Championship: Pearson Wins Junior Road Race Championship

The 2011 Junior Road Race Champion is Welsh Champion Daniel Pearson of Port Talbot Wheelers who won the race alone after a very attacking race where the favourites failed to grab the glory and the medals.

Early on the in the race a group of six got away but with a lot of the favourites missing, there was a lot of attacking in the bunch especially from the Hargroves Cycles riders and the break eventually came back as they commenced the finishing circuits after having had a lead of up to five minutes.

It was after this that the eventual winners got away including one of the favourites Ali Slater (Hargroves Cycles) but he punctured and his race for the medals was run. Meanwhile, back in the peloton, another of the favourites, this time Luke Grivell-Mellor punctured and with the race now at full gas and no convoy to use to get back on, his race was ended and the battle for the medals was fought out by the riders in the lead break with Pearson getting the jersey and the Gold medal.

1. Daniel Pearson     Port Talbot Wheelers/CJ Construction Group
2. Jim Lewis     Glendene CC
3. Alex Bottomley     Fietsen Tempo
4. Alex Peters     Cycling Club Hackney
5. Matthew Holmes     Teamwallis CHH Racing Team
6. James Baillie     Sheffield Sports CC
7. Joseph Moses     Paul Milnes/Bradford Olympic RC
7     joseph moses     Paul Milnes/Bradford Olympic RC
8. Samuel Lowe     Raleigh Racing Team
9. Jonathan Dibben     Hargroves Cycles-Specialized-Trant-Next-Elliott’s-GSI
10. Christopher Latham     Planet X
11. Matthew Haase     Cardiff JIF
12. Owain Doull     Hargroves Cycles-Specialized-Trant-Next-Elliott’s-GSI
13. Oliver Rossi     PCA Ciclos Uno
14. Joshua Papworth     Cult Racing
14. Joshua Papworth     Cult Racing
15. George Moore     CC Giro
16. Sam Connolley     Glendene CC
17. Alastair Hepworth     Batley Cycling Club
18. Ross Green     Stewartry Wheelers
19. Harry Tanfield     Teamwallis CHH Racing Team
20. Jordan Hargreaves     Teamwallis CHH Racing Team
21. Thomas Mazzone     Manx Viking Whls CC
22. Sam Williams     Epic Cycles RC
23. Will Stephenson     Bournemouth Arrow CC/Hotel Collingwood
24. Richard Walkerdine     Wolverhampton Whls
25. Alistair Slater     Hargroves Cycles-Specialized-Trant-Next-Elliott’s-GSI
26. Daniel Young     Glendene CC
27. Declan Higgins     Twickenham C
28. Sean Hughes     Teamwallis CHH Racing Team
29. Brennan Townshend     Mid Devon CC
30. Matthew Clarke     Halesowen A & CC
31. Robert Lambton     Brooks Cycles
32. Brock Duncumb-Rogers     Progressive Cycle Coaching Developement Squad
33. Joshua Teasdale     Team Jewson/Thule/Kinesis/CNP/MI Racing
34. Hugh Carthy     Team Jewson/Thule/Kinesis/CNP/MI Racing
35. David Swan     Cycles Dauphin Racing Team
36. George Rowlands     Mid Shropshire Whls
37. Jonathan Cregeen     Team Manx Telecom

(brought to you by Dave Mellor Cycles)