Photos: Dutch Food Valley Classic (UCI 1.1)

The race previously known as Veenendaal-Veenendaal, was won by former World Sprint Champion Theo Bos. Endura Racing’s best rider was Dutchman  Maarten De Jonge in 14th place. Here are some photos from Thomas van Bracht.

Endura Racing’s Ian Wilkinson said after the race that the team missed the break so it was decided by the DS to put David Clarke and Callum Wilkinson on the front with Rabobank to get the break of 14 back which they did. Clarke and Callum Wilkinson however paid for their efforts at the back of the race.

In the bunch kick at the end, Ian Wilkinson says that he felt good and was on the wheel of Alex Blain when it got a bit messy in the argy bargy and he lost the wheel of the Frenchman after some near misses. With the victory gone, Ian says he rolled in upright and ready to fight another day.

[nggallery id=16]

Tip: Click an image and then use your left and right cursor keys <> to scroll through the images. Click an image to close.


The Quickstep team have the following report where they say that amongst the 14 escapees was former Dutch champion Niki Terpstra. The Dutchman and his other companions opened up a gap of almost 4 minutes, but then the sprinters` teams started the pursuit.

The gap dropped quickly then and after 160 of the 202 kilometres the escapees were caught. In the following kilometres, a lot of riders tried their luck, but the peloton wasn’t letting anybody go. The race was going to be decided in a bunch sprint in the streets of Veenendaal where home rider Theo Bos took the win beating his fellow countrymen Wim Stroetinga and Stefan van Dijk.

After a long period without racing, Six day star Iljo Keisse quickly showed his qualities finishing 10th in his comeback race in  the professional cycling peloton.

1. Theo Bos  NED 4h 28m 36s
2. Wim Stroetinga NED     @st
3. Stefan Van Dijk NED @st
4. Yoeri Havik     NED @st
5. Michael Van Staeyen     BEL @st
6. Kenny Dehaes     BEL @st
7. Roy Hegreberg     NOR @st
8. Remco Te Brake     NED @st
9. James Vanlandschoot     BEL @st
10. Iljo Keisse     BEL @st

Endura Racing
14. Maarten De Jonge
20. Alex Blain
23. Ian Wilkinson
29. Evan Oliphant
78. Dave Clarke 78th.
Callum Wilkinson DNF

10th    Iljo Keisse (BEL)    s.t.
16th    Andy Cappelle (BEL)    s.t.
27th    Julien Vermote (BEL)    s.t.
31st    Fréderique Robert (BEL)    s.t.
40th    Kevin Van Impe (BEL)    s.t.
68th    Addy Engels (NED)    +0.18
69th    Niki Terpstra (NED)    s.t.
90th    Jan Tratnik (SLO)    +3.19

Tags: ,