Report: Beacon RCC Round 2

Sean Mungoven wins round 2 of the Beacon RCC series at the Stourport Track on a wet evening of racing on July 5th

On a rather wet evening at the Stourport track, spectators witnessed some interesting racing in the second Beacons Series race. The eventual winner on his race debut, Sean Mungovan, broke away within the first 10 minutes. Initially he went with 3 other riders but stayed away as the others were reeled in. He sustained his effort throughout the race building a steady lead.

Lee Buckley broke away from the bunch with 4 laps to go. This strung out the bunch and raised the tempo as riders vied for position. By the penultimate lap Mungovan had nearly lapped the bunch with Buckley chasing. Disaster struck as two riders at the rear of the bunch crashed bring down Mungovan. With Buckley chasing, Mungovan rushed to fix his damaged bike. Luckily enough he had time to fix the problem, crossing the line with a deserved win.

With the final race in the series on the 19th, the overall title seems to be heading Buckley’s way. However Perks and Lines are breathing down his neck. This will make for an interesting final race.

Next Race: Tuesday, 19th July for 4th category riders only at 7.30 pm over a distance of one hour plus a lap. Stourport Sports Club, Kingsway, Stourport-on-Severn, Worcestershire, DY13 8BQ

1  Sean Mungoven
2 Lee Buckley
3 Ben Caine
4 Jonathan Perks
5 Chris Lines
6 John Baird
7 Simon Waldron
8 Stephen Jefferies
9 John Kriskinans
10 Ben Crone
11 Stephen Allcott
12 Andrew Tomlinson
13 Andy Horton

Tags: ,