Report/Result: CC Weymouth 10 Time Trial

Jon Wynn (Northover Vets) won the CC Weymouth 10 but the promoting club were the real winners writes Eamonn Deane

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

The West Dorset outfit had put up a £199 prize to anyone beating Matt Illingworth’s course record of 20.17. Illingworth set his record on the P451 Owermoigne-Winfrith course, winning the national championships back in 1999. Wynn clocked 21.08 for a 10 second winning margin over Tom Alliban (Revo Racing).

Matt Burden (Severn RC) was a surprise 3rd. Most agreed it was a pretty good day, although the north westerly breeze made the return leg harder than the trip out. Wynn said “Its the first time I have ridden this course, I think I need to ride it a few more times. I went too hard going out and paid for it coming back.”

Jon Wynn, photo Eamonn Deane

“I want to have another go at the BBAR as it did not go to plan last year. I am diabetic and it’s difficult to control the sugar levels in a 12 but it’s getting better. I am also riding the Etape. I have actually done some structured training this winter.”

Poole-based Adam Topham (High Wycombe) had got within 5 seconds of the course record in the previous weeks club event. Topham opted not to ride the open event, preferring his home clubs Good Friday 10, where he produced a winning 19.38. Topham made it a “weekend double” winning the Oxford City RC 10 on Easter Saturday in 19.39.

More photos from the event

Brought to you by

1 Jon Wynn Northover Vt Rudy Project 21.08
2 Tom Alliban Revo Racing 21.18
3 Matt Burden Severn Rc 21.22
4 Gary Dighton Poole Wheelers 21.23
5 Terry Icke Poole Wheelers 21.25
6 Patrick Dunn Cc Weymouth 21.31
7 Dave Pickering Bournemouth Jubilee Wheelers 21.34
8 Julian Thacker Vc St Raphael 21.57
9 Bryce Riglar Cc Weymouth 22.23
10 Ian Cardy Cc Weymouth 22.40
11 Michael Loader Yeovil Cc 22.44
12 Vincent Hounsome Gillingham & District Wheelers / Wheels Cycles 22.55
13 Leighton Girling Poole Wheelers 22.59
14 Cliff Rowe Bournemouth Jubilee Wheelers 23.09
15 Hugo Baldacchino Yeovil Cc 23.26
16 Philip Evans Bournemouth Jubilee Wheelers 23.31
17 Simon Barfoot Gillingham & District Wheelers / Wheels Cycles 23.42
18 James Chant Gillingham & District Wheelers / Wheels Cycles 24.01
18 John Marriner Bournemouth Jubilee Wheelers 24.01
20 Steven Pink Cc Weymouth 24.04
21 Geoff Perry Milton Keynes-Corley Cycles-Body Limits – Abbeygate 24.05
22 Martin Aldridge Poole Wheelers 24.10
23 Andrew Jones Charlotteville Cc 24.18
24 Gordon Scott Chippenham & District Wheelers 24.26
25 Paul Stockley Wessex Rc 24.42
26 Ian Hennessey Exeter Wheelers 25.05
27 Dave Driver Yeovil Cc 25.07
28 Derek Dowden Charlotteville Cc 25.16
29 William Simmons Bournemouth Jubilee Wheeler 25.26
30 Terry Belbin Poole Wheelers 25.29
31 Ben Davis Cc Weymouth 25.32
32 Alex Rowe Bournemouth Jubilee Wheelers 25.34
33 David Hanbury Sotonia C 25.37
34 Fred Newton Wessex Rc 26.08
35 Christopher Mullett Gillingham & District Wheelers / Wheels Cycles 26.12
36 David Lyons 34 Nomads / Gem Hygeine 26.13
37 John Fuke Cs Dynamo 26.15
38 Greg Parker Cc Weymouth 26.27
39 Andrew Jackson Cc Weymouth 25:33
40 Judith Martin Poole Wheelers 26:31
41 Oliver Carrington Cc Weymouth 32:29



RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Tags: , ,