Report: Eastern Region Track Championships

Peter Waghorn writes … With Fridays Track League washed out by heavy rain, it was a relief to have  a real summer afternoon of sunshine for the BC Eastern Region Track Championships at Welwyn. The opening Senior 6 lap Pursuit was won in fine style by Alex Wise who, in the final heat, caught last years winner Murat Ozdenya and edged out 2009 winner Doug Bradshaw to take the Trophy.

As the riders wound up the pace with just under a lap to go in the Senior sprint final, Roger Bryant unfortunately pulled his foot out and crashed resulting in a broken collar bone. John McClelland went on to win from Trevor Burke and Robert Cox.

There was an interesting battle in the 6 lap Team Pursuit – Welwyn Wheelers team of four Juniors set the marker with a time of 3-24.6 as Cambridge and East London Velo – the past two years winners – got up for the final heat. Time checks throughout the last race showed that the Welwyn Team were in with a chance with a lap to go but the Cambridge power squad won the day by two seconds.

The Senior 10 mile which closed the meeting saw a break of six riders get away at half distance and build up a substantial lead – at the finish John McClelland  won from Sam King and Tom Gallacher.

The Youth riders competed in a four event Omnium – 200 m Flying start time trial, Pursuit, sprint and scratch race. The Youth B contingent produced some very good close racing with the ultimate winner decided by the Scratch race with three riders in contention. James Parish won the final race and the Omnium as he and Cameron Guttreridge tied with eight points – the last race tie break decided the outcome.

The Youth C group was another tussle between the Lee Valley and Welwyn riders – three points cover the top three with Simon Bird taking the victory from Welwyns Will Raymond and George Jensen.
A good afternoons racing in ideal conditions

Senior Pursuit
1. Alex Wise (Agiskoviner)
2. Doug Bradshawe (Cambridge)
3. Basil Moss (Cambridge)
4. Tom Gallacher (Welwyn)

1. John McClelland (Agiskoviner)
2. Trevor Burke (Finchley RT)
3. Robert Cox (Cambridge)

10 mile
1. John McClelland (Agiskoviner)
2. Sam King (Cambridge)
3. Tom Gallacher (Welwyn)
4. Trevor Burke (Finchley RT)

Team Pursuit
1. Cambridge,
2. Welwyn Wheelers,
3. East London Velo,
4. PCA Ciclos Uno

Youth A
1. Ed Goater (CC Ashwell)
2. Jon Chapman (CC Ashwell)
3. Beartice Windsor (East London Velo)

Youth B
1. James Parrish (Lee valley)
2. Cameron Gutteridge (Lee valley)
3. Daniel Maynard (Welwyn)
4. Mitchell Powell (Chelmer)

Youth C
1. Simon Bird (Lee valley)
2. Will Raymond (Welwyn)
3 .George Jensen (Lee valley)
4. Tom Street (Welwyn)

Youth D –
1. Joe Latham,
2. Harry Towning,
3. William Davies,
4. Tom Davies (all Welwyn)

Tags: ,