Report: Gas Hill Gasp Norwich

Crowds flock to see the Gas Hill Gasp in Norwich which was part of the New Lord Mayor’s Celebrations on the 8th July 2011

The Gas Hill Gasp was 1st started in the 1940’s as a Time Trial but last run in 2004. It was revived this year as part of the new Lord Mayor’s Celebrations as a knockout competition with 4 in each race. To reach the final the competitors had to race 4 times up the hill. This format being unique in the UK but no doubt others will now copy.

This evening event saw Gas Hill packed with spectators for the entire length and near the top resembled a Tour de France mountain pass with the spectators crowding into the road, cheering and clapping each race in turn.

The competitors, mostly fairly local, found it hard especially at the 4th attempt but judging by the reaction of both competitors and spectators want it to return next year. The event was organized by the Lotus Cars Cycle Race League under the rules of British Cycling.

All Photos: Mark Cozens –

All Photos: Mark Cozens –

Further information can be found on

Official Results

1st Dan Zagni Ipswich BC
2nd Will Bamber Cult Racing
3rd Tim Snook Ipswich BC
4th Hugo Robinson EXT Elmy Cycles
5th Richard Dunnett Diss CC
6th Josh Hannan Glendene CC

Stars ‘Best of the Rest’
1st Mark Westrup VC Baracchi
2nd Chris Bartlett VC Norwich

1st Robert Chenery Lowestoft
2nd Andy Steel Diss CC
3rd Barney Horne Norwich ABC
4th Cameron Toms Iceni Velo
5th Matthew Mantle Mildenhall CC

Hopefuls ‘Best of the Rest’
1st Bill Griffin Cycles UK
2nd Simon Lomax Norwich ABC

1st Alex McKibben Iceni Velo
2nd Beata Ellis Billericay

1st Hugo Robinson EXT Elmy Cycles
2nd Josh Hannan Glendene CC

Future Stars (under 12)
1st Harrison Charlwood Great Yarmouth CC
2nd Matthew Baker Great Yarmouth CC
3rd Sophie Holmes Diss CC
4th Colin Mantle Mildenhall CC

Tags: ,