Report: Night 1 of Brooks Cycles Track League


The first night of the Brooks Cycles Track League of 2013 saw the rider’s race under sunny skies on Thursday 2nd May.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

This was a pleasant change from last year when like most track leagues in the country many nights were lost due to rain.

The first series of races were the Freewheelers League where a very healthy 32 riders competed. The large gathering of parents witnessed some great racing with the top points scorers in each league after the 13 races being;

Group 1 Alastair Kennington
Group 2 Lucy and Jack Scott
Group 3 Owen Shepherd

The main league saw a good turnout for the first night considering a large number of youth and junior riders were absent having travelled to the Isle of Man for the Cycling Festival. The Sprint events were keenly contested with the opening 500m Handicap league win going to Max Gethin (Lyme RC) from Tom Rotherham ( Sportcity Velo) and Dave Smith ( Stafford RC).

The team sprint went to Dave Smith, Sean Mayer ( Swinnerton Cycles) and Tom Rotherham who set a quick time of 42.81. The third sprint event saw Sean Mayer hold off his team mate Barney Swinnerton in the Sprint Final.

The endurance events saw Bernard Swinnerton (Lyme RC) win the points race and the devil. World Junior Track Medallist Hayley Jones was a welcome visitor to the league ( she is now based in the area after moving over from Australia) and she showed her class as she came second in the devil and the points and also in winning the B Class event for the B Class riders. The other endurance win came from another first time rider at Newcastle in Jacob Booth who won the opening 8 lap scratch.

In the youth events Joe Swinnerton ( Lyme RC) dominated the races in winning the three individual races in the 200m TT, block handicap and 6 lap scratch and also being a member of the winning team sprint team. Other good performances came from James Brayford ( Lyme RC) who came second in the 200mTT and third in the 6 lap scratch and Liam Zwetschnikow ( Lyme RC) who came second in the block handicap and 6 lap scratch

The updated league tables can be found on our website



Group 1

Race 1
1st Alastair Kennington U/A
2nd Ewan Giles Newcastle Tri Club
3rd Louis Evans Lyme RC

Race 2
1st Sam Hall Lyme RC
2nd Louis Perry Lyme RC
3rd Louis Evans

Race 3
1st Aaron Mansell Lyme RC
2nd Brandon McMillan Lyme RC
3rd Bradley Heath Lyme RC

Race 4
1st Alastair Kennington
2nd Ewan Giles
3rd Sam Hall

Race 5
1st Brandon McMillan
2nd Holly Mulroy Congleton CC
3rd Adam Barr Lyme RC

Group 2

1st Harry Ledingham-Horn
2nd Harry Brayford Lyme RC
3rd Natasha Sandbach

Race 2
1st Lucy Scott Lyme RC
2nd Jack Scott Lyme RC
3rd Louis Rouffet

Race 3
1st Jack Scott
2nd Lucy Scott
3rd Jordan Nixon

Group 3

Race 1
1st Chloe Shepherd Lyme RC
2nd Amelie Perry Lyme RC
3rd Cameron O’Neill Lyme RC

Race 2
1st Owen Shepherd Lyme RC
2nd James Turner Lyme RC
3rd Olly Davis Lyme RC

Race 3
1st Edward Mulroy Congleton CC
2nd Cameron O’Neill
3rd Chloe Shepherd

Race 4
1st Owen Shepherd
2nd James Turner
3rd Gracie Walters Lyme RC

Race 5
1st Edward Mulroy
2nd Cameron O’Neill
3rd Oliver Butter-Peers


Youth 200m TT
1st Joe Swinnerton Lyme RC
2nd James Brayford Lyme RC
3rd Ashleigh Williams Newcastle RC 2001

Endurance 8 Lap Scratch
1st Jacob Booth Sportcity Velo
2nd Bernard Swinnerton Lyme RC
3rd George Edwards Lyme RC

Neil Potter Sponsored 500m Handicap League
1st Max Gethin Lyme RC
2nd Tom Rotherham Sportcity Velo
3rd Dave Smith Stafford RC
4th Steve Cronshaw Brooks Cycles
5th Sean Mayer Swinnerton Cycles
6th Jack Payne Sportcity Velo

Youth Block Handicap
1st Joe Swinnerton
2nd Liam Zwetchnikow Lyme RC
3rd Bradley Hill Lyme RC

Endurance Points Race
1st Bernard Swinnerton
2nd Hayley Jones Node 4-Giordana
3rd Jacob Booth

Sprinters League Team Sprint
1st Dave Smith
Phil Houlton Brooks Cycles
Tom Rotherham

Youth Team Sprint
1st Bradley Hill
Megan Williams Newcastle RC 2001
James Brayford
Joe Swinnerton

Endurance Devil
1st Bernard Swinnerton
2nd Hayley Jones
3rd Alex Webb Lyme RC

Sprint Final
1st Sean Mayer
2nd Barney Swinnerton Swinnerton Cycles
3rd Max Gethin

Consolation Sprint Final
1st Tom Rotherham
2nd Phil Houlton
3rd Jack Payne

Youth Scratch
1st Joe Swinnerton
2nd Liam Zwetschnikow
3rd James Brayford

5 Mile Scratch

A Class
1st Barney Swinnerton
2nd Tom Rotherham
3rd Jack Payne

B Class
1st Hayley Jones
2nd Joe Pattison Lyme RC
3rd Steve Hall Lyme RC




RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,