Report/Result: Central Divisional Champs


Mike Smith (Corley Cycles) wins the Central Divisional Road Race Championships

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Thames Velo promoted the 2013 championships over 140km around the Great Milton Circuit near Thame, Oxfordshire. The race had 6 laps of a 15 mile circuit to complete and on a dry day with little wind the race started fast and was touching 30 mph as the road narrowed for the first climb of Claire Hill.

As the race came past the finish at the end of the lap 1 there was a 12 man lead group that had 20 sec lead. The lead group consisted of Mike Smith, Team Corley Cycles; Henry Latimer, AW Cycles; Mark Baines, Spirit Racing Bikes; Rob Yeatman, Dream Cycling; Mike Wragg, Arbis RT,Colbert Cycles RT; Will Goulbourne, Team V Sprint; Richard Wood Arbis RT , Colbert; Pete Wager, Felt Colbournes Hargroves Cycles; Ken Buckley, AW Cycles; Phill Starr, Python RT; Josef Metelka, Zappis Cycles and Ben Homa, Beeline Bikes

The break were working really well together and at the end of lap 2 had 2.30 on a bunch that was finding it hard to get a chase working, The break continued to grow till 5 mins. With 20 mile to go Team Ig riders Matt Jones and Jake Hales started to drive a chase group but although the gap started to come down the lead group stayed clear. Within the last 200m a crash happened and bought down 3 riders who ended up having to cross the line on foot.

Result (provisional)

1 Michael Smith Team Corley Cycles/Cervelo/Alpha R.C 1st
2 Henry Latimer AW Cycles 1st
3 Mark Baines Spirit Bikes Racing Team 1st
4 Rob Yeatman Dream Cycling 2nd
5 Mike Wragg Arbis – Colbert Cycles RT 1st
6 William Goulbourne Team V-Sprint Racing 2nd
7 Richard Wood Arbis – Colbert Cycles RT 1st
8 Peter Wager Felt-Colbornes-Hargroves RT 1st
9 Ken Buckley AW Cycles 2nd
10 Jake Hales Team IG / Sigma Sport Elite
11 Ian Knight Team Corley Cycles/Cervelo/Alpha R.C Elite
12 Simon Henley Team Corley Cycles/Cervelo/Alpha R.C 2nd
13 Ben Homa Beeline Bicycles RT 2nd
14 Christopher Palfreeman Leeds University Gryphons Cycling Team 2nd
15 Matthew Jones Team IG / Sigma Sport Elite
16 Douglas Coleman CC Luton 2nd
17 Jerzy Kuzminski High Wycombe Cycling Club 2nd
18 Edward Clemens Spirit Bikes Racing Team 1st
19 Philip Starr Python Racing Team 2nd
20 Justin Belcher Banbury Star CC 2nd


RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,