Report: RTTC Circuit Series


Matt Bottrill (Drag2Zero) ride’s to new course record in round 3 of national time trial series

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Sunday afternoon and many of Britain’s finest time trialist gathered in the small town of Swaffham, Norfolk, to take part in round three of the National Time Trial series, riders would complete a distance of 23.6 miles, taking in the villages of Crimplesdale, Oxborough, and finally finishing in the town of Swaffham. The roads were harsh and with hardly any traffic on the quiet roads, it would be a true test of bike handling skills.

The event tied in well for most riders. The course being used for the National time trial 10 mile championship in three weeks time was just down the road, so it was an ideal opportunity to test the circuit out. Both events being promoted by event organiser Don Saunders.

The weather was warm, and with hardly any wind it would be a fast race. The first rider home was Nick Le Cocq, Caesarean cc in a time of 55.09, proving the circuit was no drag strip. This was then battered down by Brett Harwood, Terry Wright cycles with 52.20, and a few moments later Dean Robson,Somerset cc lowered this to 52.14.

Out on the road there was a good battle developing between Scott Walker, Mg Decor CBS and series leader Matthew Bottrill Walker, started two minutes in front of Bottrill and by the halfway point, Bottrill had caught and passed Walker, to put him in the lead, with the hardest section of the race to come. It was clear Bottrill would take the lead, baring incident.

But for the eagerly awaiting crowd of spectators, nobody expected a breaking of the course record by over three minutes. Bottrill stopped the clock in a breathtaking 47.01, average over 30mph! Walker also did a cracking ride for second place in 51.09

Asked about the win Bottrill replied “I’m really happy with that and today in general. We tied todays race in with a visit to the National 10 course and I’m really happy with both. Todays course suited me well. I came with a plan of doing a 30mph ride and my coach Bob Tobin worked out a plan to achive this. I’m happy to say I stuck to it!”

“I love racing roads like this and this is what I see time trailing should be about. Maybe riders should get a time with an avarge speed, then they could see improvenments they’re making, rather than chasing duel-carragways looking for a fast time?”

1 Matthew Bottrill 00:47:01
2 Scott Walker MG Décor CBS 00:51:09
3 Dean Robson Somerset R.C. 00:52:14
4 Brett Harwood Terry Wright Cycles 00:52:20
5 Alexander Royle Banjo Cycles 00:53:11
6 Nick Le Cocq Caesarean C.C. 00:54:52
7 Charlie Nurse North Norfolk Wh 00:55:09
8 Ben Keeley Kings Lynn C.C. 00:58:53
9 Daniel Gee Ashfield R.C. 01:06:28
10 Jonpaul Nevin Team Battleback 01:12:29

1 Steve Berry Team Swift 00:50:35
2 Andrew Perkins Mid Devon C.C. 00:51:47
3 Ian Dalton Cherry Valley RT 00:52:47
4 Geoff Platts MG Décor CBS 00:53:00
5 Jim Boyle Cherry Valley RT 00:53:45
6 Simon Daw C.C.Sudbury 00:54:58
7 David Staff Team Velo Velocity 00:56:21
8 Peter Anderson Kingston Wheelers 00:57:23
9 Paul Lilley Fenland Clarion 00:57:32
10 Chris Nudds C.C.Breckland 00:57:41
11 Peter Lavine Coalville Wheelers 00:57:41
12 Rob Brewer Cherry Valley RT 00:57:44
13 Patrick Ellis Diss & D.C.C. 00:59:05
14 John Woodburn V.C. Meudon 00:59:24
15 Rob Ellis V.C.St Raphael 01:01:06
16 Jeff Bowler South Pennine R.C. 01:01:17
17 Mark Fairhead C.C.Breckland 01:02:32
18 Jon Clarke Lincoln Wheelers 01:03:00
19 Allan Miller Caesarean C.C. 01:03:04
20 Ron Back West Suffolk Wh 01:03:14
21 Richard Birkin Nottingham Clarion 01:03:29
22 Phil Hollingsworth East Anglian C.C. 01:04:33
23 Rob Bennett Ratae R.C. 01:08:41

1 Rebecca Slack Look Mum No Hands 00:56:09
2 Andrea Parish Camel Valley C & TC 01:02:27
3 Karen Brooks Lincoln Wheelers 01:03:20
4 Kathy Platts MG Décor CBS 01:07:35
5 Laura Owen MG Décor CBS 01:16:46

1 Rik Waddon Para-T 00:56:11
2 Tom Staniford Trek UK 01:01:14
3 Bobby Death & Iain Dawson C.C.Breckland/Tri-Anglia 00:56:00
4 Brian Alldis West Suffolk Wh 01:08:37
5 Craig Preece Team Battleback 01:03:19
6 Steven Arnold Team Battleback 01:24:44
7 Sean Cox RTTC HQ 01:28:00
8 James Cumming Team Battleback 01:17:43
9 Ben Zissman Team Battleback 01:43:02

1 Charlie Lowndes MG Décor CBS 00:54:46
2 Jake Coward Rapha Condor 00:58:35




RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,