Report/Photos: Ely & District’s Hardriders


Junior Joel Lewis won the Ely & District’s Hardriders event on Sunday 10th with a time of 59.01

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Fergus Muir reports Kettering eighteen year-old Joel Lewis (Abbis-Colbert Cycles) took on the all the Fenland elements could throw at him and won the Ely & District Hardriders in 59.01 for the 25.2 miles, with St Neots CC’s Ian Turner (59:48) the only other rider inside the hour.

P1080847 P1080880

Conditions for this event on circuit across the black fens and the Isle of Ely fully justified the Hardriders tag. Best Veteran on Standard Chris Nudds (CC Breckland) described them: “The usual muddy back roads, subsidence, broken, rutted and potholed surfaces, huge patches of diesel, and a flood to contend with……. and on this occasion add rain, sleet and blustery winds which not only made handling difficult but also reduced the temperature of +2ºC to -1 with the chill factor”

The 64 year-old Nudds returned 1:05:16 for a plus of 5:40. Next best on standard was Keith Moseley (Stourbridge CC) whose 1:03:17 beat the standard for his 49 years by +4:28. Probably the hardest section was the final four miles into the wind across the former Downham Common with astonishing outline of Ely Cathedral looming over the grey fens ahead.

The event attracted a great cross-section of the cycling world. Club riders rubbed shoulders with the likes of Chris Hopkinson (Army CU, 1:05:04) from North Yorkshire, riding one of his last UK time trials before tackling (solo) the Race Across America, Charles Pitt-Ford who took third place in 1:00:30, a novice time-trialist but a serious Cambridge University oarsman and Elanor Cadzow, (Welwyn Wheelers) top lady in 1:16:11. Scratch man Sam Barker, was one of a number who punctured.



1 Joel Lewis Arbis-Colbert Cycles Race Team 00:59:01
2 Ian Turner St Neots C.C. 00:59:48
3 Charles Pitt Ford Cambridge University C.C. 01:00:30
4 Kristian Woolf Prestige Velo Club 01:00:56
5 Piran Tedbury Cambridge University C.C. 01:01:23
6 Scott Cousins St Ives C.C. 01:01:55
7 Karl Moseley Stourbridge Velo 01:03:17 +4:28
8 Chris Hopkinson Army Cycling Union 01:05:04 +1:57
9 Luke Hattersley St Ives C.C. 01:05:15
10 Chris Nudds C.C. Breckland 01:05:16 +5:40
11 Nick Jackson Cambridge C.C. 01:05:25 +1:48
12 Thomas Rae Kingston Wheelers 01:05:36
13 Danny Watkins Anglia Velo 01:06:25
14 Chris Ritchie St Neots C.C. 01:06:42
15 James Harness Crewe Clarion Wheelers 01:07:38
16 Adrian Woolf Kings Cliffe Flyers 01:11:23 -3:27
17 Geoff Brewster Ely & District C.C. 01:12:23 -3:43
18 Mark Robertson St Ives C.C. 01:13:37 -6:36
19 Grahame Mckenzie Cambridge Triathlon Club 01:13:51 -7:38
20 Stephen Muchmore St Neots C.C. 01:16:05
21 Elanor Cadzow Welwyn Wheelers 01:16:11
22 Mark McVitty Kings Cliffe Flyers 01:19:21 -11:36
23 Colin Whitechurch Ely & District C.C. 01:21:47 -12:19
24 Gary Wale St Neots C.C. 01:22:51 -14:34
25 Andy Darley Ely & District C.C. 01:25:11 -17:58
26 Lou Campion Wisbech Wheelers 01:26:17 -12:20
27 Ruth Stapleton St Neots C.C. 01:27:21
28 Gavin Costick King’s Lynn C.C. 01:28:10 -21:20
29 Ashley Cooper St Neots C.C. 01:31:19 -24:41


RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,