Report/Photos: Callendar Christmas Cross (Scotland)

Grant Ferguson was impressive as he swept away his rivals to win the Callendar Christmas Cyclo-Cross at Callendar Park in Falkirk.

The final race of the 2011 Scottish cyclocross season was held at a stunning new cyclocross venue in Callendar Park, Falkirk on the Wednesday following Christmas.

Davie Lines and Franco Porco, stalwarts of the Scottish scene, had laid out a modern cyclocross course in the grounds of Callendar House which wound it’s way around the French Renaissance château style mansion house and through a section of the Antonine Wall.

The field was small, but perfectly formed with Scottish Champion and winner of The Tri Centre Series winner Gareth Montgomerie (GT Racing UK) joined at the front of the grid by British Cycling’s Olympic Academy rider Grant Ferguson (Boardman Elite), road pro Ben Greenwood (riding his last race for Rapha – Condor – Sharp) and Davie Lines (Endura / Pedal Power Development Team). Alongside them some of the leading Junior and Veteran riders from Scotland promised a fast race.

Brendan Roe

Ferguson showed his class right from the gun and soon opened up a quick lead over Montgomerie and Junior Stuart Wilcox (i-Cycles) who were chasing hard. Ferguson continued to open up his lead over the next 50 minutes, whilst behind Montgomerie was able to drop Wilcox as the race wore on. The race finished with the top three in that position as Ferguson took the chequered flag with a two minute margin over Montgomerie and Davie Lines made a late charge to secure 4th overall for 3rd senior.

Gary McRae and Grant Ferguson

Wilcox was leading Junior, Jac Marquis (Minx Girl – Ronde) took the Womens win. Leslie Bike Shop / Right Move Windows took both of the veterans titles with Gary McRae in V40s and Brendan Roe V50s.  Hopefully Callendar Park will make an appearance in the 2012 Scottish Cyclocross Series and who knows, maybe we could even see the National Trophy series pay a visit to the far north in the near future.

Results: Race 3
1. Grant Ferguson – Boardman Elite 14:04:22
2. Gareth Montgomerie – GT Racing UK 14:04:37
3. Stuart Wilcox – I-Cycles 14:50:51
4. Gary McCrae – Leslie Bike Shop / Right Move Windows
5. David Lines – Endura / Pedal Power 14:04:49
6. Ben Greenwood – Rapha Condor Sharp 14:04:54
7. Douglas Shearer – Innerleithen MTB Racing 14:04:52
8. Paul McInally – Rock and Road Cycles 14:04:54
9. Calum Foster – Leslie Bike Shop / Right Move Windows (103)
10. Steve Nicholson – Dunfermline CC 14:05:18 (2)
11. James Melville – Glasgow United CC 14:05:19
12. Addy Pope – Velo Club Moulin 14:05:29
13. Franco Porco – GJS Racing 14:05:11
14. Brendan Roe – Leslie Bike Shop / Right Move Windows
15. John McCaffery – Leslie Bike Shop / Right Move Windows
16. Gordon Chisholm – Perth United CC 14:05:33
17. Stuart McLean – Walkers Cycling Club 14:05:31
18. Graeme Warren – Unattached 14:05:34
19. Jim Meek – Leslie Bike Shop / Right Move Windows
20. Gavin Shuttleworth – Velocity 14:06:33
21. Kevin Sabiston – Velo Ecosse 14:05:56
22. Ronald Barker – Rockhard MTB 14:06:10
23. Kevin Cannon – Unattached 14:06:02
24. Daniel Clarke – Mersey Tri Club 14:06:11
25. Simon Kirkness – Renner Sport CX 14:10:37
26. Simon Fagan – West Lothian Clarion 14:06:34
27. Chris Duncan – Velo Club Moulin 14:06:11
28. Simon Clarke – GS Avanti 14:06:39
29. Scott Russell – Walkers Cycling Club 14:06:36
30. Howard Perkins – Unattached 14:06:50
31. Simon Kenny – West Lothian Clarion 14:06:43
32. John McComisky – Edinburgh Road Club 14:06:33
33. Graeme Kelly – 14:54:27
34. George Welch – EK Road Club 14:06:38
35. Tom Moodie – Leslie Bike Shop / Right Move Windows
36. James Maclaren – Johnstone Wheelers 14:08:01
37. Ian Hepburn – Dunfermline CC 14:07:28
38. James Speakman – Get Lost Collective 14:08:14
39. Jac Marquis – Minx Girl – Ronde 14:08:00
40. Billy Cunningham – Pedal Power 14:08:08

First Scottish Cyclo-Cross race of 2012 is Dig In Around The Dock on 29th January in Bo’ness.

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results

Tags: ,