Results: Circuit Race Series


Another win for rider Rob Pye plus a win too for Dillon Byrn in week 17 of the circuit race series at Salt Ayre on July 30

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes


3/4/W race 40mins + 3 laps

The 40 minute 3/4/W race had 26 starters and all 26 contested the bunch sprint finish. In between there were several attempts to get away, Geoff Williams (Python RT) being notable for trying several times but none got more than a few yards before the bunch chased them down.

On the final lap, Duncan Smith ( had a brave attempt for a solo win but was caught on the last corner where his team-mate Rob Pye launched his sprint to cross the line lengths clear of Steve Baker (Army CU) with Chris Vaughan completing an excellent evening for the sponsors team in 3rd.

Louise Murray (Ribble Valley CRC) was the only female rider and had support from the spectators when she went on the attack mid-way through the race.

1st Rob Pye
2nd Steve Baker Army Cycling Union
3rd Chris Vaughan
4th Cecil Hodgkinson Wigan Whls
5th Duncan Smith
6th Geoff Williams Python RT
7th Ally Wight Hardrock Hoodlums
8th Paolo Brucciani Lune RCC
9th Lee Perie Wheelbase
10th Adam Giddins BC PM
11th Ash Whaites Settle www
12th Garry Cockroft Bronte Whls
13th Simon Barnes
14th Mark Stickland Settle www
15th John Dodgin Biketreks RT
16th Martin Lefley Bella in Sella
17th Joe Westwood Cycle Sport Pendle
18th Adrian Hamilton Lancaster CC
19th Phil Peake Lune RCC
20th Mark Children Lune RCC
21st Ray Cassar LFR Racing
22nd Peter Hollis Ribble Valley CRC
23rd John Barry Lancaster CC
24th Louise Murray Ribble Valley CRC
25th Matt Lythgoe Ribble Valley CRC
26th Andy Butler Lune RCC
26 riders in total

E/1/2 race 1 hour + 5 laps

After the 3/4/W race had been run off in sunshine, the 60 minute + 5 lap E/1/2 race had only been started a few minutes when torrential rain hit. A few retirements followed as the race split into 3 groups with Elite riders Dillon Byrne (Maxgear) and James Gullen (Hope Racing) driving the lead group along with 2nd cat Sam Jackson (Overplay).

The 3 eventually lapped the “bunch” of 6 but the chasing group of 6 were never far behind. In the lead group, James Gullen tried to break away alone but Dillon pulled him back and counter-attacked.

So it went on but neither would give way and it came to a sprint which Dillon won. Sam Jackson lost contact in the closing laps but hung on for 3rd just ahead of the sprint for 4th won by Sam Dobson (BC PM). The remains of the bunch sprinted for 10th place with Julian Pearson (Teamwallis) taking it.

1st Dillon Byrne Maxgear
2nd James Gullen Hope Racing
3rd Sam Jackson Overplay
4th Sam Dobson BC PM
5th Jake Cowan Biketreks RT
6th Josh Knights Maxgear
7th Steve Abbott Teamwallis
8th Neil Robinson Lune RCC
9th Rob Adlard Velo 29 Blackhawk
10th Julian Pearson Teamwallis
11th Shaun Pearson Ribble Valley CRC
12th Andy Markham Lune RCC

18 riders in total

Thanks to for sponsorship, Tony Sweeney and Geoff Newcombe for Commisairing, Dennis for doing the lap board, flags and bell and to Herbalife/Leisure Lakes for providing the marshals.

Nev Pearson, Salt Ayre Cycling Association


RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,