Report: Eastern Region Youth Circuit Series


In Baltic conditions with the sun shining, Round 1 of the Eastern Region Youth Circuit Series took place at the Good Friday Circuit Races (Redbridge) on 29th March 2013

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Although still unseasonably cold will the chilly easterly breeze still present at least the sun was shining for the start of the 1st Round of the Eastern Region Youth Circuit Series being held at Redbridge Cycle Centre, aka Hog Hill as part of the Eagle RC Good Friday Circuit Races.

The racing started with the U8’s with just 2 riders, Joseph Hadsley (Beds Road CC) and Brody Knight (Lea Valley Youth CC) competing on the top circuit. The action next moved to the lower circuit for the U10’s with 11 riders competing in the 15 minute event. A group of six riders stayed together at the head of the race, riding well together until the last lap when it was every man (or more accurately boy) for himself that saw Kye Lewis (Willesden CC) 1st aross the line for the win.

Next up were the U12’s, again on the lower circuit, with 17 boys and 14 girls lining up for the start. Very soon the a group of 13 riders was at the head of the race, including Becky Surridge (Hillingdon Slipstreamers) with the remaining riders racing at their own pace either on their own or in small groups. As was the case in the U10’s the main group broke up following the bell with Alexi Edwards (Welwyn Wheelers) outsprinting Owen Williams (Lea Valley Youth CC) for the win. An excellent ride by Becky Surridge saw her finish 12th overall and 1st girl.

The racing moved to the full 1.2 mile circuit for the U14’s with 30 boys and 11 girls lined up for the start. After the 1st lap the climb of the Hoggenberg had split the riders up with Tim Torrie (Chelmer CC) riding off on his own to solo for the win with George Finch (PMR – Toachim House), Georg Jenson (Lee Valley Youth CC) and Madeleine Gammons (Bourne Wheelers) in pursuit. As excellent race by Madeleine not only saw her finish as 1st girl but also 4th overall.

It was then straight into the U16’s event with 26 including 4 girls lined up for the start. For 4 laps the main bunch stayed together before a group of 7 (Dan Tullett Hargroves Cycles, David Barnes Condor Cycles, Luke Morgan CC Luton, Cameron Gutteridge Welwyn Wheelers, Lewis Stevens Velo Velocity, Jake Howes Hillingdon Slipstreamers and Tim James Bourn Wheeelers) stretched a lead out going up the Hoggenberg.

Over the next couple of laps the group would splinter before coming back together until the penultimate climb of the Hoggenberg when Dan Tullett & David Barnes went clear with Luke Morgan chasing on his own. At the finish Dan distanced his companion to take the win from David with Luke in 3rd place. A solid race by Clover Murray (Braintree Velo CRC) saw her take the win for the U16 girls.

Thanks to Neil Lewis for sending that to us.


U16 Boys
1 Dan Tullett Hargroves Cycles
2 David Barnes Condor Cycles
3 Luke Morgon CC Luton
4 Cameron Gutteridge Welwyn Wheelers
5 Lewis Stevens Velo Velocity
6 Jake Howes Hillingdon Slipstreamers
7 Tim James Bourne Wheelers
8 Adam Looker Colchester Rovers CC
9 Daniel Maynard Welwyn Wheelers
10 Callum O’Hara Lee Valley Youth CC
11 Oliver Swallow Braintree Velo Cycle RC
12 Marcus Burnett Team Milton Keynes
13 Ollie Bates Welwyn Wheelers
14 William Mapus-Smith West Suffolk Wheelers & Triathlon
15 Henry Barnes Baines Racing Silverstone Cycles
16 Louis Rose-Davies Hillingdon Slipstreamers
17 Frank Longstaff Team Terminator
18 James Jackson Colchester Rovers CC
19 George Baker Kings Cliffe Flyers
20 Jonathan Marriage CC Ashwell
21 Harry Paine Glendene CC
22 Jake Callis Lee Valley Youth CC
23 Campbell Pollock Bourne Wheelers
24 Marcus Lankford Cambridge Triathlon Club
25 Daniel Pedder CC Ashwell

