Martin Wins Chrono des Nations, Dowsett 3rd

Amber Neben and World TT Champion Tony Martin won their respective events of Chrono des Nations this Sunday giving HTC-Highroad victories in it’s final two events of operation.

“It’s wonderful to see the team successful again right to the very end of the season,” said Team Owner Bob Stapleton. “Both the men and the women won their first race of the season in January and now they have both won the last race. It’s testament to the attitude of all of our staff and riders over the years and I’m very proud of their success.”

Neben won the 20km women’s event in a time of 27’58” over compatriot Kristin Armstrong and Olga Zabelinskaia from Russia. With the race being a 1.1 level UCI race, it was important for Neben’s ranking towards the Olympic Games. “This was a great way for me to end the season,” said Neben. “It was one last, important time trial, and I was motivated to do well. It was difficult to race in October, three weeks after worlds, but it was definitely worth the effort and the crazy travel. It means a lot to win. I am happy and looking forward to some rest.”

For Britain, Julia Shaw and Sharon Laws finished 6th and 7th respectively.

In the Men’s event, Martin’s time of 56’20” for the 48km event smashed that of his nearest competitor by over two minutes. “I felt really good racing here and I was confident after worlds and winning in China,” said Martin. “Now I’m really happy to finish the season on a high and I’m looking forward to some rest and building towards next season.” HTC-Highroad finishes the season with 121 victories and 513 wins since 2008

Alex Dowsett brought an end to a superb neo-pro season with third place at the Chrono des Nations. The British Time Trial Champion rounded out the podium places in France to make a successful return to the scene of his under-23 victory last season. The result marked the eighth top-three placing for Dowsett in a debut year in the pro ranks which has yielded three victories. David Millar finished 5th.

1. Amber Neben (USA)     0:27:58
2. Kristin Armstrong (USA)     0:00:09
3. Olga Zabelinskaia (Rus)     0:01:03

6. Julia Shaw (GBr)     0:01:26
7. Sharon Laws (GBr)     0:02:02
8. Jeannie Longo (Fra)     0:02:17

1. Tony Martin (Ger) HTC-Highroad     0:56:20
2. Gustav Larsson (Swe) Saxo Bank Sungard     0:02:03
3. Alex Dowsett (GBr) Sky Procycling     0:02:50

5. David Millar (GBr) Team Garmin-Cervelo     0:03:51
16. Alexander Wetterhall (Swe) Endura Racing     0:06:21

Tags: , ,