Result: Imperial Winter Series – Race 7

Another victory for Jamie Pine in race 7 of the 2011/12 Imperial Winter Series at the Hillingdon cycle circuit in West London on 7th January 2012

Race report by Imperial Racing Team

A fine race day but the blustery wind made it difficult for any advantages to be gained. After attempts from riders to detach themselves from the front it came down to a fierce sprint with Marc Townsend (Neon-Digital) just holding off Charles Batho (Dulwich Paragon CC) for a fine win with teammate Simon Lewington in 3rd. The WyndyMilla 4th cat random prize is awarded to  Andrew Macey (Ashford Wheelers) who can look forward to a WyndyMilla ‘go faster’ cycle fitting at their Manor Farm Cycle Centre in Seale.

Jez McCann (VC Elan) and Werner van der Merwe (MarathonMTB) animated the start of the 3rd cat race followed by Peter Hitt (Mountain Trax RT) and Adam Buckland (Banjocycles). A crash disrupted the last lap but Ashley Dennis (Prestige VC) held off Daniel Stevens (Neon-Digital) and Ajelo Ghristides for a worthy win. The Maxifuel random prize is awarded to Noah Banner (Kingston Wheelers cc) who receives a Maxifuel rucksack comprising of Viperactive energy fuel, gels and bottles.

In the main race Conall Yates (InGear Quickvit RT) and Adam Brittain (High Wycombe CC) kicked off the action soon after the start; a big chase developed lead by ever consistent Andy Betts (Felt Colbornes RT) and Rory Townsend (Prestige VC). Jamie Pine (London Dynamo) attacked, but it all came back together.  Bill Butterworth (Twickenham CC) also tried his luck with a lone effort. The fierce pace began to tell with the overall contenders watching each other allowing a select group of 5 to slip away with Betts leading accompanied by Jerone Walters (VC St Raphael), Yates, Pine with Chris Moores (Norwood Paragon).

Photo: Antony Edmonds:

Steve Golla (High Wycombe CC) missed out and realising the danger, did make attempts to cross the gap, without success. With 5 km Betts remaining attacked uphill towards the finish but was countered by Walters and Pine. With 100 m to go, it could have been one of 3 with Moores then Yates slipping back. One the line there were fractions between them with Pine just getting the verdict from Betts and Walters.  Andy Brittain meanwhile, presented with an opportunity of a slowing group, broke away in the last few laps and just held onto 6th place. Pete Wager and team mate Tom Smith (Felt-Colbornes RT) led the main group in very closely followed by Townsend and Vince Halpern (Handsling Racing).

Next race: Saturday 14th January 2012 4th Cat & 3rd Cat start @ 13:00 with the E123 @ 14:15

All race information @

Photos: Antony Edmonds:

Photos from Guy Swarbrick –

Photo Slideshow


1st  Jamie Pine London Dynamo
2nd  Andy Betts Felt Colbornes RT
3rd  Jerone Walters VC St Raphael
4th  Conall Yates InGear Quickvit RT
5th  Chris Moores Norwood Paragon
6th  Adam Brittain High Wycombe CC
7th  Pete Wager Felt-Colbornes RT
8th  Tom Smith Felt Colbornes
9th  Rory Townsend Prestige VC
10th  Vincent Halpern Handsling Racing
11th  Steve Legg Police Sport UK
12th  Peter Cole Handslingracing
13th  Phil Holloway Southend Wheelers
14th  Steve Golla High Wycombe
15th  Simon Whiten Handsling Racing
16th  James Jones Zappi’s CC
17th  ed rose progression/bikelux
18th  Rupert Beale Beeline Bikes RT
19th  Neil Heffernan Inverse Racing/Cyclaim
20th  Nicholas Beale Beeline Bikes RT
21st  Samuel Gilzean Welwyn Wheelers
22nd  Ashley Holding GB MSTina
23rd  Joshua Maynard Welwyn Wheelers
24th  Christian Yates East Grinstead CC
25th  Kieran Dineen Amersham RCC
26th  Martin Garratt London Dynamo
27th  Arjan Planting Dulwhich Paragon
28th  Declan Higgins VC St Raphael
29th  Robin Basford WyndyMilla
30th  bill butterworth Twickenham CC
31st  Patrick Martin Wyndymilla
32nd  George Farrell Welwyn Wheelers
33rd  Rudie Marais La Fuga/Sigma Sport
34th  Geoff Powell High Wycombe CC
35th  Ralph de Kanter Norwood Paragon CC
36th  Liam Bremer London Phoenix CC
37th  Mario Manelfi Blazing Saddles
38th  Jerzy Kuzminski London Phoenix
39th  Mike Knight VC Meudon
40th  James Lowden Lewes Wanderers
41st  Iain Gillam Imperial College cc
42nd  Harry Strudley
43rd  Stephen Campbell Twickenham CC
44th  Nat Spurling Finsbury Park
45th  Mark Smith Welwyn Wheelers

