Results: Nottingham E-on Cycle Live Circuit Races

Success for Raleigh-GAC as Canadian Jamie Sparling wins the Elite race and with teammate Daniel Holloway in 3rd. Matt Higgins of Node4 was 2nd.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

First E.ON Cycle Live weekend hailed a success

Yesterday saw almost 4000 roll up on their bicycles to take part in the 31st E.ON Great Notts Bike Ride, the finale event of E.ON Cycle Live Nottingham; a three day event which began on Friday (13 July) on Nottingham’s Victoria Embankment. The 2012 event featured a 19 mile community ride but with a brand new route, which saw 850 people take part on the day. 1800 people took part in the 48 mile challenge ride which took the place of last year’s 58 mile route and the 72 mile ride, which has been replaced with a 100 mile sportive saw 700 people turn out on the day.

Chris Simon, Director of Beeston based Perfect Motion, who organise E.ON Cycle Live said: “The people of Nottingham and Nottinghamshire came out in force on their bikes at the weekend to form part of what has been a fantastic event. It was superb to see people from all walks of life getting involved and taking to the City and County’s roads. Some riders were a little apprehensive about tackling new rides this year but initial feedback has proved very positive, with riders commenting that the new routes were excellent with some great pit stops along the way”.

The Esendex Corporate Challenge, which saw teams cycling the routes together, also proved very popular with Nottingham and Nottinghamshire’s business community. Adam Bird, Chief Technical Officer took part with a corporate team from Esendex, spread between the 48 and 100 mile rides. He said: It was a thoroughly enjoyable Great Notts Bike Ride and the routes were a big improvement on previous years”.

The day also saw the addition of the brand new E.ON Nottingham City Ride, a three mile loop around the Victoria Embankment, aimed at families and those who aren’t so confident at riding. 200 people from the City and County turned out to take part. Chris added: “2012 is the first year of the E.ON Nottingham City Ride and as an event we’re trying to establish in Nottingham, we were really pleased with the turn out today. We hope to build on the success of this year’s ride over the next few years and encourage even more people from the City and County to take part.

Success for Raleigh at home

The weekend celebration of cycling kicked off on Friday (13 July) with the E.ON Nottingham Grand Prix; a series of elite circuit races and fun racing on a one mile, closed track. Team Raleigh dominated the evening with elite rider Jamie Sparling taking the main prize in the event’s national feature race, the Nottingham Grand Prix, while the team also finished top in the Nottingham Building Society Corporate Relay Race.

Canadian Team Raleigh rider, Jamie Sparling commented: “The event on Friday was great. It was very professionally organised and the course was up there with the best of them. It felt great to win the race, I’m normally a support rider but it’s good to put your hands in the air for a victory every once in a while to keep the motivation going. I’ll definitely be back next year”.


1 James Sparling Team Raleigh
2 Matthew Higgins Node 4 Giordana
3 Daniel Holloway Team Raleigh – GAC
4 Tim Allen Clay Cross Road Team
5 Matthew Fostun Langdale Lightweights Racing Team
6 George Moore Cyclepremier Racing Team
7 James Ratcliffe Fred Williams Cycles
8 Richard Hepworth Cycle Premier – Kovert
9 Ben Ives We Love Mountains Racing Team
10 Lee Tunnicliffe Clay Cross Road Team
11 Jamie Scott Spin-Rotor Racing Team
12 Dave Starkey Fred Williams Cycles
13 Blake Cowley Clay Cross Road Team
14 Calmejane Pipiam Occitane Cycpisme Formotion
15 Peter Cocker Witham Wheelers
16 Kieran French Node 4 Giordana
17 Dean Parkes Team Ioptix.Co.Uk
18 Paul Wain Team Jewson/Thule/Kinesis/CNP/MI Racing
19 Brennan Townshend Team Raleigh – GAC
20 George Thompson Sleaford Whls CC/Chandlers Mitsubishi/Solo
21 Karl Freeman Team Wheelguru

Category 3/4
1 Dominic Smith Liverpool Mercury (Dolan) CC
2 Andrew Parr Revolution Fitness
3 Jonny Noton Clay Cross Road Team
4 Darren Perry Bio Cadenza RT
5 Paul Cox Team Pedal Power
6 Ian Russell Newark Castle CC
7 Alan Dawson Rutland CC
8 Peter Nicholls Team Pedal Power
9 Paul Searson Nottingham Clarion CC
10 Mark Willett Sherwood Pines Cycles – The Co-Operative Motor Group
11 Philip Wilkins Team Jewson/Thule/Kinesis/CNP/MI Racing
12 Adrian Adgar PM
13 Paul Conneely Witham Wheelers Cycling Club
14 Carl Dyke Matlock CC
15 Jonathan Dexter Bolsover And District CC
16 Mike Blair Matlock CC
17 Lee Ferreday Clay Cross Road Team
18 Darren Howitt 0
19 Freddy Griffiths Nottingham Clarion CC
20 James Hedley-Smith Sleaford Whls CC/Chandlers Mitsubishi/Solo Club
21 Kevin Fearnshaw TFN Triathlon Club
22 Tom Bailey Rutland CC
23 Matthew Coates VC St Raphael
24 Luke Bonnett RAF CC
25 Gareth Ferguson Matlock CC
26 James Shipley Bolsover And District CC
27 Andrew Willett Sherwood Pines Cycles – The Co-Operative Motor Group
28 Jonathan Hall Private Menber
29 Phil Hunt Mapperley CC
30 Adam Wood Unattached
31 Mervyn Dudley Sherwood Pines Cycles – The Co-Operative Motor Group
32 Timothy Berry TS Bikes.Co.Uk
33 David Hobday 0
34 Samuele Marini Www.Samcycling.Com
35 Jason Clark VC Lincoln
36 Steve Train Nottingham Clarion CC
37 Owen Core Lichfield City CC
38 Karl Gregg 0
39 Jason Felose Team Ioptix.Co.Uk
40 Simon Whitham Tsbikes.Co.Uk
41 John Hughes Nottingham Clarion CC
42 David Tortoishell Army Cycling Union
43 Stuart Kershaw Derbyshire Police Sports Club
44 Anthony Douglas Beeston Cycling Club
45 Simon Keens West Bridgford CC

Folding Bike
1 Shawn Ryan Poppyandpint Velo
2 Ben Hillsdon Raleigh Factory Racing
3 Richard Naish
4 Julian Bentley
5 Andrew Martin
6 Verity Butler TFN Triathlon Club
7 Helen Cooper Team Tassel
8 Amarjeet Panesar
9 Susan Young
10 Jillian Dyer Team Tassel
11 Willliam Gascoyne Matlock C.C.
12 Fran Rhoden
13 John Kitchener



RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,