Report/Result: Sotonia 25


Win for local rider James Gilfillan in the Sotonia 25 mile tme trial on Saturday

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Repeat win for Gilfillan in Sotonia CC 25, Saturday May 18th – by Julian Gee

It was ‘as you were’ in the Sotonia CC 25 held on the P128 course west of Southampton, with Poole based James Gilfillan (Velo Refined) claiming his second win in the event to follow up his 2012 success.

Despite a poor weather forecast earlier in the week, the day dawn overcast but dry with only a slight westerly breeze and with the sun coming our once the event had started it was a pleasant Spring day for the small but quality field. The course uses a circuit which is covered there times taking in a variety of both single and dual carriage way roads, which were fairly quiet on this Saturday morning.



Photo: Eamonn Deane

Despite the good weather, some riders described the conditions as ‘sticky’ with no real help in any direction. Gilfillan’s winning time was a little slower than last year’s 53.52, coming home in 54.25 this time. Second placed Andy Bryson (Peter Hansford Racing Team) enjoyed better luck than 2012 when he had mechanical trouble and this time finished in an impressive 55.16, with Simon Berogna (Velo Club St Raphael) making up the top three in 56.27.

First veteran was a previous winner and regular supporter of the event, Ray Hughes (Clarence Wheelers CC) who this time finished fourth in 56.54, whilst the first lady home was the promoting club’s Jenny Hill who improved over two and half minutes to record 1.06.29.

However, possibly the biggest star of the day was Sotonia CC’s Phil Connell who got up especially early to go out and sign the course (no small undertaking!) and still had enough energy to take 1.24 off his personal best, posting a fine 1.02.42. What a fine example to all!

James told “Eamonn Deane” “I am pleased with the win as its been a slow start this year so its nice to race in the sun and its always nice to race locally.”

Full result
1 James Gilfillan Velo Refined 54.25
2 Andrew Bryson Peter Hansford Racing Team 55.16
3 Simon Berogna Velo Club St Raphael 56.27
4 Ray Hughes Clarence Wheelers CC 56.54
5 Ray Claridge G A Cycles 57.09
6 Bryce Dyer Velo Club St Raphael 57.25
7 Darren Lewis Poole Whs 58.36
8 Gary Allan GA Cycles 58.42
9 Ollie Mitchell Wyndymilla 59.00
10 Colin Yeates Sotonia CC 59.12
11 Rob Sherrin a3crg 59.47
12 Stephen Wood Antelope Racing Team 1.01.37
13 Julian Middlewick Hampshire RC 1.02.25
14 Jon Dudley Sotonia CC 1.02.34
15 Philip Connell Sotonia CC 1.02.42 Improvement 1.29
16 Mark Sterling i-team Cyclists Club 1.02.47
17 David Rich Fareham Whs 1.02.50
18 Phillip Chinn Fareham Whs 1.04.29
19 Dave England Crabwood CC 1.05.15
20 Jonathan Asbridge RN & RM CA 1.05.18
21 Fraser Ellison i-team Cyclists Club 01:06:47 1.05.24* 1.23
22 Jenny Hill Sotonia CC W 1.06.29 2.36
23 Bryan Fenwick Melton Olympic CC 1.08.50
24 Chris Summers Sotonia CC 1.14.40

1 Mary Corbett Sotonia CC Tandem/Simon Hall Andover Whs Tandem 1.04.17



RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,