Report: Brooks Cycles Track League

The Brooks Cycles Track League took place on Thursday 12th July with a full programme taking place much to the delight of the riders and officials as the forecasted rain never amounted to anything.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Despite the conditions there was a good turnout of riders with the A class group particularly strong. Andy Leigh ( Velocity RT) impressed with win in the opening 10 lap scratch race and then putting in a super fast last lap in the 10 mile scratch to make it two wins on the night.

Other A Class wins went to Paul Whatmough ( Shepherd Cycles) in the 12 lap points and league leader Ryan Whatmough ( Shepherd Cycles) in the devil.

The sprint group was slightly down on numbers most due to a number of regulars being on holiday however league leader Sean Mayer ( Swinnerton Cycles) won the opening 2 up TT with Thomas Rotherham ( Sportcity Velo) and then went on to win the sprint and one lap dash.

The B Class events saw Daryl Wilkinson ( Sportcity Velo) make his debut at the track and he impressed with wins in the 8 lap scratch, 8 lap points and also being the first B rider over the line in the 10 mile scratch. Teammate Keiran Senior won the Devil to complete a clean sweep for the club.

In the Youth events league leader Sallie Birchall was missing due to sustaining an ankle injury off the bike and so watched the event from the stands. Matt Duncalf ( Lyme RC) had a great night as he won the opening block handicap and then in the 5 lap handicap scratch. Joe Swinnerton ( Lyme RC) won the devil.

The Freewheelers league saw 30 riders compete again with rain threatening throughout the 13 race programme however all riders put in some great rides with some very close finishes. After the nights racing the top points scorers were as follows;

Group 1 Alex Coates Lyme RC 9 points
Group 2 Chloe Tennant 8 points
Group 3 Jessica Hughes 7 points
Christian Bartram 7 points

Freewheelers Results

Group 1
Race 1
1st James Brayford Lyme RC
2nd Harvey Myatt Lyme RC
3rd Alex Coates

Race 2
1st Harvey Myatt
2nd Alex Coates
3rd Ambrose Morris

Race 3
1st Sam Hall Lyme RC
2nd Alex Coates
3rd James Brayford

Race 4
1st Alex Coates
2nd Sam Hall
3rd James Brayford


Group 2
Race 1
1st Aaron Mansell Lyme RC
2nd Joe Boulton
3rd Dylan Leese

Race 2
1st Natasha Sandbach
2nd Thomas Hughes
3rd Chloe Tennant

Race 3
1st Chloe Tennant
2nd Thomas Hughes
3rd Sebastian Booth

Race 4
1st Chloe Tennant
2nd Jack Scott Lyme RC
3rd Natasha Sandbach

Race 5
1st Dylan Lees
2nd Harry Brayford Lyme RC
3rd Thomas Hughes


Group 3
Race 1
1st Rebecca Newman Lyme RC
2nd Jessica Hughes
3rd Izaak Curtis

Race 2
1st Christian Bartram
2nd Olly Davis
3rd Jessica Hughes

Race 3
1st Christian Hughes
2nd Olly Davis
3rd Jessica Hughes

Race 4
1st Cameron O’Neil Lyme RC
2nd Jessica Hughes
3rd Rebecca Newman

Main League
Youth Block Handicap
1st James Duncalf Lyme RC
2nd Aleshia Mellor Eastlands Velo
3rd Megan Williams Lyme RC

A Class Endurance 10 Lap Scratch
1st Andy Leigh Velocity RT
2nd Joe Evans Velocity RT
3rd Ryan Whatmough Shepherd Cycles

Sprinters 2 Up TT
1st Thomas Rotherham Sportcity Velo
Sean Mayer Swinnerton Cycles
2nd Jack Payne Sportcity Velo
Ryan Whatmough
3rd Barney Swinnerton Swinnerton Cycles
Joel Partington Lyme RC

B Scratch
1st Daryl Wilkinson Sportcity Velo
2nd Keiran Senior Sportcity Velo
3rd Martin Usher Time RT

Youth Devil
1st Joe Swinnerton Lyme RC
2nd Liam Zwetschnikow Lyme RC
3rd James Brayford Lyme RC

A Class Endurance Points
1st Paul Whatmough Shepherd Cycles
2nd Alex Braybrooke Velocity RT
3rd Joe Evans Velocity RT

A Class Sprinters 1 lap dash
1st Sean Mayer
2nd Barney Swinnerton
3rd Jack Payne

B Class Devil
1st Keiran Senior
2nd Sam Birchall Velocity RT
3rd Conner Fearon Weaver Valley

Youth Team Sprint
1st Aleshia Mellor Eastlands Velo
James Duncalf
Ashleigh Williams
Joe Swinnerton

A Class Endurance Devil
1st Ryan Whatmough
2nd Joe Evans
3rd Paul Whatmough

A Class Sprint Final
1st Sean Mayer
2nd Barney Swinnerton
3rd Joel Partington


B Class Points
1st Daryl Wilkinson
2nd Sam Birchall
3rd Steve Hall Lyme RC

Youth Scratch
1st James Duncalf
2nd Megan Williams Lyme RC
3rd Liam Zwetschnikow

10 Mile Scratch
1st Andy Leigh
2nd Ryan Whatmough
3rd Joe Evans

1st B Daryl Wilkinson
2nd Becky Gray Lyme RC
3rd Steve Hall


RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,