Report: GWR Floodlit Winter Cyclo-Cross Round 1

The first round of the GWR team Flood lit Winter cyclo cross series got underway on the 20th September with the support of new series partner

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

The course, which has been redesigned this year was dry and fast after a week of clear skys. With 26 riders pre entering on line and a total of 55 rider signing on the night the first round had a large field ready to start the battle for the series prize, a free training camp with Cycling Holidays Spain.

Last years series winner, Paul Lloyd, was in attendance at the first round and was looking to start where he left of last year with the win. He was pushed hard during the race with a 5 man lead group forming in the first lap including Ian Legg, Weston league round 1 winner, Lewis King, National Vets MTB champion, Scott Chappel and Jason Painton.

Lewis King took control of the race on lap two and never looked back as he opened up a gap of over 3mins to take the round 1 win, Paul Lloyd came in for 2nd place on the night with Scott Chappel in 3rd. There was not a prize presentation after the race as all the evening rounds prizes shall be presented during one prize presentation on the 14th October 2012.

So if you place in the top three or are the 1st placed Women Veteran or Junior rider in the 1st round make sure you come along on the 14th October to claim your prize!

Full Result
1 Lewis king
2 Paul Lloyd
3 Scott Chappell
4 Jason Painton
5 Dan Smith
6 Peter Kench
7 Adam Studholme
8 Dave Wadsworth
9 Tom Holden
10 Nick Noble
11 Steven Dance
12 Andy Webb
13 Peter Hutchinson
14 Tony Davis
15 Andy Roberts
16 Steve Brown
17 arron Taylor
18 Christopher Rothwell
19 Andy Gardender
20 Richard Lewis
21 Stuart Thompson
22 Andy Smith
23 Stephen Longman
24 Adam Beddall
25 Simon Edwards-Parton
26 Claire Smith
27 Robert Dentry
28 Peter Tesar
29 Ruby Baker
30 Tim Jones
31 David Scott
32 Matthew Walsh
33 Charles Brown
34 Neil Horner
35 Joe Walsh
36 Simon Hudson
37 Darren Chappell
38 Fraser MacDonald
39 Tom Sewell
40 Corinne Clark
41 Chris Tatton
42 Paul Loosemore
43 Paul Shaftoe
44 Albert Baker
45 Steve Avery
46 Paul Sewell
47 Anthony Lake
48 Richard Bennett

Dates for the next rounds are as follows for 2012
Rnd 2 27th September Supermarine Rugby Club
Rnd 3 04th October Supermarine Rugby Club
Rnd 4 11th October Supermarine Rugby Club
Rnd 5 14th October Supermarine Rugby Club

All evening races start at 7:30pm for S/J/V/W and are £12.00 either online or on the day. Pre entry is online so if your planning to ride the events then enter today to avoid disappointment.


RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,