Results/Photos: Darley Moor 2


A lot of pictures from the racing at Darley Moor (Derbyshire) on March 24 where 200 riders battled it out on the motor racing circuit

Very foggy start to the day at Darley Moor for the second in Arthur Gamble’s series of races.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Results now in (scroll down the page)

Larry Hickmott writes ... It’s been a while Darley Moor! The last time I was at Darley Moor was when there was a Peter Fryer Series and I had pretty much a free reign at British Cycling to choose the events I went to. That was a few years or more ago and today (March 24) I visited the venue again to catch up with a legend in the sport, Chris Walker for an interview to come on VeloUK.

One of the country’s top racing cyclists from the 80’s and 90’s, Chris Walker, helps his son Joey with this race number.

While chatting to Chris, another legend was walking freely among the cyclists, Niall Mackenzie from the world of Superbikes and he went off in the sunshine to walk the track he hadn’t raced at for many a year. Those who were racing on the track, albeit slower than Niall would have by some margin, were large in number. The day began with the 3/4 race in thick fog and apparently two weeks earlier well over 100 (140?) raced the event and with the big field came six or so crashes.

The field was probably half that today but still a big group of riders and unfortunately there was a crash again and a rider went away from the circuit with a broken collarbone. The Youth races were especially popular as was the Elite/1/2/3 race where a number of youth riders from Chris Walker’s RST/Trigon Bikes youth team raced and were mixing it good until the distance got too much for them. Hardly surprising when Youth races are so short.

Now that’s a big bunch kick!  Simon Maudsley wins from Richard Lister

The Elite race was certainly full gas, lined out all the time but a break did finally get away with the win going to Jamie Shirlaw. I was impressed with the guys from the RST-Trigon team. When the likes of Shirlaw, Jon Mozeley and Tom Murray go up the road, I’m not surprised but the riders in RST/Trigon were giving it some in the manner of their training buddy Russell Downing and as I was there to see the ‘boss’ Chris Walker, both of us were pleased the riders made such an impact on the race.

I left the circuit with confirmation of how popular this sport is across all age groups and that’s a very positive thing to take away and well done to all the riders there for an entertaining day.

The sprint for the win in the Elite race … tight … Jamie Shirlaw wins from  Tom Murray, Jon Mozley (Cycle Premier-Kovert) and Thomas Stewart  (RST/Trigon bikes)

A win for Chris Walker’s team (Gabriel Cullaigh) in the Youth race made it a good day for the RST/Trigon Bikes squads

The Photo Album


1. Jamie Shirlaw Herbalife-Leisure Lakes
2. Tom Murray Team IG – Sigma Sport
3. Jon Mozley Cycle Premier – Kovert
4. Thomas Stewart RST Racing Team
5. Adam Duggleby Sportscover Altura RT
6. Alistair Rutherford
7. Robert Smail Teamwallis CHH Racing Team
8. Phil Giles RVO Racing
9. Tom Last Team IG – Sigma Sport
10. Matthew Williams Team Hope Factory Racing
11. Edward Pickard Derby Mercury RC
12. Richard Bott Herbalife-Leisure Lakes
13. Blake Cowley
14. John Crellin Teamwallis CHH Racing Team
15. Peter Wakelin Team Velo Club Nottingham

1. Simon Maudsley RVO Racing
2. Richard Lister
3. Chris Southworth Leigh Premier RC
4. Andrew Phiri Bike Box Alan/Whiston Velo
5. Joe Evans Velocity Race Team
6. Jack Mills Halesowen A & CC
7. Adrian Adgar
8. Thomas Sutton We Love Mountains Racing Team
9. Lee Allen RVO Racing
10. Jamie Whittaker Lichfield City CC

1. Gabriel Cullaigh RST Racing Team
2. Joey Walker RST Racing Team
3. Karl Baillie Witham Wheelers Cycling Club

1. Hannah Blount Derby Mercury RC
2. Abby Parkinson RST Racing Team
3. Emma Price Derby Mercury RC

1. Joshua Waters Mercia HBM Cycling Club
2. Oliver Peckover Nottingham Clarion CC
3. Alex Littlewood RVO Racing

1. Jessica Willett Sherwood Pines Cycles – The Co-Operative Motor Group
2. Rosie Wildman Nottingham Clarion CC
3. Isabelle Boon Belper BC

1. Jack Ford Wakefield Junior Triathlon Club
2. Mason Hollyman Kirklees Cycling Academy
3. Toby Barnes Lichfield City CC

1. Felicity Gledhill Planet X
2. Poppy Wildman Nottingham Clarion CC
3. Sarah Marnoch Derby Mercury RC

1. Elliot Waters Mercia HBM Cycling Club
2. Daniel Barnes Lichfield City CC
3. Ben Chilton Derby Mercury RC

1. Libby Smith Matlock CC
2. Amber Scales Derby Mercury RC

1. Louis Swindell Matlock CC
2. Joshua Worley Derby Mercury RC
3. Otto Chilton Derby Mercury RC

Tags: ,