Result: Imperial Winter Series Race 11

Jamie Pine wins at Hillingdon today ahead for former series winner Jerone Walters with young  Rory Townsend in third.

Race 11 | Hillingdon Cycle Circuit | 4th February 2012

Photos from Antony Edmonds:  Website (photo in the process of being uploaded)

Vince Halpern (Handsling media)

On a bitterly cold afternoon with snow clouds threatening, a fair entry braved the conditions with both 3rd and 4th cat groups seemingly content to stay in the confines of the bunch.

Luke Farren (Brighton Mitre) just managed to hold off Graeme York (Twickenham CC) to win the 4th cat race with Jonathan Rogers (Kingston Wheelers CC) in 3rd. The random prize is awarded to 8th place finisher Jon Train (GS Gazzetta) who will ‘go faster’ courtesy of a WyndyMilla cycle fitting at their Manor Farm Cycle Centre.

Werner Van Der Merwe (MarathonMTB) struck out on his own mid race and although none of the other 3rds seemed interested in pursuing he was soon drawn back into the group. Matthew Bone (I-Team) made a late surge to win and having recently moved up from the 4th cat races (by winning the 8th race of the series) looks like a talent for the future having only started racing last August!

Corrine Hall (Node 4 Giordana Womens Team) ex-national champion was also making a comeback after a fall on her mountain bike back in September, a brave effort considering the day, she was riding exceptionally well and attacked towards the end no doubt encouraged by her team mate and coach Stuart Blunt (Team Corridori). Maxifuel’s Viperactive energy fuel, gels and bottles are won this week by Vaughan Luff.

In the E123 race with the biting wind picking up, the pattern was entirely different from the preceding races with Jerone Walters (VC St Raphael) attacking from the start. Newcomer Richard Horton (Bournemouth Jubilee Wheelers) and Vince Halpern (Handsling Racing) attacked to cross to make a trio but it was short lived. Walters then went again with Conall Yates (InGear Quickvit RT), Jamie Pine (London Dynamo) with Phil Holloway (Southend Wheelers) finding his form again after his recent trip to New York.

Rory Townsend (Prestige VC) had clearly recovered from his dip in form last week and these five were quickly joined by Steve Golla (High Wycombe RT).  The disappearing lead group did not deter junior talent Josh Maynard (Welwyn Wheelers) and Horton from chasing hard to close the gap but they had left it a little too late.

The sprint for the podium was almost a forgone conclusion with Pine coming round Walters for a comfortable win with Townsend a strong 3rd followed by Golla and Yates with Holloway in 6th place. Pete Wager (Felt Colbornes RT) salvaged 9th place leading in the main group and is still highly placed overall. The presentation will be supported by special guest Roger Hammond who raced the winter series in its formative early years.  Another happy note was Tom Smith (Felt Colbornes RT) being presented with a baby daughter on Tuesday and this probably accounted for him missing the break!

Next race: Saturday 11th February 2012 4th Cat & 3rd Cat start @ 13:00
with the E123 @ 14:15
Prize presentation by Roger Hammond @ 15:45

Full race information @

Win for Jamie Pine

 Steve Golla of High Wycombe CC

1st        Jamie Pine    London Dynamo
2nd        Jerone Walters    VC St Raphael
3rd        Rory Townsend    Prestige VC
4th        Steve Golla    High Wycombe rt
5th        Conall Yates    InGear Quickvit RT
6th        Phil Holloway    Southend Wheelers
7th        Joshua Maynard    Welwyn Wheelers
8th        Richard Horton    Bournemouth Jubilee Wheelers
9th        Pete Wager    Felt-Colbornes RT
10th        Jerzy Kuzminski    London Phoenix
11th        Henry Furniss    WyndyMilla/MaxiFuel
12th        Tom Smith    Felt Colbornes RT
13th        Vincent Halpern    Handsling Racing
14th        Chris Wood    WyndyMilla/UK Youth
15th        Tom Gallacher    Metaltek – Scott
16th        Christian Yates    East Grinstead CC
17th        Alex Peterson
18th        Matthew Tibbutt    Wightlink
19th        Bill Butterworth    Twickenham CC
20th        Martin Garratt    London Dynamo
21st        Nat Spurling    Finsbury Park
22nd        Geoff Powell    High Wycombe CC
23rd        Rudie Marais    La Fuga/Sigma Sport
24th        Cameron Foster    Zappi’s CC
25th        Joshua Swords    Pedal Heaven RT
26th        Mark Smith    Welwyn Wheelers

Category 3 Race
1st        Matthew Bone    I-Team
2nd        Oli Pepper    The Kinesis Morvelo Project
3rd        Tim Benham    WyndyMilla
4th        Peter Hudson    Durham University – AURA Cycles
5th        Angelo Christides    unattached
6th        Luke Souter    Banbury Star CC
7th        Ed Rose    progression/bikelux
8th        Phil Dempsey    Aprire Bicycles
9th        Dan Mitchell    Redhill CC
10th        Jacek Reder    private member
11th        Noah Banner    Kingston Wheelers cc
12th        John-Paul Brophy
13th        David Walls    unattached
14th        Ralph Keeler    Cambridge CC
15th        Werner Van Der Merwe
16th        Daniel Tamplin    aylesbury cycling club
17th        Corrine Hall    Node 4 Giordana Womens Team
18th        Greg Barber    Charlottevillecc
19th        Andrew Stronge    unattached
20th        George Withers
21st        Przemyslaw Radomski    Gregarious Superclub Ciclista
22nd        Edmond Irwin    london fire brigade CC
23rd        Nigel Burns    St Ives CC
24th        Wayne Thomas    GS Henley
25th        James Walker    High Wycombe CC
26th        Rob Sharland    Kingston Wheelers
27th        Josh Lawless    unattached
28th        Simon Parton    Kingston Wheelers
29th        Vaughan Luff    unattached
30th        Martin Porter    Thames Velo
31st        Stuart Blunt    Team Corridori
32nd        George Fox    45 Road Club
33rd        Will Houghton    Hillingdon CC

Category 4
1st        Luke Farren    Brighton Mitre
2nd        Graeme York    Twickenham CC
3rd        Jonathan Rogers    Kingston Wheelers CC
4th        Chris King    Catford CC
5th        Kevin Argent    La Fuga/Sigmasport
6th        Gordon McCulloch    Welwyn Wheelers
7th        Jordan O’Neill    London Dynamo
8th        Jon Train    GS Gazzetta
9th        Tim Clark    unattached
10th        Austin Bell    Kingston Wheelers
11th        Tim Osborne    High Wycombe CC
12th        Sean Parr    Welwyn Wheelers
13th        Alex Murray    London Dynamo
14th        James Green    catford cc
15th        Gavin Smith    Catford
16th        Warren Hannington    I-TEAM
17th        Stuart Smith    High Wycombe
18th        Justin Costley    Cycling Club Hackney
19th        Alan Nixon    Amersham RCC
20th        Luke Dixon    unattached
21st        Huw Jones    unattached
22nd        Richard Carrington    London Dynamo
23rd        Paul O’Donnell    Kingston Wheelers
24th        Andrew Deans    london dynamo
25th        Andrew Wright    La Fuga/Sigmasport
26th        Paul Morrissey    High Wycombe CC
27th        George Aston    Welwyn Wheelers
28th        Samuel Widdess    Fenland Clarion

Last race of the series on 11th Feb. All race information at

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results

Tags: ,