Results: Scarborough Paragon CC Hill Climb


Jack Pullar breaks course record which has stood for 11 years at the The Hackness Windings Hill Climb promoted by the Scarborough Paragon Cycling Club

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

There were two local hill climbs today near Scarborough. At 11am, Bridlington Cycling Club held their open event at Flixton on the V491 course up Flixton Bank. At 2pm Scarborough Paragon CC held their open event at Hackness on the V492 ‘windings’ course, with quite a few morning competitors coming back for more in the afternoon. Warm and dry conditions with a stiff breezy blowing from the east, which was a left cross wind for Flixton and a slight tailwind for Hackness.

The records fell today with James Gullen of Team Hope Factory Racing the first to break the course record in 2:56.8 at Flixton, an improverment of 12 seconds from the previous best recorded, followed by Jack Pullar of Madison-Genesis who further reduced it to an impressive 2:43.3.

A similar scenario occurred in the Paragon afternoon event. Gullen smashed the previous record of Ben Roberts (2:33.0) from 2002, taking it down to 2:25.1, savouring the honour for 56 seconds before Pullar came home with 2:21.6.

“The Hackness Windings Hill Climb”
Course V492 – 880yards – Gradient 11% average – max 25%

START on unclassified road ‘Kirkgate’ leading north from Hackness to Silpho at southern end of old stone building 48yds from the bottom road. Proceed north 880yds to FINISH at centre point of car park entrance half way to Silpho village.

Course Record – 2:33.0 – Ben Roberts – 2002
1 Jack Pullar Madison Genesis 2:21.6
2 James Gullen Team Hope Factory Racing 2:25.1
3 Miles Flather Bridlington Cycling Club 2:42.6
4 Robert Shields Club GS Metro 2:44.0
5 David Thompson Scarborough Paragon 2:44.8
6 Andrew Pearson Huddersfield Star Whs 2:47.8
7 Scott Johnson Malton Wheelers RC 2:51.1
8 Harry Brown – Jnr Scarborough Paragon 2:58.0
9 Cameron Turner Darlington CC 3:05.0
10 Andy Askwith Bridlington Cycling Club 3:08.0
11 James Thompson – Juv Scarborough Paragon 3:12.2
12 Stephen Carrigan City Road Club (Hull) 3:12.9
13 Mel Blackford Bridlington Cycling Club 3:13.2
14 Simon Walters Bridlington Cycling Club 3:17.7
15 Paul Brierley Huddersfield RC 3:21.9
16 Neil Ridsdale Bridlington Cycling Club 3:28.6
17 Paul Hickman Malton Wheelers RC 3:32.0
18 Mark Hardie Scarborough Paragon 3:53.1
19 Mark Hepples Scarborough Paragon 3:57.2
20 Dawn Blues – W Bridlington Cycling Club 4:23.7
– Kevin Halliwell Bridlington Cycling Club DNS apol
– Graham Varley Scarborough Paragon DNS apol

1st Jack Pullar Madison Genesis
2rd James Gullen Team Hope Factory Racing
3rd Miles Flather Bridlington Cycling Club
4th Robert Shields Club GS Metro
5th -David Thompson Scarborough Paragon CC



Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,