Final: Norwich Circuit Race Series

The final round of the Norwich Circuit Race series enjoyed fabulous Autumn weather and possibly the closest racing of the whole series.

Although numbers were down in the youth races, the lead coach, Russell Parkins changed the race format and introduced accurate handicapping to keep even the youngest riders in the mix over their six races. Dan Swindells (Gt Yarmouth CC) ran out the clear winner but just three points separated the next three riders with Alice Codling taking second from Christopher Haslam and Anton Garcia.

The promoting club, Iceni Velo, had a strong representation in the Go Race Omnium, taking the overall win through Simon Tabiner. Alex Lubbock (VC Norwich) was second and Stefano Casaccio (Iceni Velo) in third having been persuaded to ride after completing the morning club run! Special mention also to John Swindells (GYCC) who virtually dismantled his bike – removing carrier, mudguards, lights – before taking to the circuit.

Go Race Omnium – Simon Tabiner leading Stefano Casaccio and Alex Lubbock.

The 3rd/4th category criterium was won by series regular, Lewis Pendle (I Team CC). A leading group of five formed early containing Pendle, Mark Farrow, Strada Sport; Phil Buick, Iceni Velo; Graham Collins, Ipswich CC and Tim Money, unattached. Collins was the first to be dropped but was always in with a chance of rejoining as the lead group tested each other on the hill and then eased up – no one willing or able to make a decisive break.

At the bell, all four were still together with the final ascent of the hill looking to be decisive. Pendle lead up the hill. Buick, under attack from a large fly at the back of his throat allowed a gap to form leaving Farrow and Money unable to bridge to Pendle who crossed the line alone. Money crossed the line second leaving the hard working Farrow in third.

As the series concludes, thanks are extended to the promoting clubs; GYCC, Iceni Velo and VC Norwich. The commissaire, Barry Smith. The coaches, Russell Parkins, Peter Cornwell and Simon Edwards. And to the small army of club members and parents who have turned up to prepare the circuit, marshall, judge, encourage and cajole the racers.

Thanks to Sara Flatt for the report…

Full Results
1. Dan Swindells    GYCC
2. Alice Codling
3. Christopher Haslam
4. Anton Garcia
5. Sophie Wright
6. Tom Gorman       Iceni Velo
7. Edmund Jones
8. Emily Haslam
9. Finn Gorman      Iceni Velo

Go Race Omnium:
1. Simon Tabiner            Iceni Velo
2. Alex Lubbock            VC Norwich
3. Stefano Casaccio        Iceni Velo
4. John Swindells           GYCC
5. Olly Quinton            Iceni Velo
6. Ben Howell              Norwich ABC
7. Howard Jones
8. Peter Cornwell          Norwich ABC
9. Martin Anderton         Iceni Velo
10. David Yellop

Regional B Criterium
1. Lewis Pendle             I Team CC
2. Tim Money
3. Mark Farrow             Strada Sport
4. Phil Buick              Iceni Velo
5. Graham Collins          Ipswich CC
6. Philip Thomerson        VC Norwich
7. David Lawrence          Strada Sport

Tags: ,