Report: Duncan Murray Road Races

Colin Parry (Wilier/ and Dexter Gardias (Frome Cycles) managed to break clear in the final 6 miles from a 10 man break that dominated the Duncan Murray Wines Road Race with the win going to Parry.

REPORTNaseby – Promoted by Welland Valley CC – Report – Dean Barnett

Tom Barras (CyclePremier), Ben Stockdale (Team Qoroz), Alistair Kay (Herbalife) and Gardias formed the first break of the day after eight miles. The quartet soon gained a lead of 30 seconds by the end of lap one and with the bunch chasing hard, riders exploded off the front of the group and bridged the gap to the industrious quartet. As the size of the break grew to ten riders, everyone was committed to working but despite that, for the next 20 miles, the break never got more than 1 minute’s advantage.

Image by Heather Barnett. More photos on Flickr

With every rider pulling on the front however, their lead started grow and time checks had the bunch at 2 minutes. With 25 miles to go, seven riders broke free from the bunch but their chase was in vain as the break was tight unit and continued to lead. As the break entered the final lap, Mike Cumming (Twenty 3c Orbea) launched an attack as the break crested the Oxendon Climb. His effort was snuffed out as Ashley Cox (Corley Cycles), led the chase. At this point Parry and Gradias made their race winning move and fought a good battle on Naseby Hill with Parry easing away from Gradias in the last 400m.

Image by Heather Barnett. More photos on Flickr

Elite 1/2/3  Cat – 87miles
1 Colin Parry Wilier/ 3hrs 30mins
2 Dexter Gardias  Forme ImpSport SanLamere @ 10secs
3 Ben Stockdale   Team Qoroz @ 20secs
4 Tom Barras  Cycle Premier Metaltek @ st
5 Jack  Adams  Forme ImpSport SanLamere
6 Ashley Cox  Team Corley Cycles/Cervelo
7 Alistair Kay  Herbalife/Wheelbase
8 Mike Cuming Twenty3c Orbea
9 Ian  Knight Team Corely Cycles/Alpha RC
10 Tim Carter  Team Virgin Active
11  Richard Cartland -  Team Corely Cycles
12  Richard Wood – Team Milton Keynes
13  Ben Luckwell – Wilier/ Ciclismo
14  Mathhew Foston – Langdale Lightweights RT
15  Mike Harrison – Congleton C.C
16  Robert Smail – Cycle Premier Metaltek
17  Martin Ford – Mammoth Lifestyle RT
18  Steve Gumyer – Active/CP cycles RT
19  Richard Bott – Herbalife/Wheelbase
20  Owen Lake – Cambridge CC

Duncan Murray Wines Support race 3rd – 4th Cat Race – 50 miles

David Miller, West Suffolk Wheelers, dominated the first event of the day. David broke away on lap two initially part of 3 rider break. The West Suffolk Wheelers rider was soon on his own as he faced over 25 miles holding the bunch off at 40 to 50 seconds. As Miller crested the climb into Naseby arms aloft the bunch gallop behind was taken by former professional rider Phil Wilkins, Team Jewsons, from Matt Barrett., Lutterworth Cycles. The race was run at good pace in windy conditions.

1st David Miller  West Suffolk Wheelers 2hrs 10mins.
2nd  Phil Wilkins  Team Jewson @ 50
3rd Matt Barrett  Lutterworth Cycles
4th James  Woodier  Leicestershire Road Club
5th Hiroshi Kobayashi  Team MK
6th William Rudguard  Uni of Birmingham CC
7th James Stewart  iCycle
8th Nick Horder Welland Valley CC

Tags: ,