Women’s Team Series: Win for Vittoria Bussi


Vittoria Bussi of Zappi’s Ladies Team won the latest round of the Women’s Team Race Series held on the Husbands Bosworth course and well organised by the Welland Valley Wheelers.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

thanks Jeanne Hanks

Taking a very well deserved 2nd place was Karla Boddy, MG Maxifuel Pro Cycling. Karla had crashed earlier spending some time on the tarmac but after a typical gutsy chase back she was winning the bunch sprint.

With generous sponsorship from long standing supporters of women’s racing Duncan Murrays Wines the race, using this circuit for the first time, got off to a good start.

After 8 miles Laura Massey, Abergavenny RC attacked gaing 220 seconds but she was brought back. 10 miles another attack but again it was brought back. Another attack came at 20 miles from Tracy Best, Zappi Ladies Team, a few miles later Karla crashed. So into the last lap and with some help from a tractor in the narrow lane, the leaders lead had increased to 5 minutes.

With Vittoria, who had just come back from stage racing in Europe and so was very fit, crossing the line it was a long wait to see who would crest the hill in the lead and it was the two attackers Karla and Laura Massey who took the main honours. Sophie Faulkner, Squadra Donne won the Junior Award.

1. Vittoria Bussi. N Ladies Team
2. Karla Boddy. MG Maxifuel Pro Cycling
3. Laura Massey. Abergavenny RC
4. Sophie Faulkner. Squadra Donne
5. Natalie Grinczer. Abergavenny RC
6. Cassie McGoldrick. Wyndymilla
7. Lowri Devey. Abergavenny RC
8. Francesca Morgan’s Slader. BCF Eastern
9. Liz Malins. Abergavenny RC
10. Hannah Payton. Team CTC
11. Sam Thoy. We Love Mountains
12. Susan Free burn. Surrey League
13. Amy Gornall. Scott Contessa Epic
14. Kate Hewitt. Les Filles Racing Team
15. Emily Barnes. Team Mule Bar Girls
16. Rebecca Wormsley. Scott Contessa Epic
17. Nicola Juniper. Les Filles Racing Team
18. Nicole Oh. Les Filles Racing Team
19. Stephanie Post. Cardiff Ajax
20. Sarah Kennedy. Composite Team
21. Bryony Board. BCFEastern
22. Bonnie Van Wilgenburg. Zappi’s Ladies Team
23. Sian Cahill. Zappi’s Ladies Team
24. Vanessa Whitfield. VC St Raphael
25. Karen Poole GBCycles
26. Catherine Hills. Wyndymilla
27. Manon Lloyd. Abergavenny R C
28. Jasmijn Muller. Surrey League
29. Ellie Gilham. VC St Raphael
30. Nikki Englebach. Les Filles Racing Team
31. Tracy Best. Zappi’sLadies Team
32. Lauren Brown. Abergavenny RCA
33. Lauren Humphreys. West Midlands
34. Eleanor Jones. VC St Raphael
35. Eleanor Cadzow. BCF Eastern
36. Linda Young. GB Cycles
37. Coralie Glaunes. Les Filles Racing Team
38. Lisa Jane Leonard. BCF Eastern
39. Elizabeth Dunne Army Cycling Union


RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK


Tags: ,