Result: London Cyclo-Cross League (Feb 5)

At Herne Hill in South East London, Matthew Webber clinched both the event and series victory on February 5. Tabitha Rendall was first woman

Report & Pictures: Dave Hayward (

Youth Race

Jake Marley and Sam Titmarsh had a good scrap in the snow with both boys swapping the lead and managing to keep things together as they drifted away from the main field giving an exciting race right down to the last section of tight corners where both collided before the finish. Remounting their bikes like synchronised swimmers, the battle for the win was still on to the line where Jake Marley won by a bike length.

1st Jake Marley, VC Jubilee, U16
2nd Sam Titmarsh, Team Darenth, U16
3rd Thomas Finch. VCL, U14

Under 12
1st Arlo Ludewick, Herne Hill Youth CC

Senior Race

The Senior race was more of a steady start. Darren Barclay rode off the front with Matthew Webb, Ben Lewis, Paul Sheers, and Jack Finch in hot pursuit.  When the riders reappeared back into the stadium, first into view was Matthew Webb with a clear lead over Darren Barclay, ” I had a miss adventure round the back of the course” said Darren. The same had happened to Jack Finch and he had dropped to ninth place. Paul Sheers kept things steady but couldn’t close on Webb, finishing second. Ben Lewis got around Darren for third while Jack finch clawed his way back to 5th having Darren in his sights.

[nggallery id=61]

USAGE: Click a photo to display, use the left and right cursor keys to go back and forth between images. Click an image to close.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

“I really enjoyed that, have to laugh though, I was trying to be as smooth as you can in conditions like this but once the bike goes, it goes” said Darren Barclay. “So many people were falling in different parts of the course. For me it was a case of just having fun”. Jack Finch meanwhile said “I was I little annoyed when I came down and loosing a couple of places but once I calmed down.,I got back into may rhythm where I started making my way back.”

Phil Murrell Finsbury Park CC, “I had a good start considering the conditions. It wasn’t too bad to begin with once the bunch thinned out a bit, it was easier to maintain a stead pace. As the snow started to churn into the mud it was becoming a slog towards the end, I did come off a couple of times, but who didn’t?”


1. Matthew Webber London Phoenix
2. Paul Sheers Vicious Velo
3. Ben Lewis FPCC
4. Darren Barclay Arctic
5. Jack Finch PM Racing J
6. Jules Birks VCL
7. Chris Dick London Phoenix
8. Gabor Doroghazi Fruit 4 London
9. Russell Jones Brixton V
10. Martin Weiss London Phoenix
11. Matt Hinshelwood Vicious Velo
12. James Wilson LA Fuca Sigma
13. Kieran Laurie VCL J
14. Chris McGovern Sutton CC J
15. Ashley Dennis Prestige VC J
16. David Rees Dulwich Paragon
17. William Jones
18. Andrew Snowball VC Londres
19. Andy Pollintine Dulwich Paragon
20. Vojtech Blazejovsky Brixton Cycles
21. Andy Powers Rollapaluza CC V
22. Mark Simmonds Kingsnorth V

@ 1 lap
23. Simon Scarsbrook Mosquito V
24. Edwin Burden London Phoenix
25. Phil Hersey Eagle RC
26. Charlie Codrington Dulwich Paragon V
27. Alex Ioannides Dulwich Paragon
28. Duncan Moden C.R.C.
29. John Polak V
30. Philip Murrell Finsbury Park V
31. James Solly VCL
32. Steve Brown
33. Andrew Han
34. Alex Pettett Leeds Uni Gryphen
35. Tony Bartlett Team Corridori V
36. Ian Cleverly Mosquito V
37. Mike Kangelos Push Cycles
38. Kevin Carter London Phoenix V
39. Graham Freer Mosquito V
40. Adrian Wain Beds Road
41. Steve Blackmore Seeds V
42. Steve Treanor HCTB V
43. Phil Shemmings Bigfoot CC V
44. David Smith VC Londres
45. Lee Dobson
46. Len Delicaet Phoenix V
47. Phil Wright VCL V
48. Pete Lawrence Condor Cycles V

@ 2 laps
49. Greg Anderson
50. Adam Harman HHYCC V
51. David Rose Dulwich Paragon
52. Simon Tottle Festival RC V
53. Harry Moore CC Hackney V
54. Howard Swejwik
55. Tabitha Rendall Club Cyclopark W

@ 3 laps
56. Lee Rae-Byford Cycle Europe V
57. Julian McGovern Sutton CC V
58. Jony Hudson
59. Jo-Anne Perry Deal Triathlon W

@ 4 laps
60. Jason Cattermole VCL
61. Simon Clarke GS Avanti V
62. Rob Milton Push Cycles
63. Sam Judd VCL J
64. Andrey Padiy Rollapaluza CC

@ 6 laps
65. Elliot Phillips VCL J

@ 7 laps
66. George Holland Brixton Cycles
67. Spencer Harradine Big Foot V
68. Lan-Lan Smith W

@ 9 laps
69. Kevin Ball Dulwich Paragon


RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Tags: ,