Report: Wessex Cyclo-Cross League Round 3

Michael Cotty wins the Pedal on Cyclo-Cross on Sunday 16th October

Graham Robins writes … Today’s race held in the War Memorial park in Basingstoke and promoted by North Hampshire Road Club. The course was laid out over park land and included the wooded copse to the south. For the third race in a row, we were greeted with blue skies and warm weather and the course was dry and firm giving us a fast set of races.


Michael Cotty winner again in the Wessex League. Photo:

The morning got underway with a very large entry from the under 10’s and under 12 with young Ben Tulett (HHYCC) in complete control and winning his second race in a row with Bethany Lewis second on her first appearance this season and then came  Harry Dridge (SDV) coming in third who now leads the league table. The under 10’s had a fun race with Alexia Hawkins (PPV) winning just ahead of Ryan Hodgkyns (Poole Wheelers) and Anna Wadsworth (Beeline Cycles) third.

Result Under10’s
1st Alexia Hawkins PPV
2nd Ryan Hodgkyns Poole Wheelers
3rd Anna Wadsworth Beeline Cycles
4th Ewan Taylor BCDS
5th Tyler Smith Swindon RC

Result Under 12’s
1st Ben Tulett HHYCC
2nd Bethany Lewis Palmer Park (PPV)
3rd Harry Dridge SDV
4th Jay Allen PPV
5th Liam Sewell Swindon RC

The combined junior women’s vet race was next up with a very strong entry across all the different groups.  The first to show at the front were Matt Hargroves along with Hargroves team mate Harry Franklin. The vet race leaders were Keith Sheridan (Hargroves Cycles) along with Sean Williams (Wight Mountain) and Mike Groves (Stevens UK/Hargroves). The women’s race leader was Claire Smith who was clear of Tamina Oliver (Squada Donne). The front five men were all together at one point but soon gaps started to appear and Matt Hargroves soon took control of the race. The veteran men were a bit closer together with Sean Mike and Keith all racing together, Kevin Knox (Vicious Velo) was a little way behind but was unable to close the gap.

Provisional Result

1st Claire Smith Swindon RC
2nd Tamina Oliver Squada Donne
3rd Sarah Woods Wight Mountain

1st Keith Sheridan Hargroves Cycles 49min 37secs
2nd Sean Williams Wight Mountain @9secs
3rd Mike Groves Stevens UK/Hargroves Cycles @44secs
4th Kevin Knox Vicious Velo @56secs
5th Will Girvan North Hants RC @1min 36secs

1st Matt Hargroves Hargroves Cycles 49min16secs
2nd Harry Franklin Hargroves Cycles @1min1sec
3rd Matt Woods Hargroves Cycles @ 1min 17secs

The senior race was won for the second race in a row by Michael Cotty (Wheelbase/Cannondale) who once his rivals had had their troubles pulled away to a commanding win. The race got underway with five riders all riding together for four laps before the gaps started to appear.

The five riders Michael Cotty, Adrain Lansley (Pedalon), Dan Lewis (RAF), Ben Sumner (un-attached) and Will Bjergfelt (Motorpoint Pro Cycling) soon pulled away from the rest of the bunch and set about staying away. The first to make a mistake was Dan who on the off camber turns dropped his bike but soon got up to continue. Ben then started to pull away from Adrain and Will. Adrain then was the next to drop away and soon he retired feeling un-well. Will then started to drop off the pace beginning to feel the pace of a hard road season.

While all were losing ground behind him Michael settled into a rhythm and started to build a commanding lead. With a couple of laps to go it was Michael from Dan @43secs with Ben @53secs. With Will now slipping back Michael took the bell with a lead of 50secs over Dan with Ben now 1min 30secs back and Will a further 50secs behind him. As Michael rode into the flat park between the football pitches both Dan and Ben could not be seen and Michael coasted to a comfortable win Dan came in 1min 22secs back with Ben now back at 1min 46secs.

1st Michael Cotty Wheelbase/ Cannondale 1hr 04mins 07secs
2nd Dan Lewis RAF @1min 22secs
3rd Ben Sumner un-attached @1min 46secs
4th Will Bjergfelt Motorpoint Pro Cycling @2min 08secs
5th Peter Kench Team GWR @3min 34 secs

Tags: , ,