Edvald Boasson Hagen wins Stage 4 in Tour of Norway

Edvald Boasson Hagen took a superb hometown victory on stage four at the Tour of Norway to move into the race lead.  Russell Downing 9th on stage.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Stage 4 – Hamar to Lillehammer, 195km

Edvald Boasson Hagen took a superb hometown victory on stage four at the Tour of Norway to move into the race lead. The Norwegian kept his cool on the uphill drag to the line to fend off Simon Clarke (Orica-GreenEDGE) in a two-up sprint after 195 kilometres which saw the race blown to pieces.

The duo attacked on the final lap around Lillehammer, edging clear of an elite selection which was led home six seconds later by team-mate Lars-Petter Nordhaug in third. Team Sky worked hard during the day to peg back the early break which included Endura Racing’s Zak Dempster, splitting the peloton in half at one point before the race detonated on the run for home.

The result means that heading into the final stage, in addition to holding both the points and young rider jerseys, Boasson Hagen has a lead of fourteen seconds over Clarke with Nordhaug eight seconds further back in third place.

Edvald Boasson Hagen said afterwards “It’s really a dream come true. It was amazing to race today with everyone cheering for me along the whole stage. The team did a great job to control things during the day and it was great to sit behind them and see them doing that great job. Without them it would have been impossible. Lars-Petter also helped control things on the last climb when the attacks started. It was a big advantage for me to know all the descents and the corners and with the people cheering and my name all over the roads it made it even more special.”

“It’s going to be a tough day tomorrow but the team is so strong so I think we can do a good job and try to take three jerseys. We’ll cross our fingers.”

Russell Downing meanwhile who was 9th, said afterwards, “Brutal stage in Glava Tour Norway ..just coudn’t hold leaders on last climb … chased all way to finish with Paul Voss ..9th for me. Yet again iced rain


1 Edvald Boasson Hagen Sky Procycling 04:47:46
2 Simon Clarke Orica – GreenEDGE @ same time
3 Lars Petter Nordhaug Sky Procycling 00:06
4 Pieter Serry Topsport Vlaanderen – Mercator 00:10
5 Sander Armee Topsport Vlaanderen – Mercator @ same time
6 Marco Marzano Lampre – ISD @ same time
7 Simone Stortoni Lampre – ISD @ same time
8 Sergey Firsanov Team Rusvelo @ same time
9 Russell Downing Endura Racing 01:32
10 Aitor Galdos Alonso Caja Rural @ same time

18 René Mandri Endura Racing @ same time
32 Iker Camano Ortuzar Endura Racing @ 1.40
34 Paul Voss Endura Racing @ same time
42 Alexander Wetterhal Endura Racing @ @2.48
44 Stuart O’ Grady Orica – GreenEDGE @ same time
45 Nick Nuyens Team Saxo Bank @ same time
52 David Millar Garmin – Barracuda 03:06
53 Rob Partridge Endura Racing 05:51
60 Ben Swift Sky Procycling @ 12.53
64 Alexandre Blain Endura Racing 15:23
73 Alessandro Petacchi Lampre – ISD @ same time
88 Zakkari Dempster Endura Racing @ same time
91  Luke Rowe Sky Procycling

1. Edvald Boasson Hagen (Team Sky) 17h 05′ 04”
2. Simon Clarke (Orica-GreenEDGE) +14″
3. Lars-Petter Nordhaug (Team Sky) +22″


RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes