Report: Bank Holiday Monday at Thruxton

Justin Hoy and Simon Healey winners at the the Platform Lift Company Summer Warm up Circuits 1 at Thruxton on Monday

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report & Photos by Graham Robins

Justin Hoy (Felt/Colbornes) take’s win number four at blustery damp Thruxton circuit.

This race and the one next week are being promoted by local club Andover Wheelers. The race was one hour plus a lap and apart from a couple of attacks the race stayed together sheltered from the wind.

After a couple of laps Rowan Horner (VC St Raphael) rode of the front and started to ease away. Once back in the wind he was pulled back, but on the rise the chicane three riders Rowan, Andy Bryson (Peter Hansford Cycles) and Ian Rees (Willier) started to pull away and soon had a small gap but soon that came to nothing and the bunch reformed again.

Ian was the most active and he tried a couple of times to get away but even he settled back into the bunch. The race came down to a sprint and Justin was first into view with Ian right on his wheel, Justin held on as Ian tried to come around him.

1. Justin Hoy Felt Colbornes
2. Ian Rees Wilier/ Live2ride
3. Martin Smith Primal Europe/RU Training today
4. Toby Eichler Wilier/ Live2ride
5. Tim Elverson Pedal Heaven

The support race for 3rd and 4th cat was won by local rider Simon Healey (Andover Wheelers). The first couple of laps saw Dan Smith (GWR Team) along with a couple of riders from Bristol RC trying to pull away but they were pulled back after one third distance when Simon along with Geoffrey Lulham (Bikelab),David Hutchinson VC St Raphael)and Dan got a small gap and pulled away.

Dan soon slipped back after all his efforts in the early part of the race which now left the three.
The leaders soon built up a good lead and at the bell there was nothing between them. Simon won the sprint ahead of Geoffrey with David a little way behind. There was a sprint for fourth which was won by Richard Williamson (Gannet CC) just ahead of Paul Merryweather (Bristol RC).


1. Simon Healey Andover Wheelers
2. Geoffrey Lulham Bikelab
3. David Hutchinson VC St Raphael
4. Richard Williamson Gannet CC
5. Paul Merryweather Bristol RC

Some photos from Graham


RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Tags: , , ,