U16 Girls
1 Clover Murray Braintree Velo Cycling Club
2 Sophia Chastell Welwyn Wheelers CC
3 Rebecca Maynard Welwyn Wheelers CC
4 Honor Rendall Braintree Velo Cycl Racing

U14 Boys
1 Tim Torrie Chelmer CC
2 George Finch PMR
3 Georg Jenson Lee Valley Youth CC
4 Adam Botteley Bourne Wheelers CC
5 Ben Tulett Hargroves Cycles
6 Theo Modell East London Velo
7 Oli Nixon VO2 Development Team
8 Matthew Ellis Spalding CC
9 Matthew Shepherd Lee Valley Youth CC
10 Callum Bullett Lee Valley Youth CC
11 Isaac Costley CC Hackney
12 Simon Bird Lee Valley Youth CC
13 Matthew Clark Essex Roads CC
14 Bob Longstaff Colchester Rovers CC
15 Reece Pollen CC Hackney
16 Kareem Akinnibi VC Londres
17 Elliot Swallow Braintree Velo Cycle Racing Club
18 Cameron Kerr Discovery Tri Club
19 Gareth Lewis CC Ashwell

U14 Girls
1 Madeleine Gammons Bourne Wheelers CC
2 Harriet Mellor Hillingdon Slipstreamers
3 Lauren Murphy Team Milton Keynes
4 Sophie Holmes Inverse / Cycling Components RT
5 Louise Surridge Hillingdon Slipstreamers
6 Sarah Brunton Cambridge Triathlon Club
7 Isla Rush WyndyMilla
8 Connie Hayes Lee Valley Youth CC
9 Lorna Bowler Hillingdon Slipstreamers
10 Abigail Coles North Road CC
11 Kiera Tippett Essex Roads CC

U12 Boys
1 Alexi Edwards Welwyn Wheelers
2 Owen Williams Lee Valley Youth CC
3 Thomas Gloag VC Londres
4 Noah Charlton VC Deal
5 Fraser Elsworth West Suffolk Wheelers
6 Aaron Freeman Chelmer CC
7 George Pace Lee Valley Youth CC
8 Harrison Powell Lee Valley Youth CC
9 William Davies Welwyn Wheelers
10 Liam Hanks Barking and Dagenham CC
11 Max McNamara Lee Valley Youth CC
12 Adam Lightfoot CC Ashwell
13 Aaron Stone Lee Valley Youth CC
14 Chester Tribley Chelmer CC
15 Oliver Partner Colchester Rovers
16 Thomas White Colchester Rovers
17 Billy Martin Barking and Dagenham CC

U12 Girls
1 Becky Surridge Hiilingdon Slipstreamers
2 Emily Knight Lee Valley Youth CC
3 India Gloag VC Londres
4 Jemma Bowler Hillingdon Slipstreamers
5 Elizabeth Marvelly Hillingdon Slipstreamers
6 Abby Grindley Lee Valley Youth CC
7 Abigail Kerr Discovery Tri Club
8 Tas Dias Lee Valley Youth CC
9 Andreya Ezekiel-Meade Barking and Dagenham
10 Molly Konchesky Barking and Dagenham
11 Amy Marvelly Hillingdon Slipstreamers
12 Elinor Baldwin Eagle RC
13 Sarah Adeya Barking and Dagenham

U10 Boys
1 Kye Lewis Willwsden CC
2 Thomas Davies Welwyn Wheelers
3 Joseph Kiely Welwyn Wheelers

U8 Boys
1 Joseph Hadsley Beds Road CC
2 Brody Knight Lee Valley Youth CC

Next round as part of the Elvedon races on Saturday 6th April 2013




RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , , ,