Clásica San Sebastián: Tony Gallopin wins Spanish Classic


A week after completing the 100th Tour de France, Radioshack Leopard Trek’s Tony Gallopin brought his good form to the Clásica San Sebastián and rode himself into the winner’s circle with a perfectly timed attack in the final 15km.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

For Gallopin, 25, it was the biggest win in his promising career and made him only the third Frenchman to win the cherished classic. Gallopin said of the victory: “I was so tired after the Tour de France and even disappointed because I couldn’t win a stage. But this morning, I immediately knew that I had super good legs. I like the one-day races but this is the first time I’ve done this race so it was really new for me.”


“But I’m so happy. To be here on the podium with Valverde and Kreuziger means a lot to me.”

The 234km race took place in San Sebastián’and included an all-star line-up of 66 Tour riders, including 14 from the top 20 and 7 from the top 10. Tony Gallopin continued “I already felt good on the Jaizkibel and then on the Arcale I could feel I was still good. As I knew Bob Jungels was coming back, I didn’t dare attack but Alain gave me the green light.“

Team director, ‘Uncle’ Alain Gallopin: “Tony told me he had good legs on the Arcale so I told him to go. Cycling is not complicated. I think the victory is well deserved. We didn’t start with one leader as we had many, many riders in good shape, like Bakie, Haimar, Tiago, Stijn and Bob. The fact that we’ve also won the Teams GC here illustrates the teamwork involved.”

“Tony was probably the smartest guy as he didn’t waste his forces on the first climb of the Jaizkibel. Yesterday when we arrived from the airport we did a recon of that climb with Tony behind my car and he liked it. It was at that point he already showed his motivation.”

On the second ascent of the Jaizkibel climb, Gallopin was part of a 13-rider selection which quickly established a gap to the chasers. Seizing the moment, Tony made his decisive attack the second time up the Arkale climb. A chasing group formed behind him but true organisation was never forthcoming and with his head down and eyes forward, Gallopin time trialed his way to the finish line to earn the right to wear the traditional Basque txapela.

Second and third places at 28-seconds went to Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) and Roman Kreuziger of Saxo-Tinkoff, both coming off strong Tour performances that put them in the top ten on the general classification.

2013 marks Gallopin’s fifth season, with today’s victory his fourth as a professional and his first for Radioshack Leopard Trek. This year he took the bronze medal in the French road championships and proved his worth by helping teammate Fabian Cancellara in his Spring Classics wins.

Tony: “I gave everything with the plan to see where I would be on the top of the Arcale. I was alone, so I decided to go for it alone till the end. This is nice for me after a season with illness or mechanical problems at bad moments. This is a nice start of something new. Not that I will ask to be a leader now. I will not change. The team can continue to count on me.”

Echoing Gallopin’s enthusiasm was teammate Bob Jungels who offered his congratulations to Tony: “Le grand Tony! It’s awesome to again be part of such a big victory. I fell in love with this race today and I’m looking forward to the next years.”

Tony concluded: “Last night at dinner my teammate Markel Irizar explained in detail to all of us about Basque habits and how to put the txapela on our head in case of victory. We were prepared!”

1 GALLOPIN Tony RadioShack – Leopard 05:39:02
2 VALVERDE BELMONTE Alejandro Movistar Team 00:28
3 KREUZIGER Roman Team Saxo-Tinkoff @ st
4 NIEVE ITURALDE Mikel Euskaltel – Euskadi @ st
5 ROCHE Nicolas Team Saxo-Tinkoff 00:29
6 LANDA MEANA Mikel Euskaltel – Euskadi 00:36
7 MOSER Moreno Cannondale Pro Cycling Team 00:51
8 SERRY Pieter Omega Pharma – Quick-Step @ st
9 MOLLEMA Bauke Belkin Pro Cycling Team @ st
10 CHAVANEL Sylvain Omega Pharma – Quick-Step @ st
11 BAKELANTS Jan RadioShack – Leopard @ st
12 GESINK Robert Belkin Pro Cycling Team @ st
13 ASTARLOZA CHAURREAU Mikel Euskaltel – Euskadi @ st
14 POELS Wout Vacansoleil – DCM @ st
15 JUNGELS Bob RadioShack – Leopard 00:53
16 EIJSSEN Yannick BMC Racing Team 01:17
17 VAN AVERMAET Greg BMC Racing Team 01:55
18 HOOGERLAND Johnny Vacansoleil – DCM @ st
19 BARDET Romain AG2R La Mondiale @ st
20 KOLOBNEV Alexandr Katusha Team @ st
21 DEVENYNS Dries Omega Pharma – Quick-Step 02:22
22 DURASEK Kristijan Lampre – Merida @ st
23 GADRET John AG2R La Mondiale @ st
24 MARCATO Marco Vacansoleil – DCM @ st
25 ARROYO DURAN David Caja Rural-Seguros RGA 02:31
30 FLECHA Juan Antonio Vacansoleil – DCM @ st
33 GERRANS Simon Orica GreenEDGE 03:19
35 QUINTANA ROJAS Nairo Alexander Movistar Team 03:20
36 FUGLSANG Jakob Astana Pro Team @ st
46 CONTADOR Alberto Team Saxo-Tinkoff @ st
47 IMPEY Daryl Orica GreenEDGE @ st
79 MEYER Cameron Orica GreenEDGE @ st
96 DENNIS Rohan Garmin – Sharp @ st


RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,