3rd Cat Event
1st  Ashley Dennis Prestige VC
2nd  Daniel Stevens
3rd  Ajelo Ghristides unattached
4th  Nicholas Baker Zappis
5th  Richard Moss GS Henley
6th  Tim Benham Southampton RC
7th  Mark Lawn Inverse Racing/Cyclaim
8th  Joe Holloway VC10
9th  Jason Painton Rides on air
10th  Rob Sharland Kingston Wheelers
11th  James Walker High Wycombe CC
12th  Jez McCann VC Elan
13th  Robert Lemaster London Dynamo
14th  Lubomir Belak Welwyn Wheelers
15th  Joshua Swords Pedal Heaven RT
16th  Carsten Duke London Dynamo
17th  Daniel Tamplin aylesbury cycling club
18th  Christopher Palfreeman 45 road club
19th  Richard Rose Bikelux Progression
20th  Peter Hitt Mountain Trax RT
21st  Joe Clark High Wycombe CC
22nd  Noah Banner Kingston Wheelers cc
23rd  Alex Tollo Private Member
24th  Grant Grant unattached
25th  Karl Moseley Stourbridge Velo
26th  Brian Blease Dulwich Paragon
27th  Taimur Tanwir London Dynamo/Prologue
28th  Roland Chuter Private Member
29th  Andrew Stronge unattached
30th  Werner Van Der Merwe
31st  Martin Porter Thames Velo
32nd  Phillip Wilkinson Inverse Racing / Cyclaim
33rd  Mark O’brien Archer RC
34th  Josh Lawless unattached
35th  Michael Widera ViVelo-bikes/Inverse CyClaim RT
36th  Andy Mckay Zappi
37th  Dominic Lowden Lewes Wanderers
38th  Peter Hodgetts Halesowen A&CC
39th  Karla Boddy High Wycombe CC
40th  Andy Lack Kingston Wheelers
41st  Stuart Jackson Bath Road Club
42nd  Peter Hudson Durham University – AURA Cycles
43rd  Chris Campbell London Dynamo
44th  Neil MCcann VC Elan
45th  Seb Greenwood Vivelo Bikes – Inverse RT / Cyclaim
46th  Nigel Burns St Ives CC

4th Cat Event
1st  Marc Townsend
2nd  Charles Batho Dulwich Paragon CC
3rd  Simon Lewington Dulwich Paragon
4th  Doug Bruce Oxford University CC
5th  Roki Read VC Meudon
6th  Gavin Francis London Dynamo
7th  Huw Jones unattached
8th  John-Paul Brophy
9th  Michael Tocknell London Dynamos
10th  James Roberts Amersham
11th  Andrew Macey Ashford Wheelers
12th  Nicholas Griffiths Kingston Wheelers
13th  stephen ralston London Dynamo/Prologue
14th  Simon Barnes private member
15th  jordan oneill unattached
16th  Kevin Argent Private
17th  Matt Walsh Zappi’s Cycling Club
18th  Creighton Varney High Wycombe Cycling Club
19th  Stuart Smith High Wycombe
20th  Alan Nixon Amersham RCC
21st  mark duncan VC Meudon
22nd  Adam Capes London Dynamo
23rd  Robert Parker-Cole Kingston Wheelers
24th  Jogenes Senorin Private member
25th  Andy Colsell High Wycombe CC
26th  James Berresford
27th  Andrew Wright La Fuga/Sigmasport
28th  Lee King Beeline bicycles rt
29th  John Polak Private Member
30th  Jeff Roberts High Wycombe CC
31st  George Fox 45 Road Club
32nd  Jon Coulson Sydenham Wheelers
33rd  Chris Pinches Imperial College CC
34th  Jonathan Whybrow Reading CC
35th  Phil Sowton Wyndymilla
36th  George Lancaster unattached
37th  andrew deans london dynamo
38th  Andrew Clare London Dynamo
39th  Dave Spragg Kingston Wheelers
40th  Andrew Gibson Kingston wheelers cc
41st  Andy Leatherbarrow Kingston Wheelers CC
42nd  Darryl Green Vivelo Bikes – Inverse RT/Cyclaim
43rd  George Aston Welwyn Wheelers
44th  Paul Morrissey High Wycombe CC
45th  Peter Blencowe Imperial College CC
46th  paul banner kingston wheelers
47th  Richard Carrington London Dynamo
48th  Steven Green Thames Velo

Tags: ,