Report: Solihull CC “No Frills” Circuit Racing


In another successful “No Frills” promotion by Solihull CC the women’s event was once again the highlight of the day with a good field despite the risk of poor weather.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

In fact just as the race started, the skies cleared and the enthusiastic women riders were able to enjoy their race in good weather conditions. The handicap format worked well and is becoming increasingly popular as it caters for riders of all abilities and many of those competing said that they wished more clubs would promote handicap events for women.

The race divided into two broad groups with good quality racing by both experienced riders and newcomers alike. The big question was who would win out of four or five very strong riders with Vittoria Bussi from Zappi’s Ladies, Sophie Faulkner from the promoting club, Annasley Park from Abergavenny RC and Kelly Moore  all looking strong.

It came down to a sprint from a lead group of ten with Sophie Faulkner racking up yet another win having just turned junior. This young lady has been really showing her sprinting capabilities in recent weeks and is now starting to win regularly and also gain experience racing against the top women riders in this year’s Johnson Health Tech GP Series.

It will be interesting to see how young Sophie does in the forthcoming Prudential RideLondon GP women’s criterium to be held in central London on 3rd August. It was also good to see Vittoria well up in the results after she had a nasty fall in the first race held this year – she is a tough racer and always rides her races near the front and is a credit to the Zappi’s Ladies Team.

In the men’s supporting race there was a very fast pace throughout with attempts to break away in the strong wind proving difficult. Mark Davies of Team Cystic Fibrosis proved to be a fine winner with the promoting club’s Preslav Dimitrov just missing out on the win after a string of high pacings this year. Stuart Thompson of Hinckley CRC backed up well with a fine third place.

This race concluded the Solihull CC’s promotion of eight open events on the circuit in just over two months and any other club interested in promoting onn the circuit in the No frills format is urgened to contact Guy Elliott at as this is a great circuit that could easily host more racing events on top of the numerous youth activities already taking place there.

Men’s Race 3/4 Category
1 Mark Davies.  Team Cystic Fibrosis
2 Preslav Dimitrov.  Solihull CC
3 Stuart Thompson.  Hinckley CRC
4 Andrew Hicklin.  Fusion CC Dronfield
5 Peter Collins.  Mercia CC
6 Simon Jenkins.  Cwmcarn Paragon CC
7 Guy Wilson.  Private Member
8 Ryan Thornhill.  Cult Racing.
9 Rhys Jenkins.  Cwmcarn Paragon CC
10 Andrew Haines.  Cwmcarn Paragon CC
11 Alex Smith.  Lichfield CCC
12 Ian Cowan.  Solihull CC.
13 Rob Nicholls.  Worcester St Johns
14 Josh Burke.  Wolverhampton Whlrs
15 Richard Anderson.  Beeston RC
16 David Bates.  Mammoth Lifestyle
17 Neil Wilkes.  Birmingham CC
18 James Morris.  Evesham & Dist CC
19 Olivier Arnoux.  Derby Mercury RC
20 James Ellmore.  MSW

Women’s Race  1/2/3 Category
1 Sophie Faulkner.  Solihull CC
2 Annasley Park.  Abergavenny RC
3 Kelly Moore.  Private Member
4 Vittoria Bussi.  Zappi’s Ladies Team
5 Emma Birtles.  Lichfield CCC.
6 Annabel Sill.  Clay Cross RT
7 Verity Appleyard.  Brotherton Cycles
8 Claire Rutherford.  Team Wheelguru
9 Victoria Williams.  RAF CC
10 Sarah Kennedy.  Matlock CC
11 Sophia Chastell.  Welwyn Wheelers CC
12 Joanne Street  Manchester Wheelers
13 Gemma Stuart.  Corinium CC
14 Laura Stafford.  Manchester Wheelers
15 Marianne Scott.  Worcester St Johns
16 Rachel Mullard-Wilson
17 Laura McGrath.  CC Giro
18 Becky Keogh.  Solihull CC
19 Ann Robinson.  Lichfield CCC


RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,