evie Smith Shibden Apex RT
6. Becky Gardiner Tofauti Everyone Active
7. Arabella Blackburn Shibden Apex RT
8. Mari Porton Tofauti Everyone Active
9. Sophie Smith Utmost-Mezzo IOM Junior Cyclin…
10. Abigail Miller Tofauti Everyone Active
11. Grace Ward Brother UK – On Form
12. Carys Lloyd Tofauti Everyone Active
13. Mia Rutterford Tofauti Everyone Active
14. Daisy Taylor Solas Cycling
15. Ruby Oakes Shibden Apex RT
16. Kayla Dinnin Solas Cycling
17. Jess Pickavance Liv Cycling Club – Halo Films
18. Ella Tandy Tofauti Everyone Active
19. Esther Wong Shibden Apex RT
20. Electra Morris Brother UK – On Form
21. Amelia Staunton Brother UK – On Form
22. Lucy Glover Shibden Apex RT
23. Rebecca Woodvine RR23 – runandride
24. Lily Brindle Brother UK – On Form
25. Emily Middlebrooke Otley CC
26. Carys Blowers Liv Cycling Club – Halo Films

Junior Men’s National Road Race Championship
1. Oliver Dawson, Fensham Howes – MAS Design
2. Nathan Smith, Prologue Racing Team
3. Finlay Tarling, Willebrord Wil Vooruit
4. Lewis Tinsley, HUUB BCC Race Team
5. Harrison Dainty, Fensham Howes – MAS Design
6. Ruan Vorster, The Cycling Academy
7. Elliot Fraser, 360cycling
8. Joseph Cosgrove, Fensham Howes – MAS Design
9. Seth Jackson, Willebrord Wil Vooruit
10. Finlay Hawker, Zappi Junior Race Team
11. Rory Gravelle, DECATHLON AG2R LA MONDIALE U19…
12. Max Hinds, Fensham Howes – MAS Design
13. Struan Shaw, Tofauti Everyone Active
14. Sebastian Grindley, Fensham Howes – MAS Design
15. Thomas Lewis, Beeston Cycling Club
16. Henry Hobbs, Willebrord Wil Vooruit
17. Reece Pittman, Lee Valley Youth Cycling Club
18. Oliver Gill, Tofauti Everyone Active
19. Ivan Sorby, Utmost-Mezzo IOM Junior Cyclin…
20. Daniel Kemp, Prologue Racing Team
21. James Beagley, Prologue Racing Team
22. Alexander Murphy, Shibden Apex RT
23. Oliver Wade, KSV Deerlijk VZW
24. Jamie Stewart, Tofauti Everyone Active
25. Isaac Dutton, VC Londres
26. Thomas Mead, Lee Valley Youth Cycling Club
27. Samuel Greenwell, Cycling Team Glabeek
28. Kyan Souquet, trainSharp Development Team
29. Ahron Dick, HUUB BCC Race Team
30. Hugh Aubrey, Histon & Impington Bicycle Clu…
31. Luke Mannings, Halesowen A & CC
32. Samuel Abbott, Shibden Apex RT
33. William Curphey, Utmost-Mezzo IOM Junior Cyclin…
34. Dylan Sage, Cannibal B Victorious
35. Rowan Baxter, Shibden Apex RT
36. Ollie Boarer, Tofauti Everyone Active
37. Emil Howell, Harrogate Nova Race Team
38. Joshua Jackson, Tofauti Everyone Active
39. Joe Watkins-Wilson, Zappi Junior Race Team
40. James Sawyers, trainSharp Development Team
41. Isaac Oliver, Harrogate Nova Race Team
42. Luca Bednarek, Fensham Howes – MAS Design
43. Matthew Peace, Tofauti Everyone Active
44. Charlie Hoyle, Shibden Apex RT
45. Matt Thompson
46. Louis Herring, Harrogate Nova Race Team
47. Zack Miles, Otley CC
48. Orry Lund, Utmost-Mezzo IOM Junior Cyclin…
49. Iwan Clark, Team Pau
50. Magnus Denwood, Harrogate Nova Race Team
51. Max Bufton, Tofauti Everyone Active
52. Hamish Hunter, Velo Club Venta
53. Noah Bleteau, The Cycling Academy
54. Kaleb Herbert, Halesowen A & CC
55. Bobby Buenfeld, Velo Club Venta
56. Isaak Herbert, Halesowen A & CC
57. Cian Howard, Utmost-Mezzo IOM Junior Cyclin…
58. Owen Collins, Utmost-Mezzo IOM Junior Cyclin…
59. Sion Jones, Team Pau


Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK