Report: Castle Combe Summer Series Week 4


Another low turn out by recent standards with only 33 riders in the E/1/2 race and 81 riders in the 3/4 race. The Presidents road race in South Wales and the Tour Series being the main reason.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Andy Cook | 23rd May

The expected damp conditions stayed away although it looked like rain all around as the racing started. The wind made conditions tough but it didn’t stop a break of 6 riders breaking clear in the E/1/2 event who were caught by a chasing group of 4 riders on the last lap of the race.

In the ¾ race Crispin Doyle managed to break clear and hold onto his advantage soloing to yet another Castle Combe win in front of a group of two riders who also held off the rampaging bunch. The Youth races attracted 41 riders and the Under 16 group had a larger than usual contingent of 15 riders. The enthusiasm of the U 10 and U8 riders continues to impress all who watch the racing and once again we would like to thank the volunteers on the night that helped oversee the judging and marshalling duties so important for the youth races. There were a number of key people absent last night and the offers to help stand in were very gratefully received.

It’s hard to believe that next week we will already be 1/3 of the way through this season’s series. A significant amount of bottles, jackets, even wheels get left behind each week so do please get in touch to reclaim lost property please.

Neil Davies is compiling an overall points table that will be published shortly on the website.


E, 1, 2
1 Tom Stockdale Spin Rotor Primal
2 James Phillips Severn Rc
3 Dan Mckimm Dream Cycling
4 Ben Stockdale Metaltek
5 Topt Eichler Team Diabetes Uk
6 Connor Ryan Equipe Cmi
7 Lee Davis Node 4
8 Michael Ward Ride 24/7
9 Wayne Coombs Winchcombe Cc
10 Richard Cleaver Leisure Lakes Bike .Com

Category 3,4
1 Crispin Doyle Hargroves Cycles
2 Sean Townsend Glos City Cc
3 Billy Osmond Vc Bristol
4 John Wilkinson Dream Cc
5 Ken Knight Pm
6 James Knight Cheltenham Cc
7 Lee Finch Glos City Cc
8 Paul Ferguson Vc Walcot
9 Ian Humble Glos City Cc
10 Geoff Ripley Bristol Rc
11 Spencer Robinson Newbury Rc
12 Ross Evans Radion Cycle Coaching
13 Owen Vince Cadence Rt
14 Matt Dale Vc Bristol


Under 16
1 Jack Mattock One And All
2 Jack Billyard Swindon Rc
3 Peter Kibble Cycology Bikes
4 Matt Witts Bcds
5 Christopher Rothwell Swindon Cycles/Race Academy
6 Taylor Rowe Swindon Cycles/Race Academy
7 Matt Fratesi Severn Rc
8 Nick Birch Bcds
9 Scott Pearce Newport Olympic
10 George Jones Clevedon Rc
11 Elliott Redfern Bcds
12 Jacob Payne Chippenham Wheelers
13 Josh Burt Bcds
14 Bethany Taylor Bcds
15 Josh Coward Chippenham Wheelers

Under 14
1 Matthew Burke Newport Olympic
2 William Crofts Performance Cycles
3 Elliott Lassiter Swindon Rc
4 Daniel Coombe Newport Olympic
5 Josh Price Chippenham Wheelers
6 Will Matthews Chippenham Wheelers
7 Sophie Taylor Bcds

Under 12
1 Aaron Payne Chippenham Wheelers
2 Lauren Booth Newport Velo
3 Emyr Thomas Newport Olympic
4 Lance Hutchison Vc St Raphael
5 Tom Price Chippenham Wheelers
6 Danielle Parker Towy Riders

Under 10
1 Scott Curtis Chippenham Wheelers
2 Keelan Tucker Chippenham Wheelers
3 Rufus Thomas Bcds
4 Eleri Thomas Newport Olympic
5 Will Parry Bcds
6 Harper Meadowcroft Chippenham Wheelers
7 Daniel Oxenham Chippenham Wheelers

Under 8
1 Bethany Bennett Towy Riders
2 Yusuf Morgan Maindy Flyers
3 Jake Parker Towy Riders
4 Jack Shuker Chippenham Wheelers
5 Lucy Curtis Chippenham Wheelers
6 Sophie Oxenham Chippenham Wheelers

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,