Report: AA Brown Engineering Road Race

On a damp overcast day Joe White – Independent – from Grimbsy was the strongest rider from a leading group of seventeen riders whom contested the sprint finish to win the A A Brown Engineering Ltd Road Race near Tur Langton, Leicestershire.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

From Dean Barnett | Saturday 2nd June 2012 | 60kms – 3rd and 4th Category | Promoted by Welland Valley CC

Photo album

A field of 62 riders made their way out of the picturesque village decked out in Union Jacks celebrating the Jubilee Weekend and onto the course to face 13 laps of a rolling 4.6kilometre circuit. As the race’s Union Jack was waved to signal the start the first lap was run at good pace. Three riders, Matt Barrett (Run & Ride Events), Paul Cox (Pedal Power) and Lee Wigginton (Bio Cadenza RT), slipped away from the bunch towards the end of the first lap.

They soon built up a 25 second lead as they turned to climb the kilometre finish straight. Behind in the bunch there was a clipping of wheels that saw the bunch implode and riders taking to the grass verge. James Worley (Bio Cadenza RT) and Chris Limberger (Mercia HBM CC) both unfortunately suffered facial abrasions, they both received excellent first aid from the following paramedic team Gerrard and Maria Brooks. With riders caught up in the melee, the race was blown apart. The commissaire, Rowland Summerlin, took the sporting decision to stop the race on the third lap as the riders approached the finish line. The leading group still had a 25 second advantage.

The race resumed and Barrett took the first prime from Cox as Wigginton took the decision to drop back to the chasing bunch. As the pace of the race increased and the pack hunted down Barrett and Cox, two distinct packs formed. 17 riders made the front group and they all started to pull faces as the strain was starting to tell each time up the finishing straight. Former Junior International Cyclo-cross rider Paul Cox shot out of the pack to take the second prime.

As the race entered the final few laps Jon Norton (Lichfield CRC) made a brave bid for victory. Jon was never out of sight from the chasing group as he took the bell with one final 4.6km lap to be completed. As Jon descended down out of Church Langton his lead was still 10 seconds. The final kilometre is a long stepped drag to finish and Jon tried in vain to find another gear as the group started to reel the Lichfield rider in.

Jon was caught and passed with 700m to go as the sprint was starting to take shape. A good crowd at the finish line looked down the finishing straight to see Joe White hit the front for the first time to take the victory as pre-race favourite Matt Barrett finished 2nd and Steve Thompson (Clay Cross RT) 3rd . Paul Bennett (Bio Cadenza RT) 4th was one rider caught in the earlier crash.

Julian Rathbone was the first Welland Valley CC rider finishing in 11th place but had the consolation of wining the promoting clubs A A Brown Trophy from club mates Tom Sexton 13th and Jonny Unwin 15th .
Only 31 riders completed the distance

Speedy recovery to those riders hurt in the crash. – James has abrasions to the side of his face and a large hole in his knee cap. Chris required stitches to his lip, he has abrasions to his face and a sore shoulder. Both went to their local casualty departments.

The event was extremely well supported by members and friends of Welland Valley Cycling Club. On behalf of the club and competitors, the organiser, Dean Barnett, would like to thank Gerrard & Maria Brooks, British Cycling, NEG, Leicestershire Police and the races sponsor AA Brown Engineering Ltd.

Joe White

A A Brown Engineering RR – Saturday 2nd June 2012.
13 laps of a 4.6km circuit = 60kms
Weather conditions – Grey and overcast

1 Joe White PM
2 Matt Barrett Run & Ride Events
3 Steve Thompson Clay Cross RT
4 Paul Bennett Bio Cadenza RT
5 Andy Parr PM
6 Callum Deakin Mid Devon CC
7 Neil Taylor Coalville Whs
8 Ronald McWilliam VC Lincoln
9 Robert White Birmingham Uni
10 Lee Wigginton Bio Cadenza RT
11 Julian Rathbone Welland Valley CC
12 Hugh Boyle Rockingham Forest Whs
13 Tom Sexton Welland Valley CC
14 James Hedley-Smith Sleaford Whs
15 Jonny Unwin Welland Valley CC
16 Jon Norton Lichfield CRC
17 Paul Cox Pedal Power

Following riders all @ 4min 30sec
18 Zac Clowes Stafford RC
19 Chris Cleaver Concorde CC
20 Martin Osman MJS Racing
21 Edward Wlaker University of Sheffield
22 Nick Horder Welland Valley CC
23 Philip Wilkinson Fenland Clarion
24 John Oldridge Airedale Olympic CC
25 Peter Kucak Rockingham Forest Whs
26 Jonny Lloyd VC Rutland
27 Scott McCann Arbis LLP
28 Joe Drane University of Sheffield
29 Paul Crane Rockingham Forest Whs
30 Steve Welch Welland Valley CC
31 Richard Cleathero Yorkshire Velo
32 Rob Bishop MJS Racing
33 Gregg Niblett Royal Sutton CC
62 Starters


RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Tags: , ,