Result: Spirit Bikes Summer Road Races

2013_Spirit Bikes Banner V1_2

Jozef Metelka & James Stewart winners at the Spirit Bikes Summer Road Races at Cranfield (Nr Milton Keynes) on Sunday

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Birthday win for Metelka in Spirit Bikes RR | Gerry McManus

Josef Metelka (Beeline Cycles RT) wins the Spirit Bikes Road Race

Photo: Rob Lampard (Velostars)

Josef Metelka (Beeline Cycles RT) out manoeuvred the more experienced riders in the Spirit Bikes Road Race in Bedfordshire on Sunday 8th September. The Slovakian 2nd category rider celebrated his 27th birthday by taking a solo victory in the 94-mile race for E/1/2/3 riders.

Metelka crossed the line 18 seconds ahead of Herbalife-Leisure Bikes rider Martin Ford who had escaped the clutches of the bunch in the final kilometre. Ford held on to take second place by a single second before Jacob Tipper (Biketrek) lead the bunch gallop across the finish line.

Slovakian para-cyclist Metelka showed that his missing lower left leg was no disadvantage when he made his race winning move ahead of an indecisive bunch when they closed down the lead he had gained with breakaway companion Tom Stockdale (Spin Rotor Primal C-Originals RT) on the finishing circuit in Cranfield. Stockdale sat up when the bunch were only 5 seconds behind but Metelka accelerated ahead and built up a commanding lead of over 30 seconds with four miles left in the race.

With 4 laps to go Tom Stockdale leads eventul winner Josef Metelka

Tom Stockdale leads. Photo: Rob Lampard (Velostars)

“It was a tough race today,” said the Oxford based race winner: “I was in a break earlier on in the race when about 12 of us got away but were not able to stay clear. Tom Stockdale and I got away again and he was very strong but the bunch closed us down again and I just went for it. It is my first year cycling and I have moved up to a first category licence today.”

Martin Ford (Herbalife-Leisure Lakes Bikes) wins the sprint for second

Martin Forde wins the bunch kick. Photo: Rob Lampard (Velostars)

The chasing bunch pass Cranfield airfield with one lap to go

Photo: Rob Lampard (Velostars)



1 Josef Metalka Beeline Bikes 03:37:27
2 Martin Ford Herbalife – Leisure Lakes Bikes @18secs
3 Jacob Tipper Biketreks @19secs
4 Jake Hales Team IG -Sigma Sport st
5 Michael Smith Team Corley Cycles st
6 Matthew Clarke Wheelbase Altura MGD st
7 Conor Ryan Equipe CMI st
8 Ashley Cox CC Luton st
9 Liam Stones MG – Maxifuel ProCycling st
10 Sebastien Baylis Madison Genesis st
11 Adam Brittain High Wycombe CRT st
12 James Wilson st
13 Anthony Moye Velo29 Blackhawk st
14 Joshua Green Glendene CC st
15 Martin Smith AW Cycles st
16 Gray Turnock Finsbury Park CC st
17 st
18 William Goulbourne Team V Sprint Racing st
19 Richard Wood Arbis – Colbert Cycles RT st
20 Callum Grieve Loughborough Students CC st
21 Stephen Nunn Finchley RT st
22 Malcolm Smith St.Ives st
23 Steve Golla High Wycombe CRT st
24 Mike Jackson CC Luton st
25 Paul Elcock GS Henley st
26 Peter Hargreaves Strada Sport st
27 Owen Marsden VC Norwich st
28 Kieran Brady City Cycle Centre st
29 Rob Yeatman Dream Cycling st
30 Joe Clarke Fenland Clarion CC st
31 Jim Moffatt Virgin Active st
32 Christopher Palfreeman Arbis – Colbert Cycles RT st
33 Anthony Morris CC Ashwell st
34 Mark Baines Spirit Bikes RT st
35 Matthew Ullmer Dynamic Bikes RPC st
36 Paul Carr Corley Cycles st
37 Simon Alexander Twenty3c – Focus st
38 Tim Carter Virgin Active st
39 Douglas Coleman CC luton st
40 Simon Brooks VC St Raphael
41 Ian Knight Team Corley Cycles
42 Matthew Jones Team IG -Sigma Sport
43 Jamie Scott MG – Maxifuel ProCycling
44 Colin Bailey North Road cc
45 Wojciech Szlachta Twenty3c – Focus
46 Lubomir Belak St.Ives CC
47 Tom Stockdale Spin Rotor Primal C-Originals RT
48 Sean Dines Team Corley Cycles
49 Roy Chamberlain Team Corley Cycles
50 Darren Parker Python RT
51 Christopher Dredge Spirit Bikes RT
52 Tom Neale Spalding CC
53 Jack Waller Spirit Bikes RT
54 Joe Giggins PCHUK
55 Alex Anderson Astra Flanders Racing

Category 3/4
1 James Stewart Bonito Squadra Corse 01:54:52
2 William Scott Bonito Squadra Corse @ 1 sec
3 Riko Sibbe London Dynamo @25sec
4 Leszek Wuziak Twickenham CC st
5 Andrew Marriott Spirit Bikes RT st
6 Mick Fuller Team Quest / The Bike Shop st
7 Shaun Rose North Road CC st
8 James Archibald GS Henley st
9 George Georgallides Finchley RT st
10 Roger Prior Zappi’s Cycling Club st
11 James Wright Charlotteville CC st
12 Steve Lovell Bonito Squadra Corse st
13 Christiaan Smith zappi’s Cycling Club st
14 Robin Burrow Kenilworth Wheelers CC st
15 Willem De Boer Cambridge CC st
16 Will Bamber VC Norwich st
17 Campbell` Noon Virgin Active st
18 Alan Galloway CCLuton st
19 Bjorn Krylander Cambridge CC st
20 Tim Edwins LBRCC-Solgar st
21 Charlie Bratt St.Ives CC st
22 Stephen Morell Aylesbury CC st
23 Michael D’Arcy Bedfordshire RC st
24 Neil Murphy Cycle Club Ashwell st
25 Matthew Foreman CCLuton st
26 Stuart Tillbrook LBRCC-Solgar st
27 Chris Cassell Rapha Condor CC st
28 David Reilly BC Private st
29 David Gayler Kenton RC st
30 Costa Perides Finchley RT st
31 Paul Williams West Drayton MBC st
32 Dan Hazelwood Bonito Squadra Corse st
33 Richard Ostler St.Neots CC st
34 Robert Abbey Hemel Hempstead CC st
35 Andrew Lowe Team Milton Keynes st
36 Ben Howell Strada-Sport st
37 James Frew Spirit Bikes RT st
38 Robert Tillott St.Ives CC st
39 Barry Connolly Team Milton Keynes st
40 Jonny Revis Cowley Road Condors st
41 Joshua Vinden Team Milton Keynes st
42 Shaun Holbrow Haverhill CC st
43 Simon Parks Spirit Bikes RT st
44 Edward Holland BC Private st


RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,