Result & Photos: Milk Race Crits


Dani King and Felix English winners at the first Milk Race crits in Nottingham on Sunday

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes


Raleigh’s Alex Blain, in his sponsors home city of Nottingham, escaped the peloton early in the race with Felix English from the men in black and with riders from the two top teams represented, they were able to build up a good lead before English beat Blaine to the line for the win.

Felix English said: “It’s brilliant to win such a prestigious race, you hear so much about it growing up as a cyclist. To beat strong riders like Alex Blain was a real surprise but it’s very nice to finally get one right.”


Win for Felix English as he laps riders crossing the line.  Picture: PhotoSport International. uk usa asia.

The Frenchman said on twitter afterwards “Second tonight behind a strong Felix English in Milk race crit. Good training for French (Road Race) champs as a crit after 4h30 with efforts sessions!”


 Alex Blain (Raleigh) leads Felix English during the mens crit. Picture: PhotoSport International. uk usa asia.

Olympic champion Ed Clancy, winner of the Tour Series crit in Aberyswyth on Friday night, then made it a 1-3 for Rapha after winning the sprint from the peloton.

1 Felix English Rapha Condor JLT 01:08:58
2 Alex Blain Team Raleigh at 32
3 Edward Clancy MBE Rapha Condor JLT at 01:32
4 Tom Moses Team Raleigh st
5 George Atkins 100% Me st
6 David Lines MG-Maxifuel Pro Cycling st
7 James Williamson Node 4 Giordana Racing st
8 Roman Van Uden Node 4 Giordana Racing st
9 Graham Biggs Team Raleigh st
10 Sam Witmitz Team Raleigh at 01:36
11 William Bjergfelt MG-Maxifuel Pro Cycling st
12 Tom Murray Metaltek – Knights of Old Racing st
13 Luke Grivell-Mellor Rapha Condor JLT st
14 Sam Witmitz Raleigh st
15 17 Martin Ford Herbalife-Leisure Lakes st
16 Jacob Scott Team Sportscover st
17 Tom Stewart Team Sportscover st
18 Jack Womersley Team Sportscover at 01:42
19 Liam Stones MG-Maxifuel Pro Cycling st
20 Michael Smith Team Corley Cycles/Blue st
21 Anders Christensen Pedal Heaven RT at 01:45
22 Ian Knight Team Corley Cycles/Cervelo/Alph st
23 Dean Parkes Clay Cross Road Team st
24 Jamie Scott MG-Maxifuel Pro Cycling st
25 Kristian House Rapha Condor JLT at 01:50
26 Gabriel Cullaigh RST/Trigon at 02:01
27 Perry Bowater MG-Maxifuel Pro Cycling


Olympic champion Dani King (Wiggle Honda) won her race solo after escaping the peloton after just 20 minutes and raced away from her rivals to the finish. “I’m really, really happy to get my first win for the team,” King said after the race. “It was great to put my hands up in the air.”


King wins the Women’s race solo.  Picture: PhotoSport International. uk usa asia.

“I had a plan going into the race to just sit tight for the first part, and Elinor Barker and Amy Collins were just covering any moves that went,” King explained. “Then after about 20 minutes I launched an attack and I managed to stay away. I just kept going for the whole race,” she added. “I think I was alone for about 40 minutes. There was an amazing crowd out that kept me going”.

“I think the biggest gap I got was about a minute and a half, so it was just getting bigger every lap. It panned out brilliantly; I kept the pressure on the whole time and the gap never got smaller, so it was a perfect race really, I can’t complain!”

“The support was absolutely fantastic,” King enthused. “My form must be okay,” she laughed. “It’s been great to race with the other girls in Holland yesterday and the day before, so my morale was good coming into the race, and obviously with the good weather and the crowds I was up for the win and it paid off!”

“We went in with a plan to try and get Dani away and that seemed to work out,” King’s teammate Amy Roberts who was third said afterwards. “I was just trying to cover everything and keep it that way so that she could get the win, and I managed to get third myself so it worked out pretty well really.”

“I think I came into the last corner in front, but I was pretty knackered by the end and [Barnes] just got it,” she added, “but Dani won so we’re happy.”


1 Danielle King Wiggle Honda 59:33:00
2 Hannah Barnes MG-Maxifuel Pro Cycling at 01:32
3 Amy Roberts Wiggle Honda st
4 Emily Kay Scott Contessa Epic st
5 Annabel Simpson Team Hope Factory Racing st
6 Charlene Joiner MG-Maxifuel Pro Cycling st
7 Emma Trott Boels Dolmans st
8 Hayley Jones Node 4 / Giodana Racing st
9 Jessie Walker Matrix Fitness Racing Academy st
10 Lucy Martin Boels Dolmans st
11 Louise Borthwick Edinburgh RC st
12 Corrine Hall Matrix Fitness Racing Academy st
13 Gabriella Day Matrix Fitness Racing Academy st
14 Karla Boddy MG-Maxifuel Pro Cycling st
15 Molly Weaver Epic Cycles st
16 Helen Wyman Kona/ FSA Factory Team st
17 Alice Barnes Scott Contessa Epic at 01:36

Vanessa Whitfield VC St Raphael
Tracy Best Zappis Ladies Team
Sian Cahill Zappis Ladies Team
Amy Gornall Scott Contessa Epic
Elinor Barker Wiggle Honda

Rebecca Womesley Scott Contessa Epic
Hayley Edwards MG-Maxifuel Pro Cycling
Saskia Hook Squadra Donne – Shutt VR
Melissa Brand MG-Maxifuel Pro Cycling
Emma Towers Twickenham CC
Alice Cobb Scott Contessa Epic
Eleanor Jones VC St Raphael

Ruth Taylor Manchester Wheelers
Elanor Cadzow Welwyn Wheelers CC
Lauren Brown Abergavenny RC

Jessica O’Brien RST Racing Team
Jennifer Lake Squadra Donne – Shutt VR
Lauren O’Brien RST Racing Team
Heather Bamforth Stretford Wheelers CC


RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,