Report/Results: Guildford Circuit Races


Hannah Barnes and George Harper winners at the Guildford Town Centre races on Wednesday night

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

On a sun drenched evening in Guildford, a future star, George Harper, claimed victory in a thrilling sprint finish to the Elite race. Felt-Colbornes rider George was celebrating his 21st birthday in style after winning the prestigious Colbornes Elite Criterium by a bike length from Jody Crawforth (Hargroves Cycles RT) with previous winner Jody Crawforth Wouter Sybrandy (Sigmasport) completing the podium.


George Harper beats for British cross champion Jody Crawforth to the line in the mens race.


Another angle on the finish shows the big crowd that lined the barriers to watch the race. Pic by Peter Hodges (Sweetspot).


The Gold-i womens ‘Gold Rush’ featured the best womens field ever seen at Guildford. The two main protagonists showcased how different types of rider have to deal with each other. Jo Rowsell the champion time triallist went head to head with sprinter Hannah Barnes.

Rowsell tried several times to ramp the speed to lose Barnes but to no avail. Barnes shared the work when not being attacked but had plenty of energy left in the tank to unlease her deadly sprint and take line honours. Alexie Shaw rode a super race and was the only rider able to stay in the lead group coming home third. New sponsor Tom Higgins of Gold-i presented Barnes, Rowsell and Shaw with their prizes and medals.


Hannah Barnes wins the women’s event.

The Cycleworks ‘Local Heroes’ 3rd category race produced a winner from the shop staff of title sponsor Cycleworks. Local rider, Mike Smith (Cycleworks) , took the win from Mike Guilford and Cycling Weekly’s Technical Editor Mike Hawkins.


IG Sigma Sport rider Wouter Sybrandy


Wouter Sybrandy (IG Sigma Sport) leads the rest of the break on the cobbles of Guildford which last year saw Mark Cavendish win the final stage of the Tour of Britain organised by Sweetspot.


Joanna Rowsell with young members of the prompting club.

The evening had started with a parade from the promoting club’s junior division, the Charlotteville ‘Rascals’. The youth squad, who now number over 50, were led around the cobbled circuit by their dedicated coaches and 2012 Olympic gold medallist Jo Rowsell.

The first race (Youth E cat- Under 8’s) provided one of many highlights of the evening by demonstrating the passion that riders have for the Guildford circuit. With 1st and 2nd sewn up there was an epic battle for 3rd as Jo-Jo Peters led Will Flatau by 10 yards into the home straight. Will launched himself, bike swinging, towards the line, closing in on and eventually overhauling Jo-Jo as both sets of parents and supporters screamed encouragement.

It was all smiles afterwards as Esther from sponsors Chapters Financial handed out the medals and prizes. The C/D Youths race was won by Finley Newmark of the VC Londres and the A/B victory was a tour de force for National champ Dan Tullet (Hargroves)


Rider from


Hannah Barnes all smiles.


Gallery is at

More Photos: Dave Hayward 






Full Result:

Chapters Financial E Cat
1 Max Pelling PPYCC E
2 Ben Coppola Four4th E
3 William Flatau Charlotteville cc E
4 Joseph Peters VC Meudon E
5 Ella Beaton Charlotteville CC E
6 Emily Barker-Lewis Charlotteville CC E
7 Gil Cordner Eastbourne Rovers CC E

Chapters Financial Combined C/D category
1 Finley Newmark VC Londres C
2 Gabriel Banner Hillingdon Slipstreamers C
3 Jay Allen Palmer Park Velo C
4 Tom Portsmouth Charlotteville CC C
5 Jamie Pullen palmer park velo C
6 Sam Bishop Charlotteville Rascals C
7 Henry Jarrett Charlotteville Rascals C
8 Henry Cordner Eastbourne Rovers CC D
9 Ben Fox Charlotteville Rascals C
10 Ellie Cooper Charlotteville C
11 Malin Cory Charlotteville Rascals C
12 Benjamin Flatau Charlotteville cc D
13 Jude Beaton Charlotteville CC D
14 zoe algar Preston Park
15 Emma Keiller Charlotteville C
16 Josie Goble Cycleworks D
17 Emma Alon Charlotteville Rascals

