Report: GWR team’s winter floodlit Cyclo cross series – Rnd 1

The GWR team’s winter floodlit Cyclo cross series started with the largest field yet, as 48 riders lined up for the first race of a ten race series; making a strong starting sprint all the more important. Earlier in the day there had been the typical winter cross weather, of heavy showers, but due to the circuit being based around the well drained rugby pitches of Supermarine, the course remained hard packed and fast.

Leading the field into the first of the woodland sections, was Weston Summer Series winner Dan Smith who took the hole shot and led the field for the first half lap. As the riders hit the main drag through to the finish line, for the 1st completed lap, Paul Lloyd led, with Dan Lewis and Matt Denby in contact, the latter two riders starting slowly from the back from the grid, making their way to the head of the race.

With 15 minutes to go, Denby had built up a sizable lead to take the first win of the series making the most of an advantage over Lewis that he held until the finish line. Lloyd came home in a conformable third.

The 2nd round of the 10 race series will be held next Tuesday 13th September and with the best of 7 counting. The riders will resume the battle for the overall league win and a chance to take the series prize of a holiday to Joyriders who are based in the sun drenched province of Cordoba, Andalucía only 80 minutes away from Malaga Airport.

All races start at 7.30pm at Supermarine Rugby Club, for sat nav the post code is SN3 4BZ, and are Category C ranking events for the 45mins + one lap. Please be aware Lights are needed.

For full race results please go to Facebook under GWRteam or the team website

GWR team – Developing British cyclists to race in Europe at the highest level

Race Result             11 September 2011
1       Matt Denby      Zepnap RT       V
2       Dan  Lewis      RAF     S
3       Paul  Lloyd     Banjo Cycles    S
4       Scot Easter     Felt Colbornes  S
5       Matt  Woods     Swindon RC      J
6       Matt Hargroves  Hargrove Cycles J
7       Peter  Kench    GWR Team        S
8       G Bate  MJS Racing      S
9       Dan  Smith      GWR Team        S
10      Harvey Lowe     Hargrove Cycles J
11      Andy  Roberts   Evans   V
12      David Barnaice  Felt Colbornes  S
13      Simon Edward Parton     Kingston Wheelers       V
14      Jason  Blann    Team Rose Blann V
15      Joe Griffiths   Dream CC        J
16      Kevin  Blann    Team Striking bike      V
17      Tony Davis      Dream Zero G    V
18      Micheal Holborow        Swindon RC      S
19      John Trevains   0       V
20      Lee King        Beeline RT      V
21      Peter  Hutchinson       Swindon RC      S
22      Jason Marrot    Army    V
23      N Buckingham    0       V
24      Andy  Gardener  Team Striking bike      V
25      Deacon Gillingham       VCB     S
26      David Lee       Epic Cycles RT  V
27      DuncAN Mellish  Zappis  V
28      Jeremy Redford  ACU     V
29      Simon Tarrant   Cheltenhamm= CC S
30      Patrick Alexander       Cheltenham & County CC  V
31      Jonathan  Wickham       GWR Team        S
32      Mark  Letters   Banjo Cycles    S
33      Jason Hopsoon   0       V
34      Paul  Loosemore Team Striking bike      V
35      Clair Galloway  Team Zappis     L
36      Matt Antrobus   0       V
37      Niall Ingleby   Gloucester City CC      V
38      Paul Burnip     Coriunium CC    V
39      S McGeoghegagan 0       V
40      Steve Avery     Team Zappis     V

Tags: , ,