Report: Brooks Cycles Track League

With the holiday season well under way there was a good turnout of riders at the latest round of the Brooks Cycles Track League at the Lyme Valley Velodrome, Newcastle, Staffs on Thursday 16th August.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

The clouds gathered towards the end of the nights racing with light rain falling however with the warm conditions it did not stop the racing. The Sprinters league races were closely contested with a blanket finish in the Neil Potter 500m Handicap with long marker Sophie Capewell (Lichfield CCC) holding on to take the win from Phil Houlton (Brooks Cycles) and Louis Preston (Goldtec). The Keiren League event saw legaue leader Sean Mayer ( Swinnerton Cycles) take the front with 400m to go and then move away from the other riders with 200m to go to win from Phil Houlton and Matthew Haynes ( City of Edinburgh RC).

In the A Class Endurance League Ryan Whatmough was abscent after injuring his hand in a bike accident. Last years overall leader Robert Lambton ( Brooks Cycles) top scored in winning the opening 8 lap scratch and the devil. Will Thomas ( Velocity RT) took the course de primes with some fine attacking racing with Adrian Adgar ( Balanced Performance) winning a thilling 10 mile scartch as he passed Andy Leigh in the last 50m.

The B Class events had a good turnout again with last years overall winning Alex Webb ( Lyme RC) finding good form again as he won the 10 mile scartch, the devil and was a member of the winning team sprint team. The other B Class event, the 8 lap scratch, was won by George Edwards ( Lyme RC).

The youth events saw a low turnout due to the holiday season however the quality of the racing was still high. Liam Zwetschnikow ( Lyme RC) won the 6 lap scratch and with James Duncalf ( Lyme RC) won the double harness pursuit. James took the opening 2 1/2 lap block handicap and Joe Swinnerton ( Lyme RC ) and Bradley Hill ( Lyme RC) won the team sprint.

In the Freewheelers League 28 riders competed with 5 new riders taking the registered number to 71 for the season. The top scorers in each group were as follows

Group 1 Harvey Myatt Newcastle Tri Club 7 points

Group 2 Holly Mulroy Congleton CC 5 points
Natasha Sandbach

Group 3 Cameron O’Neil Lyme RC 8 points


Group 1
Race 1
1st Harvey Myatt Newcastle Tri Club
2nd Louis Evans
3rd Alex Coates Lyme RC

Race 2

1st Bradley Heath
2nd Ambrose Morris Lyme RC
3rd James Adamson

Race 3
1st Harvey Myatt
2nd Ambrose Morris
3rd Bradley Heath

Race 4
1st Andrew Williams
2nd James Adamson
3rd Ambrose Morris

Group 2

Race 1
1st Farley Barber
2nd Holly Mulroy Congleton CC
3rd Aaron Mansell Lyme RC

Race 2
1st Imogen Dimbleby
2nd Holly Mulroy
3rd Mark Adamson

Race 3
1st Harry Horn
2nd Sophie Bassett Lyme RC
3rd Natasha Sandbach

Race 4
1st Natasha Sandbach
2nd Lucca Annese
3rd Sophie Bassett

Group 3
Race 1
1st Joshua Heath
2nd Ellie Dimbleby
3rd Isabelle Barber

Race 2
1st Gracie Walker
2nd Anna Barber
3rd Cameron O’Neil Lyme RC

Race 3
1st Cameron O’Neil
2nd Joshua Heath
3rd Nicholas Sandbach

Race 4
1st Cameron O’Neil Lyme RC
2nd Nicholas Sandbach
3rd Sam Williams

Main League

Youth Block Handicap
1st James Duncalf Lyme RC
2nd Joe Swinnerton Lyme RC
3rd Liam Zwetschnikow Lyme RC

Neil Potter Handicap 500m League
1st Sophie Capewell Lichfield CCC
2nd Phil Houlton Brooks Cycles
3rd Louis Preston Gold Tec
4th Joel Partington Sportcity Velo
5th Matt Haynes City of Edinburgh RC
6th Sean Mayer Swinnerton Cycles

A Class Endurance 8 lap Scratch
1st Robert Lambton Brooks Cycles
2nd Adrain Adgar Balanced Performance
3rd Joe Evans Velocity RT

B Class 8 lap Scratch
1st George Edwards Lyme RC
2nd Robert Standring V Sprint Racing
3rd Neil Clarke VC Nottingham

Youth Double Harness Pursuit
1st Liam Zwetschnikow
James Duncalf

A Sprinters team sprint
1st Sean Mayer
Joel Partington
Dave Smith Stafford RC

A Class Endurance Course de Primes
1st Will Thomas Velocity RT
2nd Bernard Swinnerton Lyme RC
3rd Andy Leigh Velocity RT

B Class devil
1st Alex Webb Lyme RC
2nd George Edwards
3rd Robert Standring

Youth Team sprint
1st Bradley Hill Lyme RC
Joe Swinnerton

A Class endurance devil
1st Robert Lambton
2nd Alex Simmons Swinnerton Cycles
3rd Will Thomas

B Class Team sprint
1st Mick Stubbs Newcastle RC 2001
Emily Capewell Lichfield CCC
Matt Duncalf Crewe Clarion
Robert Standring
Ben Goddard Newport CC
Alex Webb

A Class sprinters Keiren League Final
1st Sean Mayer
2nd Phil Houlton
3rd Matt Haynes
4th Sassan Emadi Tunstall Wheelers
5th Dave Smith
6th Joel Partington

Youth Scratch
1st Liam Zwetschnikow
2nd Joe Swinnerton
3rd James Duncalf

10 Mile Scratch
1st Adrain Adgar
2nd Andy Leigh
3rd Joe Evans

B Class
1st Alex Webb
2nd George Edwards
3rd Ben Goddard



RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,