Report: Wickham Lights Up Middlesbrough

Andrew Johnston reports on the first race to be held at Middlesbrough’s new cycle circuit at Prissick Cycle Park (TS4 3SA)

North East Spring Evening Criterium Series 1

The first ever competitive race at Middlesbrough’s new cycle circuit, saw 40 plus riders taking part in 4th cat racing and in an all inclusive handicap race where some local class turned out to test the newly laid tarmac.

Richard Meadows (Pendragon Le Col) and Harry Wickham, in a compact scratch group, had to unlap themselves over the twisty technical circuit lapping four seconds faster in the early stages. The scratch group of five riders worked well together while the larger group of 3rd and 4th cat riders, did not show the same levels of organisation.

After half an hour, spectators could feel the catch was coming before the chasing group appeared to back off once they had the front group in their sights. The Scratch group made the catch however and used the next few laps to recover.

Over the next 20 minutes, there were numerous attacks off the front, and the pace of the race  with all this aggression saw the entire group split.  Nothing of the breaks for freedom though stuck and heading into the final turn, the bunch sprint was on with Wickham taking the win by half a wheel.

1  Harry Wickham,
2  Richard Meadows, Pendragon le Col
3 Alex Bottomley, Fiesten Tempo
4 Simon Davidson,
5 John Brown, ActivCycles-Fentiman RT
6 William Brown, Fiesten Tempo
7 Paul Watson, ActivCycles-Fentiman RT
8 Taylor Cardus, Velo 29
9 Shaun Nicholson, Colombia CC
10 Darren Brown, ActivCycles-Fentiman RT

Support Race
In the support race, Stuart Watson (Columbia CC) looked stronger than the rest of the field and so it proved. When the race split, a group of ten riders broke away from the rest of the field. Then, with five laps to go, Darren Binks made a move and gapped Watson, opening up a decent gap in the process.  The move however didn’t stick and Watson caught Binks to ride the final lap alone to complete the first ever competitive race at the circuit.

1 Stuart Watson, Colombia CC
2 Chris Ranson, Infinity Cycles
3 Unknown rider (Tyneside Vagabonds)
4 Darren Brown, ActivCycles-Fentiman RT
5 Darren Binks, Hambleton Road Club
6 Stuart Neilson, unattached
7 Mike Rennison, Cleveland Wheelers
8 Gary Worton, Stockton Wheelers
9 Adam Brooks, Hartlepool CC
10 Iain Turnbull, Ferryhill Wheelers

The event was the first in a series of 6, next weeks racing starts at 7.00pm with 4th cats and Go Race taster open to all senior riders followed by all category handicap race.  For more details and links to entry go to

Venue – Middlesbrough Cycle Circuit, Prissick Sports Hub, Marton Road, Middlesbrough, TS4 3SA.

More pics…

Tags: ,