Report: Brook Cycles Track League

Rain during the day did not stop the Brook Cycles Track League going ahead on May 10th at the Lyme Valley Velodrome, Newcastle (Staffs)

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Rain again threatened to call of the Brook Cycles Track League event on Thursday 10th May at the Lyme Valley Velodrome, Newcastle Staffs as the track was soaking wet at 4pm. However like last weeks first event the conditions changed and with the warm wind blowing across the track it was dry by 6.15 for the first races to begin.

In the A Class endurance races there was a three way tie for the most points scored between first time rider, Andy Leigh, Velocity RT, Paul Whatmough, Shepherds Cycles and Jamie Whittaker, Lichfield CCC. Andy won the 30 lap scratch, Jamie the 10 lap scratch and Paul the paced scratch. All three were also member of the winning team pursuit along with Sam Birchall from Velocity RT. These points helped Paul to take over the overall lead of the league from his absent son Ryan who was the UK School Games.

The A Class Sprint events saw very close finishes in the Keiren Final and the Sprint Final. Barney Swinnerton, Swinnerton Cycles took the Keiren from Sean Mayer Swinnerton Cycles and in the Sprint the places were reversed with Sean taking the win. The Team Sprint Final was also a tight race with Barney Swinnerton, Phil Houlton, Brooks Cycles and Lauren Quenby, Newcastle RC 2001 taking the win.

The B Class events saw a good turnout with a few new faces who had braved the weather. League leader Joel Partington, Sportcity Velo won three events in the 8 lap scratch, devil and the course de primes to score 9 points. This was equalled by the ever improving Jo Pattison, Lyme RC who took second places in the same three events however took a great win in the final 30 lap scratch race.

The youth races saw some very keenly contested races with the top point’s scorer on the night being Bailey Wilmot, Derby Mercury, who won the devil and the 6 lap scratch races. Also prominent on the night was Liam Zwetschnikow, Lyme RC who scored 5 points thanks to his win in the block handicap and a third place in the devil. Early league leader Sallie Birchall had a quiet night scoring 2 points after being ill early in the week.

The Freewheelers league was down slightly on last week’s massive turnout which was again most likely due to the rain in the area however 19 riders contested the 12 race programme. Across the three leagues the top point’s scorers in each group were as follows;

Group 1 Ambrose Morris Lyme RC 7 points
Group 2 Edward Mulroy Congleton 7 points
Group 3 Aaron Mansell Lyme RC 7 points

Freewheelers Results

Group 1
Race 1
1st James Brayford Lyme RC
2nd Joe Swinnerton Lyme RC
3rd Sam Hall Lyme RC

Race 2
1st Ambrose Morris Lyme RC
2nd Joe Swinnerton
3rd Alex Coates Lyme RC

Race 3
1st Bradley Hill Lyme RC
2nd Sam Hall
3rd Louis Perry Lyme RC

Race 4

1st Ambrose Morris
2nd Sam Hall
3rd Alex Coates

Group 2

Race 1
1st James Scott Lyme RC
2nd Harry Brayford Lyme RC
3rd Joe Boulton

Race 2

1st Edward Mulroy Lyme RC
2nd Lucy Scott Lyme RC
3rd Jack Scott Lyme RC

Race 3
1st Edward Mulroy
2nd Lucy Scott
3rd Austin Scott Lyme RC

Race 4
1st Jack Scott
2nd Harry Brayford
3rd James Scott

Group 3

Race 1
1st Aaron Mansell Lyme RC
2nd Evie Davis Lyme RC
3rd Izaak Curtis Lyme RC

Race 2
1st Aaron Mansell
2nd Evie Davis
3rd Izaak Curtis

Race 3
1st Aaron Mansell
2nd Evie Davis
3rd Cameron O’Neill Lyme RC

Race 4
1st Izaak Curtis
2nd Cameron O’Neill
3rd Evie Davis

Youth Block Handicap

1st Liam Zwetschnikow Lyme RC
2nd James Duncalf Lyme RC
3rd Sam Hall Lyme RC

A Class Endurance 10 Lap Scratch
1st Jamie Whittaker Lichfield CCC
2nd Andy Leigh Velocity RT
3rd Paul Whatmough Shepherds Cycles

B Class 8 Lap Scratch
1st Joel Partington Sport City Velo
2nd Joe Pattison Lyme RC
3rd George Edwards Lyme RC

Youth Team Sprint
1st Louis Perry Lyme RC
Bradley Hill Lyme RC
Megan Williams Lyme RC
James Brayford Lyme RC
Ashleigh Williams Lyme RC
Becky Gray Lyme RC

A Class Endurance Team Pursuit
1st Andy Leigh
Paul Whatmough
Sam Birchall Velocity RT
Jamie Whittaker

A Class Sprint
1st Sean Mayer Swinnerton Cycles
2nd Barney Swinnerton Swinnerton Cycles
3rd Phil Houlton Brooks Cycles

B Class Devil
1st Joel Partington
2nd Joe Pattison
3rd George Edwards

Youth Devil
1st Bailey Wilmot Derby Mercury
2nd Sally Birchall
3rd Liam Zwetschnikow

Endurance 10 Lap Motor Paced
1st Paul Whatmough
2nd Jamie Whittaker
3rd Will Thomas Velocity RT

B Class Course de Primes
1st Joel Partington
2nd George Edwards
3rd Joe Pattison

Kieran Final
1st Barney Swinnerton
2nd Sean Mayer
3rd Phil Houlton
4th Dave Smith Stafford RC
5th Lauren Quenby Newcastle RC 2001
6th Steve Cronshaw Brooks Cycles

Youth Scratch
1st Bailey Wilmot
2nd Sam Pattison Lyme RC
3rd James Brayford

30 Lap Scratch
1st Andy Leigh
2nd Will Thomas
3rd Paul Whatmough

B Class
1st Joe Pattison
2nd Becky Gray Lyme RC
3rd Steve Hall Lyme RC



RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Tags: ,