News: 1-2 for Britain as Wyman wins from Harris

Thomas van Bracht reports Britain’s Helen Wyman wins Ruddervoorde’s Super Prestige race

In Belgium today (Sun, Oct 9), Britian’s Helen Wyman has won the first Women’s Elite race of this season in the Super Prestige cyclo-cross Cup event at Ruddervoorde. Wyman finished first with fellow British rider Nikki Harris a close second with France’s Lucie Chainel in third. Wyman attacked on the first lap and went clear on her own, a lead she was to keep for the whole race. Harris continued to chase, keeping the gap at about 15 seconds for the whole of the race.

Photo: Thomas van Bracht

The SuperPrestige is a season-long cyclo-cross competition consisting of eight rounds throughout the season in Belgium and Holland. It is one of the three main cyclo-cross competitions, alongside the UCI Cyclo-cross World Cup and the Cyclo-cross Gazet van Antwerpen (GvA).

Wyman has ridden ten races this season so far and has won all of them with nine of the race victories in the United States. “Ten in Ten, I hope I can add some more to that” said a very happy Helen Wyman after the race. “My season started some time ago as I race for an American team which is why I have already done some races in the US. The racing level is actually quite high there”.

1. Helen Wyman (GBr) 35:42
2. Nikki Harris (GBr) 0:15
3. Lucie Chainel (Fra) 0:28
4. Sophie de Boer (Ned) 0:51
5. Amy Dombroski (USA) 1:18
6. Reza Hormes (Ned) 1:27
7. Sanne Cant 1:31
8. Pavla Havlikova (Tsj) 1:41
9. Linda van Rijen (Ned) 2:24
10. Joyce Vanderbeken 3:00
11. Nicolle De Bie-Leyten 3:02
12. Hilde Quintens 3:17
13. Arenda Grimberg (Ned) 3:21
14. Ellen Van Loy
15. Nancy Bober
16. Ludivine Henrion 3:46
17. Nikoline Hansen (Den) 3:50
18. Christine Vardaros (USA) 4:02
19. Tessa van Nieuwpoort (Ned) 4:29
20. Ilona Meter (Ned) 4:49
21. Lana Verberne (Ned) 6:01
22. Karen Verhestraeten 6:49
23. Anja Geldhof 7:38
24. Iris Ockeloen (Ned) 7:47
25. Maud Kaptheijns (Ned)
26. Anja Nobus 8:32
27. Marquerite de Neve (Ned) 9:20
28. Valerie Boonen @ 1 lap
29. Tine Dutoo
30. Katleen Fraeye
31. Sandie Verriest
32. Caitlyn La Haye @ 2 laps

Tags: , ,