Chapters Financial Youths combined A/B category
1 Daniel Tulett hargroves cycles B
2 David Barnes Condor Cycles A
3 Aidan Woolven Sutton CC/Der Ver A
4 Oliver Cliff VC Londres A
5 Georg Mew Jensen LVYCC B
6 Louis Suggett Prestige Velo A
7 Jacob Vaughan Team Corridori B
8 Kieran Woods Charlotteville CC A
9 Thamana Nel iteam cc B
10 Christopher Jenkinson Charlotteville CC A
11 Jack Algar VO2 Development Team B
12 Matthew McGovern Sutton CC B
13 Ben Bishop Charlotteville Rascals B
14 Thomas Burnett Velo Club de Londres B
15 Guy Tucker Charlotteville Rascals B
16 Lewis Russell Cycleworks B
17 George Sales Redhill CC B
18 Henry Parnell ASL360 A
19 Hayden Cassidy VCL B
20 Hugh Johnson

Cycleworks ‘Local Heroes’ 3rd category
1 Mike Smith Cycleworks
2 Michael Guilford Team Silva
3 Mike Hawkins Norwood Paragon
4 John Cordner Eastbourne Rovers
5 Giorgios Crouch VC Meudon
6 Tristan Natolie Charlotteville CC
7 Ryan Smith v c meudon
8 Nick Kirke Cycleworks
9 Bohdan Musil YB-Nuun London
10 Kim Little Gillingham Wheelers/Wheels Cycles
11 Marc Townsend
12 Dean Frost OffCamber
13 Henry Gilroy University of Bristol CC
14 Chris McGovern Catford Banks Equipe Racing
15 Tom Hughes
16 Roki Read VC Meudon

Gold-i Womens ‘Gold Rush’
1 Hannah Barnes MG-Maxifuel E
2 Joanna Rowsell Wiggle Honda E
3 Alexie Shaw Les Filles RT 2
4 Louise Borthwick Edinburgh RC 1
5 Dani Christmas Team ASL360 3
6 Maryka Sennema Kingston Wheelers 2
7 Jo Munden Pedal Heaven RT 3
8 Lucy Chittenden East St 3
9 Bryony Board Glendene CC 2J
10 Emma Towers Twickenham CC 3
11 Maxine Filby 2
12 Laura Greenhalgh Twickenham Cycling Club 3
13 Nicole Oh Les Filles RT 2
14 Clare Gillott Elitecycling 3
15 Cassie McGoldrick Wyndy Milla 2
16 Charmaine Brown Pearson CC 3
17 Abigail Dentus Welwyn wheelers A+disp.
18 Flora Gillies Team ASL360 2
19 Jasmijn Muller Kingston Wheelers 2W
20 Bella Leach London Phoenix CC 3
21 Abigail Van Twisk WXC World Racing A+disp.
22 Emily Barnes Condor Cycles J2
23 Michelle Sellars Goscomb-BSR 3
24 Susan Freeburn WyndyMilla 2
25 Holly Seear Twickenham CC 3
26 Rebecca Carter Goscomb BSR 3
27 Donna Quinnell Rollapaluza CC 3
28 Rachel Przybylski WyndyMillaUKYouth 2
29 Tabitha Rendall Club Cyclopark 3
30 Vikki Filsell Les Filles Racing Team WV3
31 Rachael Yates London Phoenix 3

Colbornes Elite Criterium
1 George Harper Felt-Colbornes
2 Jody Crawforth Hargroves Cycles RT
3 Wouter Sybrandy Team IG – Sigma Sport
4 Will Fox Metaltek
5 Russell Hampton Team Raleigh – GAC
6 Richard Mardle Felt Colbornes Hargroves RT
7 Dean Shannon
8 Chris Mcnamara pedal heaven rt
9 Ian Paine London Dynamo
10 Jake Martin pedal heaven rt
11 Matthew Higgins Felt colbornes
12 William Pratt Aprire Bicycles RT
13 Ben Moores Norwood Paragon
14 Robert Ward Felt-Colbornes-Hargroves RT
15 Justin Hoy Felt-Colbornes RT
16 Lee Smith Felt colbornes hargrovs rt
17 Mark Stewart ASL360
18 Luke Ryan Focus
19 Hugo Robinson Ipswich BC
20 Ben Sumner Beeline RT
21 Simon Ernest Juice Lubes Racing
22 Dante Carpenter pedal heaven rt


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , , ,