Report: British MTB Titles


Scotland’s Lee Craigie and Grant Ferguson clinch the British National Cross Country Mountain Bike Championship titles at Cathkin Braes, Glasgow

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Scottish Cycling Press Release

After a weekend of world class racing, Scottish athletes dominated the medal tables. Lee Craigie (Cannondale Racing) and Grant Ferguson (Superior Brentjens Mountain Bike RT) were crowned the Male and Female Senior Champions in the 2013 British National Mountain Bike Cross Country Champions at Cathkin Braes Country Park, Glasgow.

Sunday 21st July saw British riders from all over the country set off around the 5.5km course that has been developed by Glasgow City Council ahead of the Commonwealth Games. The first championship jerseys up for grabs were the Youth and Juvenile. Juvenile riders Emily Wadsworth (Beeline Bicycles) and Daniel Tulett (Hargroves Cycles) took the first championship titles.

Whilst in the Youth male category Calum Magowan (Peebles CC/ Alpine Bikes) took first place after a sprint finish with fellow Scottish rider Harry Johnston (Team Thompson Cycles). Johnston’s team mate Erica Allan (Team Thompson Cycles) also claimed the Youth Female Jersey.

Shortly after it was the Male Masters, Veterans, Grand Veterans and Super Veterans turn to battle it out for the coveted Championship Jerseys. Scottish rider John Shirley (West Highland Wheelers) managed to take gold in the Veterans category with Gregor Grant (Moray Firth CC) winning the Grand Veteran category.

As the sun came out it was time for the females to fight it out for the striped Jersey. The Under 23 title went to Bethany Crumpton (Hargroves Cycles) whilst Peebles rider Isla Short (WXC world Racing) finished in second place just behind Alice Barnes (Scott Contessa Epic).

Glasgow born, Lee Craigie (Cannondale Racing UK) dominated the Senior field right from the start of the race, gaining over 2 minutes on her competitors and crossing the line ahead of Jane Nusessli (Fischer-BMC) with Tracy Moseley (Malvern Cycle Sport) coming in third place, making Craigie the first female Scot to win the National Mountain Bike Cross Country Jersey in over a decade. Lee is currently on the Scottish Cycling Mountain Bike Performance Programme lead by National Cross Country Mountain Bike Coach Paul Newnham.

British National Champion Lee Craigie said: “I really wanted to win today, but was so nervous as I have been waiting a long time to get my hands on the British National Jersey. It means so much to me to win at home, at Cathkin Braes, in front of a home crowd and they really spurred me on. It was amazing to hear people shouting out my name around the course. It really gives you a sense of what the Commonwealth Games is going to be like in Glasgow next year.”

Last but not least it was the Men’s Senior, Under 23 and Junior categories that lined up to do battle on the Cathkin Braes course. The Junior title went rider Matthew Thompson (Nutcracker Racing) with Scottish riders Iain Paton (Ben Wyvis CC) and Stuart Wilcox (Team Scott UK) taking second and third respectively. In the Under 23 race Steven James (Pedal Power RT) powered to the finish with a winning time of 1hour 30 minutes.

Following in Craigie’s footsteps, fellow Scot, nineteen year old Grant Ferguson was the 6th Scot of the day to secure a British National title. Ferguson, originally from Peebles finished ahead of Endura’s Oli Beckingsale and  David Fletcher in third.

Craigie and Ferguson will be heading to Andorra next weekend for the Mountain Bike Cross Country World Cup, wearing their stripes.

British National Champion Grant Ferguson said: “I am really happy to have one the British National Jersey, I haven’t had stripes since I was a youth. I had been pretty nervous about racing today but it all came together. I am still under 23 but decided to ride in the upper category this time and it paid off. I hope I am back next year.”

Craig Burn, Scottish Cycling’s Chief executive added: “Congratulations to everyone that took part this weekend and especially to all our Championship winners. I was delighted to see the venue come to life with all the spectators cheering on our home talent. It really shows that Glasgow 2014 is going to be a big year for Scottish Cycling.”

Mens Championship

1 Grant Ferguson Superior Brentjens Mountainbike Racing Team (SBT) 1:42:42.840
2 Oliver Beckingsale Endura MTB Racing
3 David Fletcher Orange Monkey Pro Team
4 Paul Oldham Team Hope Factory Racing
5 Gareth Montgomerie GT MucOff Racing
6 Hamish Batchelor Fluid Fin Race Team
7 Sebastian Batchelor Fluid Fin Race Team
8 Nick Craig Team Scott UK
9 Dan Fleeman Dig Deep Coaching
10 Ian Field Hargroves Cycles/Specialized/Trant

1 Lee Craigie Cannondale Racing
2 Jane Nuessli Fischer
3 Tracey Moseley Malvern Cycle Sport
4 Jessie Roberts Torq Performance
5 Melanie Alexander Contessa Scott Syncros
6 Maxine Filby
7 Joanne Clay Torq Performance
8 Annabel Simpson Team Hope Factory Racing
9 Vicki Barclay Stan’s NoTubes Elite Women’s Team
10 Verity Appleyard Brotherton Cycles


RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,