News: Top 10s for Brits in Omloop Mandel-Leie-Schelde


Whilst Quickstep’s Iljo Keisse won his second race in three days, three Brits finish in the top 10 as they prepare for the Tour of Britain

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

68e editie van de Omloop Mandel-Leie-Schelde 

Two days after his first victory on Thursday in Erpe-Mere, Quickstep’s Iljo Keisse was first across the line in the 68th edition of Circulation Mandel-Leie-Schelde in the West Flanders Meulebeke.

The 30-year-old Keisse wopn from Frederique Robert and Niko Eeckhout. Frederic Amorison was fourth and the Isle of Man’s Mark Christian (Team Raleigh) appropriated in fifth place.

“I’m really in a winning mood” Keisse said on HLN.BE website. “It is a beautiful thing to win twice in a few days. “Even when I was with guys like Niko Eeckhout and Frederic Amorison in the attack, I was able on Thursday to beat them and today I managed it again.”

“After about five laps we managed to get ahead with nine riders. It was then fighting against the rest, so everyone was at its limit in the end. Arriving solo is more beautiful than to win in a sprint so I attacked three kilometers from the finish which was enough to seal my second victory. My next course is the World Ports Classic and there I will definitely show I am in good shape” concluded Keisse.

1. Iljo Keisse (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) 144 km in 3u28: 17
2. Frederique Robert at 0:07
3. Niko Eeckhout
4. Frederic Amorison 0:11
5. Mark Christian (Team Raleigh)
6. Kenny Dehaes 1:04
7. Dean Downing (Madison Genesis)
8. Mark McNally (An Post)
9. Yu Takenouchi (Jap)
10. Quentin Bertholet,
11. Alexandre Blain (Raleigh)
12. Jan Denuwelaere
13. Steve Bekaert;
14. Oleksandr Polivoda (Oek);
15. Sam Bennett (Irish) 2:30,
16. Jonas Van Genechten
17. Ian Bibby (Madison Genesis)
18. Evan Oliphant (Team Raleigh)
19. Sven Françoys;
20. Kevin Verwaest;
21. Niels Nachtergaele
22. Glenn O’Shea (Aus)
23. Steven Van Vooren;
24. James Mowatt (Aus) 2:39,
25. Liam Holohan (Madison Genesis)
26. Kanstantin Klimiankou (WRU);
27. Victor Foubert (Fra),
28. Kurt Hovelijnck;
29. Aaron Gate (NZE)
30. Thomas Stewart (Team Raleigh)
31. Sean Downey, An Post
40. Tom Moses, Raleigh
41. Dominic Jelfs Madison Genesis

DNF: Jake Tanner, Doltchini
DNF: Michael Nicolson, Doltchini
DNF: Kieran Frend, AN Post
DNF: Richard Lang, Raleigh
DNF: Robert Crampton, Terra Footwear
DNF: Brennan Townshend, Madison Genesis
DNF: Alex Peters, Madison Genesis
DNF: Jack Pullar, Madison Genesis
DNF: Daniel Patten, Smartstop


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,