Report: Welwyn Track League 3rd May


Another good evenings racing at the Welwyn Track League (Gosling Stadium) with the Senior A and Youth A groups being particularly competitive.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Prestige riders John Mc Clelland and Kristian Woolf dominated the senior A category battling it out with the local Welwyn Riders and Mike Broadwith for the minor places.

The final 10 mile saw a group of seven riders get away by half distance and the high pace reduced the numbers down to five in the last few laps. At the end McClelland took line honours from Woolf and Hastings and Broadwith with Henry Farrell out of the points in fifth place.

In the Senior B group Anthony Morris won the opening 10 lap scratch while Joe Gorman (Stevenage) made a last lap dash to take the Odds and Evens 10 lap Block Pursuit. Sam Dossett and Joe Gorman tied on points for the 10 lap points – the decision going down to the final lap.

The 15 strong youth A section saw flat out racing in all four events – Jack Plumley was pushed hard by Archie Wishart and Youth B rider Charles Page who was promoted up into the senior group but put in some strong finishes to take two well earned second places

Cal Jolly dominated the youth BC group taking all four races in four different disciplines
The wide age band in the CDE group saw Christian Manzi take the opening scratch race but the next three handicap races went to front runners as the scratch riders spent too much time watching each other instead of chasing the limit riders. A lesson to be learnt in the next few weeks ?


Senior A
10 lap scr –
1. John McClelland (Prestige)
2. Mark Smith (Welwyn Whs)
3. Kristian Woolf (Prestige)

Devil –
1. Kristian Woolf (Prestige)
2. John McClelland (Prestige)
3. George Farrell (Wel;wyn)

10 lap Points
1. John McClelland (Prestige)
2. Mark Smith (Welwyn Whs)
3. Mike Broadwith (Arctic SRam)

10 mile
1. John McClelland (Prestige)
2. Kristian Woolf (Prestige)
3. Andrew Hastings (Finchley RT)

Senior B
10 lap Scr
1. Anthony Morris (CC Ashwell)
2. Brian Evans (Herts Whs)
3. Ben Smith (Welwyn Whs)

10 lap Block Pursuit
1. Joe Gorman Ken Roesner (Wisbech) Brian Evans (Herts Whs)

10 lap points
1. Sam Dossett (Welwyn Whs)
2. Joe Gorman (Stevenage)
3. Ben Smith (Welwyn Whs)

Youth A
10 lap scr
1. Jack Plumley (Welwyn)
2. Charles Page (Hillingdon)
3. Mitchell Powell (Team Terminator)

1. Archie Wishart
2. Jack Plumley,
3. Cameron Gutteridge (all Welwyn)

10 lap Points
1. Jack Plumley,
2. Archie Wishart ,
3. Cameron Gutteridge (all Welwyn)

8 lap Handicap
1. Jack Plumley (Welwyn)
2. Charles Page (Hillingdon)
3. Archie Wishart (Welwyn)

Youth B
5 lap Scr
1. Carl Jolly (Hillingdon)
2. Michael Parry (Welwyn)
3. Will Raymond (Welwyn)

1. Carl Jolly (Hillingdon)
2. Will Raymond (Welwyn)
3. Tom Durkin (Welwyn)

1. Carl Jolly (Hillingdon)
2. Niall Dawkins (Hillingdon)
3. Will Raymond (Welwyn)

6 lap Scr –
1. Cark Jolly (Hillingdon)
2. Will Raymond (Welwyn)
3. Tobi Miles (Welwyn)

Youth CDE
3 lap Scr
1. Christian Manzi (Welwyn)
2. Lauren Higham (Welwyn)
3. Sam Asker (West Suffolk)

3 lap H’cap
1. Sam Gage ,
2. Ben Griffin,
3. Jenna Miles (all Welwyn)

3 lap H’Cp –
1. Joe Kiely (Welwyn)
2. Laurn Higham (Welwyn)
3. Owen Williams (Lee Valley)

4 lap H’cap
1. Lauren Higham ,
2. Joe Kiely,
3. Sam Gage (all Welwyn)

Peter Waghorn


RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,