Report: Wessex & Central League Cyclo-Cross

Michael Cotty continues winning in the Central and Wessex Cyclo-Cross League event

Central & Wessex Cyclo-Cross League Event Report

Michael Cotty. Pic: Graham Robins

by Graham Robins (

The event was held at Chilton Edge School, Sonning Common near Reading on a dry but very windy day. The course was laid out around the sports fields with a twisty section through the wooded section near to the school buildings. Due to this being a joint promoted event and despite there being a National Trophy race on, there was a large entry requiring several lap counters to keep up?

The morning got underway with first the under 10’s and then quickly followed by the under 12’s races. The young riders had a well laid out course with a bit of everything in it. There was climbing, descending and two long straights and a lot of wind to contend with.

The next race was a combined Go Ride Adult race for novice riders and the youths. This group used the whole of the course and it was Robbie Bolwell (Wight Mountain) who appeared the keenest to take a win. He set off from the first lap and soon opened up a minute lead over Jack Saunders (Swindon RC) and Charles Page (Hillingdon Slipstreamers) with Tom Sewell (Swindon RC) and Edward Gronbech (Oxford City) already over two minutes behind the leader.

Over the next couple of laps, Rob’s lead was extended by over a minute a lap, Jack was now clear of Charles by 40secs but Charles was now three minutes down on the leader. Tom was closing in only 10 secs behind Charles with Edward a further 20secs behind these two.

The girl’s race was a bit closer with three girls evenly matched at the start and all within sight of each other to start with. Bethany Taylor (BCDC) was on a high having won the last two rounds soon got a gap from Rhianna Jones (Swindon RC) and her team mate Hannah Gibbs. Bethany won to record three straight win to push her to the top of the league table. This wasn’t the only win for the Taylor household as mum Jenny won the Senior Go-Race and Beth’s younger sister Sophie finished third in the under 14’s.

The final race of the day saw a huge entry made up of seniors, juniors, Vets and Women. There were well over hundred riders on the course making it difficult to keep up with who was leading the different classes. The senior race was won by Michael Cotty (Wheelbase Cannondale) who after one lap riding with a rider from Corley Cycles, attacked him going into the wind around the football fields, got a gap and soon built on it.

Michael’s only problem was trying to dodge all the other slower riders all over the course. Michael said “I had to pick my moments to pass while still maintaining a good race pace”. At the finish, Michael was a clear winner but then it was the job of the lap counters to sort out the remainder of the results. The only other riders confirmed to me at the finish were Peter Kench (Team GWR) was second with Paul Robinson (Sportest) was provisionally placed third.


Under 10
1. Skip Snelson                   A5 Rangers
2. Alex Wetherill                N/A
3. Eliis Jones                         Swindon RC

Under 10 Girls
1. Emily Conn                      Palmer Park Velo
2. Lucy Storey                     N/A
3. Hannah Ridge                 N/A

1. Tom Durkin                     Welwyn Wheelers
2. Alisdair Grant                 A5 Rangers
3. Alexi Edwards                Welwyn Wheelers

U12 Girls
1. Kitty Pilgrim Morris      Palmer Park Velo
2. Natalie Moore               Swindon RC
3. Isobel Barnett                N/A

Youths U16 Boys
1. Robert Bolwell               Wight Mountain
2. Jack Saunders                Swindon RC
3. Joshua Mitchell             Biscester Millenium

Youths U 16 Girls
1. Bethany Taylor              BCDS
2.  Rhianna Jones               Swindon RC
3. Hannah Gibbs                Swindon RC

Youths U14 Boys
1. Charles Page                   Hillingdon Slipstreamers
2. Tom Sewell                     Swindon RC
3. Edward Gronbech        Oxford City RC

Youths U14 Girls
1. Rhonna Grant                A5 Rangers
2. Lauren Randall               Icknield RC
3. Sophie Taylor                 BCDS

1. William Macke               AW Cycles
2. Jason Pitt                         AW Cycles
3. Aaron Westgarth          Kingscliffe Flyers

1. Michael Cotty                 Wheelbase/ Cannondale
2. Paul Robertson              Sportest
3. Peter Kench                    GWR Team

Tags: , ,