Result: Men’s 50 Championship

Michael Hutchinson adds another title to his collection on Cornwall as he beats Matt Bottrill for the 50 championship

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Sunday morning saw the finest UK time trialists taking part in the men’s National 50 championship. Riders travelled to Cornwall to the small village of Roach – near Bodmin and on a damp morning, riders would complete 3.5 laps of a out and back circuit, to give a total distance of 50 miles.

The race was expected to be between Matt Bottrill who won a Silver medal in the 10 mile championship and a Bronze medal in the National 25 and the winners of both those races, newly crowned Irish National Champion, Micheal Hutchinson.

First to leave the start was Bottrill, powering from the starting area with full concentration, Bottrill was soon up to speed and pushing the Giant Trinity SL with Enve 8.9 wheels through the air, with Smart aero clothing and Bont Krono aero shoes, the power and speed produced was looking good. Riding to a plan set by his coach Bob Tobin from, Bottrill hit the first check point in a time of 51.53, to go fastest encouraged by the eagerly watching spectators.

Bottrill was flying but then came the bad news for Bottrill’s camp that Hutchinson had gone through the first time check 40 seconds up. With the remaining miles, Bottrill was on self destruct mode. Peter Lavine, who had given up his weekend to take Matt to the race, was full of encouragement and knew the Drag2zero rider had to ride beyond his comfort zone to overhall Hutch.

Sprinting round the final corner, Bottrill stopped the clock in a time of 1.42.03 to take the lead and smash the course record by over two minutes! All he had to do now was wait for the express train of Hutch. It was not long before the thought of gold turned to silver wear with Michael Hutchinson stopping the clock with an amazing 1.40.35.

Whilst Bottrill did not win the individual award, pulled off the team award with Jeff Jones 1.44.23 (3rd) and Scott Povey 1.48.26 (7th)

Asked about his ride, Bottrill replied “I gave it everything and I did my best 50 power ever! When you have tried that hard and know you could have done no more, all you can say is what a great ride by Michael. The level of support I’ve received from friends, family and sponsors, has just been amazing this year. I’ve come on so much, and I’m smashing every personal best I’ve ever done. But Michael has taken it to another level and has been beating some of the best riders in the world!”

With the 50 mile championship now done, the team will concentrate on the team time trial, before Bottrill battles the National 100 champs. Now that should be a report to read!


1 Michael Hutchinson In-Gear Quickvit Trainsharp RT 01:40:35
2 Matthew Bottrill 01:42:03
3 Jeff Jones 01:44:24
4 Blake Pond North Devon Whs 01:46:26
5 Jerone Walters Velo Club St Raphael 01:47:18
6 Adam Topham High Wycombe CC 01:47:58
7 Scott Povey 01:48:26
8 Kevin Tye DataTeamAllstars 01:48:45
9 James Gilfillan Contre La Montre 01:48:54
10 Conall Yates In-Gear Quickvit Trainsharp RT 01:49:46
11 Jon Wynn Northover VT 01:50:18
12 Matt Sinclair Lutterworth Cycle Centre Racing Team 01:51:17
13 Nik English AW 01:51:51
14 Sebastian Ader …a3crg 01:52:06
15 Ben Anstie Cadence RT 01:52:19
16 Dan Sadler RT 316 01:53:32
17 Ken Buckley Reading CC 01:54:28
18 David Watson Coventry RC 01:54:33
19 Graham Stirzaker …a3crg 01:55:10
20 Gary Fouracres St Austell Whs CC 01:55:47
21 Guy de Selincourt Camel Valley C & TC 01:55:59
22 David Rouse North Devon Whs 01:56:11
23 Dean Robson Somerset RC 01:56:36
24 Steve Batsford 01:57:16
25 Nik Tyron Royal Navy & Royal Marines CA 01:57:33
26 Mathew Rowley Oxonian CC 01:58:08
27 Ian Houvenaghel One and All Cycling 01:58:13
28 Tony Chapman Dream Cycling 01:58:48
29 Lee Sanderson Royal Navy & Royal Marines CA 01:59:20
30 Mark Shepherd 02:00:27
31 Steve Kirby Plymouth Corinthian CC 02:01:23
32 Mark Sanders Mid Devon CC 02:01:42
33 Rob Barrow Exeter Whs CC 02:01:48
34 Chris Cook Alltrax 02:03:40
35 Tom Cox Northover VT 02:03:45
36 Rob Sherrin …a3crg 02:03:59
37 Julian Harper Exe Velo CC 02:04:15
38 Tony Farnell One and All Cycling 02:04:19
39 Barry Moss Royal Navy & Royal Marines CA 02:04:22
40 Ian Hounsell Mendip Cycling Club 02:04:29
41 Ian Deakin Mid Devon CC 02:04:59
42 Chris Vellacott Royal Navy & Royal Marines CA 02:05:14
43 Peter Maker St Austell Whs CC 02:05:25
44 Jon Wilkinson-Lockyer Team Tor 2000 02:05:32
45 Chris Scawn Plymouth Corinthian CC 02:06:25
46 Adrian Hennesey One and All Cycling 02:07:09
47 Darren Penn Camel Valley C & TC 02:07:22
48 Ian Crocker Camel Valley C & TC 02:08:30
49 Neil McCoy Revo Racing 02:08:38
50 Peter Miners Camel Valley C & TC 02:08:38
51 Paul Chesterfield Camel Valley C & TC 02:10:30
52 Bob Richards Royal Navy & Royal Marines CA 02:13:49
53 Dan Young Alltrax 02:16:36
54 Dean Ward 1st Chard Whs 02:18:13
55 Alan Chapman Camel Valley C & TC 02:31:52


RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Tags: , ,